Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 4th of July Trifle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    4th of July Trifle

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-30 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2007

      I was blown away by how much sugar the recipe called for. I used barely a cup of confectioners' in the cream cheese filling rather than the 2 it called for. I sprinkled about a tablespoon over the berries--rather than 3/4 cup!--and added a few drops of lemon juice to brighten the flavor. It turned out beautifully, and my guests weren't in sugar shock when the meal was over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I brought this to a family Memorial Day BBQ and it was a hit. I would probably use even more fruit and a little less sugar next time. Thank you - we will enjoy this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Delicious!! I took out the almond flavoring (3 tblsp) as well. When I put it on the fruit the smell was too overpowering, so I drained the fruit and did it over with just the sugar. Maybe it would have been good mixed together but I didn't want to take the chance. Also substituted lady fingers for angel food cake, because the store was out. Great great recipe!! Filling is delicious. I did use almond in that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      YUMMY! This was so delicious! The white layer was kind of sticky and I had a hard time getting my layers to look good from the side of the bowl, but no matter, it ended up delicious and I got lots of compliments at our 4th party. I'll definitely try this again, and work a bit on how to get the layers to look better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      I made this dessert for a 4th of July potluck, and brought home an empty trifle dish. Looks great, and taste's great too. I sprinkled some almonds on top, but otherwise followed the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      This dessert was absolutely beautiful! I layered it with the blueberries and strawberries seperate for the red, white and blue effect. My husband was so impressed he got the camera out. I wasn't sure about all the almond extract, in fact I thought I should have left it out after tasting it on the fruit but continued on with the recipe. After being in the fridge for a few hours it was fine in fact in it was GREAT! Everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be making this again WITH the almond extract. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      This was FABULOUS!!! I made this for Father's Day and it couldn't have been any better! I made only half the recipe, because I knew it wouldn't keep as leftovers. I layered the cake pieces, then the whipped cream layer, followed by the berries. It was beautiful in the bowl, but even better in the mouth! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2004

      This was so yummy but I change the recipe a little. I didn't use any almond flavouring or sugar on the fruit and I used mango, kiwi fruit, strawberries and blueberries for the fruit layered with passionfruit pulp next time I will use a puree of mango and orange juice to go on top of the fruit there are so many alternatives! But I absolutely loved the cream cheese filling it is a nice change if not better than the normal custard filling thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2004

      This is excellent. Love the almond flavoring for the fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      The name sure fits this dessert! But it is so good that it should be made more often than only once a year. Looks beautiful layered red white and blue in the dish. The almond flavor makes this fantastic!! I did not have quite three tablespoons of almond extract. I only bought a small bottle and did not realize I was going to need more than the whole thing. The triffle was still loved by all! Thanks for a new Fourth of July tradition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 4th of July Trifle

    Serving Size: 1 (3161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6521.6
     
    Calories from Fat 2667
    40%
    Total Fat 296.4 g
    456%
    Saturated Fat 170.5 g
    852%
    Cholesterol 950.2 mg
    316%
    Sodium 4806.2 mg
    200%
    Total Carbohydrate 905.2 g
    301%
    Dietary Fiber 27.5 g
    110%
    Sugars 678.7 g
    2714%
    Protein 81.6 g
    163%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites