Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 4b's Old Fashioned Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    4b's Old Fashioned Cream of Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2011

      Oh my this is good and so easy to make. I did add an extra Knorr chicken cube and I used homemade rice milk in place of the cream. My daughter who is a vegetarian loved this soup and asked me if I would make it again tomorrow. I followed another reviewers advice and pureed the soup. It was perfect. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Not sure where I went wrong :( Followed direction and it curdled both times I made it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      This is an excellent and easy soup to make. I would probably cut sugar in half next time or even omit as it was a little sweet for my taste. I didn't simmer very long as I was in a hurry. Used fat free half and half in place of cream and warmed it in microwave instead of double boiler (again, in a hurry). I used a hand blender on the tomatoes before adding the half and half. Also added some basil and pepper and a little salt. My family, including a 2-year-old, devoured it. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      This is an excellent soup!!!!! I also pureed the tomatoes before adding the cream as well as adding a bag of spinach with large stems removed (simmer until tender) and 8oz of feta cheese....was absolutely amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      Loved the simplicity of the ingredients. It was really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Wonderful soup and I don't like tomato soup! I blended the soup b4 adding cream as I like I smooth not chunky. I think I may reduce the sugar next time or maybe try it one time with splendor as hubby's is diabetic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      I loved this soup, but my husband likes Campbell's tomato soup better. I used my immersion blender to get it really creamy. I added in a bit of salt and pepper and next time I make it I think I'll try basil as well. This was super easy so I'll definitely make again and halve the recipe for just myself and my daughter. Maybe it was because I simmered it a little longer, but I got more like 4 or 5 servings, not 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      This is the same recipe I used to have that I got from 4B's years ago, but I lost mine. I am very thankful to have it again. Thanks so much. I really miss 4B's Restaurants and this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Simple and delicious, even with the healthier modifications suggested by other commenters. Deviating from the recipe I threw in some coriander at the end - if you enjoy coriander (I know its contentious), it goes VERY well in this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      How I've missed 4B's cream of tomato - the ULTIMATE in comfort food. Thank you so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      We really liked this. I used fat free half and half instead of the cream to make it a tad healthier and it still tasted great. Oh, and I also put it through the blender at the end, so my toddlers would eat it. :) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      This is exactly what I was looking for! On the menu for the weekend and I like the addition of the baking soda which I had a little old Italian lady tell me helps cut the acidity of the tomatoes and "sweetens" the dish a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This is the ORIGINAL recipe, I just loveeeee it. My son came home with their new recipe using chicken base, cream and coffee mate, it doesn't curddle as easy with the coffee mate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Too sweet for us. Didn't really care for this one, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Born and raised in Montana, I recently moved away, and this is the best homesick cure I have found! Thank You! Taste just like it's supposed to. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Growing up in Montana, we always stopped at 4B's in Miles City for their tomato soup. This is a great recipe - we made it for our Christmas Eve dinner. What a hit! Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I loved this recipe!! The only thing I change is I use veggie broth instead of chicken. I also like using my hand blender at the end to make it extra creamy. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      Thank you so much for this recipe! I moved to Montana almost two years ago and six months ago they shut down all of the 4B's restaurants. My family raves about this recipe and is so excited when I make it. Thanks for the comfort food!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Easy, easy, easy, and oh so good! This is a real family pleaser. I served it with some sandwiches and felt like I was spoiling myself! Next time I might try it with some non-fat half and half to save on some calories - but I'm not sure I want to mess with a good thing. It made about 5 servings. Made for PAC 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      I can see why your family craves this soup. It is delicious. It is also easy to prepare. Tasted just as good the second day. Thanks Krsi Sue. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 4b's Old Fashioned Cream of Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.6
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    82%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 13.4 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 73.9 mg
    24%
    Sodium 164.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes