21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my this is good and so easy to make. I did add an extra Knorr chicken cube and I used homemade rice milk in place of the cream. My daughter who is a vegetarian loved this soup and asked me if I would make it again tomorrow. I followed another reviewers advice and pureed the soup. It was perfect. Thank you for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada August 05, 2011

Not sure where I went wrong :( Followed direction and it curdled both times I made it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesnjoe April 16, 2012

This is an excellent and easy soup to make. I would probably cut sugar in half next time or even omit as it was a little sweet for my taste. I didn't simmer very long as I was in a hurry. Used fat free half and half in place of cream and warmed it in microwave instead of double boiler (again, in a hurry). I used a hand blender on the tomatoes before adding the half and half. Also added some basil and pepper and a little salt. My family, including a 2-year-old, devoured it. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 January 20, 2011

This is an excellent soup!!!!! I also pureed the tomatoes before adding the cream as well as adding a bag of spinach with large stems removed (simmer until tender) and 8oz of feta cheese....was absolutely amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danaboo March 02, 2012

Loved the simplicity of the ingredients. It was really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u November 10, 2011

Wonderful soup and I don't like tomato soup! I blended the soup b4 adding cream as I like I smooth not chunky. I think I may reduce the sugar next time or maybe try it one time with splendor as hubby's is diabetic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stevensonloflin@yahoo.com August 03, 2011

I loved this soup, but my husband likes Campbell's tomato soup better. I used my immersion blender to get it really creamy. I added in a bit of salt and pepper and next time I make it I think I'll try basil as well. This was super easy so I'll definitely make again and halve the recipe for just myself and my daughter. Maybe it was because I simmered it a little longer, but I got more like 4 or 5 servings, not 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brookelynne26 May 10, 2011

This is the same recipe I used to have that I got from 4B's years ago, but I lost mine. I am very thankful to have it again. Thanks so much. I really miss 4B's Restaurants and this soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rayna310 April 23, 2011

Simple and delicious, even with the healthier modifications suggested by other commenters. Deviating from the recipe I threw in some coriander at the end - if you enjoy coriander (I know its contentious), it goes VERY well in this soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queensowntalia February 13, 2011

How I've missed 4B's cream of tomato - the ULTIMATE in comfort food. Thank you so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
josacli November 23, 2010
4b's Old Fashioned Cream of Tomato Soup