Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5 Can Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5 Can Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2002

      This is a good, solid "pantry meal" that my family enjoyed. It is a bit high in carbs, and not my personal favorite, but I will probably keep the ingredients on hand for those emergency nights. One note, I remember the original recipe called for some kind of veggies instead of the Chicken & Rice soup, and I really hated the rice in it, so I might make that modification next time. I did use the onions, since I had some in the fridge. I also stirred half of the Chinese noodles into the mixture & sprinkled the other half on top (another distant memory).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      This was a quick and tasty dish! My kids really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      This dish was pretty salty. I
      have a similar recipe that calls for cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken rice and canned mushrooms and french fried onion rings. Made for the Zaar Cookbook cooking tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      This was ok. I added some extra veggies and not as much evaporated milk and it still came out a little soupy. Next time I will probably add some more to it. It's a good starter recipe. Where to go from here is endless..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      his was alright, mine wasn't saucy at all like i expected and wanted it to be, i'll try it again though maybe with an extra can of cream chicken soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Tasty and easy!! I use a 5 oz can of milk and I let it stand overnight or at least 4 hours before baking 325 for 1 hour. I also add buttered bread crumbs or crushed potato chips on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      We loved this it was tasty and easy to prepare.I doubled the recipe and had only the 3oz noodles so I added half a can of Durkees cheddar onions.We also added one can of water chestnuts and decided next time to add peas and mushrooms as well.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Glad I found this one! I needed to use up a can of chow mein noodles and did a search for recipes. When I saw this one, I just happened to have the other ingredients on hand so it was a no-brainer...I had to try it. I listened to the other reviewers and added a can of mushrooms (stems & pieces), diced green chiles, and I also threw in a can of diced POTATOES. <--that was GENIUS! LOL I changed another thing, too. I only used 1/2 can of the milk as was suggested by OP-it came out 'thick' like a casserole and not soupy like one of the pictures. I also substituted a "soup at hand" container of CHICKEN & Mini Noodles instead of chicken & rice soup because I was being BRAVE. Oh, and added 12 minutes to the cook time. This tasted SO yummy! Will make again for sure! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      My original recipe did not contain any milk, but did contain 1 can water chestnuts, drained. It is a delicious dish. Thanks for listing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2005

      I added a small can of hot diced green chiles, a can of mushrooms, 3/4 cup frozen peas in addition to using the 1/2 tsp thyme. Good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      Instead of using canned chicken, I used 4 split (cooked) diced chicken breasts, I added 1/2 tsp. thyme and think this would be even more enjoyable with pimentos and mushrooms. Thank You Grandmaof1!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      Loved the dish. Will make it again, using more veggies. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5 Can Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.1
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    50%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 51.2 mg
    17%
    Sodium 626.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 16.6 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes