30 Reviews

This was amazing! Granted, I cheated and did it all the easy way. I layed pound cake pieces, then instant vanilla pudding I made the night before (you gotta let it firm overnight or its just too runny), blueberry preserves mixed with fresh blueberries, store-bought whipped cream, and strawberry preserves. I had enough room to layer everything twice, and then just put a bunch of blueberries and drizzled more preserves on top. It was such a hit, everyone at the bbq ate it in under 20 minutes. I ran back home and made another one since I had enough for more. 2nd time I round I skipped the blueberries and just sprinkled graham cracker crumbs and shaved milk chocolate on top. Even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hoitytoity July 04, 2010

Oh my goodness!!!! My family doesn't know how close this dessert came to being eaten before the 4th of July celebration dinner! Soooo delicious . . . and beautiful, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Bell July 03, 2010

I made this for our family's 4th of July cookout. I am not known for being a cook, so this was a big leap for me. I reduced the sugar and almond flavoring just as others suggested and it was a HUGE hit! Thanks for a recipe that is easy, tasty and pretty all at the same time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1012943 July 06, 2009

This dessert is definitely a competitor for SUPREME RULER OF ALL DESSERTS IN DESSERT UNIVERSE. The only constructive comment I have is that I sub'd Lady Fingers for the cake and did not mix the cake in with the cream cheese mixture. The reason I did not include with the mixture is that I ate about 1/2 of the mixture before assembling the dessert. So, if you have more self-control, your dessert may look more like the picture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankenchef July 05, 2009

Made this for a 4th of July party and it was a huge hit! I took the advice of many other reviewers and cut the granulated sugar on the fruit to 1/4 cup (rather than 3/4). I also cut the almond extract on the fruit...to 1 tsp. It gave the fruit just a hint of almond flavor and it wasn't overpowering. This is a great recipe and I'll make it again....before the next 4th of July!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmersino July 06, 2008

This is a beautiful and delicious trifle. I wish I could give it 5 stars, but when I make it again I will reduce almond flavoring to 1T and sugar to 1/3C in the fruit mixture and reduce confectioners' sugar to 1 1/2 C. I will definitely make it again and thank you so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mareesme February 10, 2008

What a beautiful and delicious dessert! I used less sugar and I really don't think it sacrificed the flavor. Everyone was raving! This is much too good to have just once a year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish July 04, 2007

I also took everyone's advice and added less sugar. I used about 1 1/4 cups of confectioners sugar in the filling, and 1/4 cup with the fruit. I only used 2 tablespoons of almond extract in the fruit, and I still think that it was too much. I took it to work and everyone LOVED it, so it must just be me, but I'd rather taste the fruit than have it covered up with almond flavor. I think that next time, I'll only use half a tablespoon or so. But it was really pretty and relatively easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rai July 04, 2007

This recipe was easy to make and so delicious. I took the first few reviewers' advice and added more fruit and less sugar; I didn't sugar my berries at all and added only 1 cup to the cream cheese mixture and, believe me, we didn't miss it. For the top of the trifle, I made a large blueberry star and surrounded it with strawberry stripes. This one is going down as one of my all-time favorite desserts. The only draw-back is the cost: the berries alone were $11. But the taste was superb and worth it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cixel syd July 04, 2007
4th of July Trifle