Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 40 Minute Hamburger Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    40 Minute Hamburger Buns

    Average Rating:

    149 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 149

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2010

      I have used this recipe countless times and my family loves it! I cut the oil back to 3 tablespoons, it makes the texture lighter. When I use it for hamburger rolls I decrease the sugar to 3 Tablespoons as well. I also found, depending on the weather, that the dough must sit longer than the recommended 10 minutes. Sometimes it takes longer. If you are a first time baker of bread, let the rolls almost double before putting them in the oven. For those of you who have tried this recipe and found it to be too heavy try cutting back the oil and letting the dough rise a little more before baking. I have also substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for white flour and they turn out wonderful. I have also substituted 1/2 cup of flour and used a multi-grain flour. This is my new dough recipe for sticky buns. Now I can whip up sticky buns and they will be done in an hour from start to finish. It takes about 20-30 minutes for the dough to rise since I roll it with a rolling pin. When I make sticky buns I use the recommend amount of sugar in the dough. Happy Baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Excellent buns!!! I cut oil to 3T. and sugar to 3T as well. The result was light and tender buns! The flavor was great and the effort minimal. I did let mine rise longer but only because I had the time while I prepared the rest of dinner! I got 12 regular size buns (once they rised). I was thinking they would be more slider size (not a big deal for my family). I will try this recipe will full amount of sugar and try for cinnamon rolls! I will let you know how they turn out!! Thanks!! UPDATE: I couldn't wait so I got up this morning and made the recipe as Cinnamon Rolls. I used the entire amount of sugar but still kept the oil at 3T. I rolled the dough into a rectangle, poured about 1/2 c melted butter, then sprinkled generously with sugar and cinnamon. I rolled up and cut, put in oiled dish and let rise for about 10-15 minutes then baked at 375 for about 15-20 minutes. Topped with cream cheese icing! YUMMY!! Only took about an hour and 15 minutes start to finish! I also got about 23 rolls out of dough. I put others in freezer for another time and will just let sit out awhile before baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      First off, I am a total beginner at bread making. Completely yeast phobic but with encouragement from other members I decided to give this recipe a go. I will not bore you with my trials and tribulations as they all stemmed from my complete ineptitude. For example - dissolve yeast in water. I had no idea whether ot not to stir it or just leave it. As I said - a complete dolt er...I mean beginner. The way I mishandled just about every step is almost mind boggling.

      The end result was soft pillowy mouthfuls of perfection! I topped the rolls with Everything Topping- Bagels, Rolls, Bread and could not be happier. What an excellent recipe for both yeastaphobes as well as more experienced bakers. Thank you so much for posting this. I'm on my way to being a breadmaker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      I made this subbing 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour plus about 1/4 cup of wheat germ. I like my breads with whole grains. For what this is--an ultra yeasted dough with a short rise time--this is very good. And the rolls were good the next day, too. Very enjoyable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Wow, I had never thought to make my own buns. However, one night I had one pound of hamburger in the fridge, a hungry son and hubby and no time for the store. I was amazed at these buns, they were so good! I made them again today, but shaped them into hot dog buns for brats and they were fantastic. I will never buy buns again! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      These came out surprisingly well. They were very easy to put together, and the end result was soft buns that my kids gobbled before I even sliced them. But I think they were better as buns. They were sturdy enough for the (veggie) burger but very soft. I put bbq sauce on my burger and the bread was perfect for soaking in just enough sauce. I think next time I make them, I will try adding a little onion and garlic powder, for a bit of additional flavor. Definitely a keeper of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Yummy! My kids ate them up right away. I used half whole wheat and half white wheat. Turned out soft and fluffy. Thank you. I am going to try to use the dough for cinnamon rolls next! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Soft, fluffy, and FAST (as homemade bread goes). It's the perfect compromise in my home between me (too good for store-bought bread, I'd rather go without) and DH (you don't think he can eat a burger or a brat or whatever without a fluffy bun, do you?). Luckily this recipe also accepts egg substitutes too (I used the microwaved flax seed meal substitution this time) so I could make it allergy-friendly. I was worried that a "quick" recipe wouldn't adapt well, but the buns turned out as perfectly as the pre-allergy days. Whew!

      On the other hand, Beth's Pizza Crust seems to pull together faster for me, so I usually make that instead. No egg, no sub -- and the rest/rising time is somewhat optional although I use that time to get everything else prep'd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Pretty good! I had a bit of trouble getting my buns to cook through in the center but the taste was great. I refridgerated the leftover dough and made pizza crust with it the following day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      Fabulous! Super easy and AMAZINGLY quick! Next time I will move the oven rack up one spot from the middle spot - the bottoms got dark before the tops. My husband was pointing out that decent hamburger buns cost more than the hamburger - that's not right. I have been meaning to try this recipe and the timing hasn't worked out on days when we were making burgers, so I made them today just to check it out. They made great dinner rolls, too. A really good mildly sweet flavor that my husband said were "much better than any we've gotten at the store" including the bakery. I just can't believe how quickly it all went together. I can make these no problem while he makes burgers next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      thank you for sharing this recipe with us

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      The buns turned out great! I used agave instead of sugar and mixed it all in my Bosh. The only issue was the rise. Even in my warming drawer they need 20 minutes to rise all the way. They didn't exactly taste like any hamburger bun I've had; they were kinda fluffy like a roll, but they tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Everyone who can eat bread and had these liked them. I didn't like that there was 2 TBS yeast for only 4 cups of flour. Also, after letting them rise 5 minutes, I pressed them down so they were more disc shaped then let them rise 10 minutes before baking. I made these due to time constraint. In a crunch I might make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      I forgot to pick up hamburger buns and this recipe saved me a trip to the store! I followed the suggestions in prior reviews to cut the sugar and oil to 3 tablespoons each, and I'm glad I did. The result was just sweet enough and texture was perfect. Also, I gave it 5 minutes in my stand mixer with a dough hook then a few turns by hand before dividing. Perhaps not the best buns I've ever made, certainly the best I've made in under an hour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      I can't believe how quickly these came together! I followed other people's suggestions and only used 3 tbsp of both sugar and oil and I thought the flavour of the buns was perfect. I made both dinner rolls and hamburger buns but only my dinner rolls looked right (the others weren't very uniform or as soft on the outside as I would like them to be). The texture and flavour was great. The only negative is that the bottom of the buns was crunchy. I'm not sure how to make them soft all over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Great! Followed it almost exactly...cut the sugar down a little. Super soft...not dense at all...& really quick & easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      This recipe is so easy and good I will never buy buns at the store again. I used 3 Tbsp melted butter instead of oil and used 3 Tbsp of sugar (recommended by other reviewers). The buns came out great. I would say they are a little more like slider size, so if you've got big burgers, you may want to make fewer dough balls. I may even try shaping these for hot dogs sometime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      I make a lot of bread, buns, tortillas, you name it, and these are by far the best buns ever!! They even freeze and thaw great! I cut the oil and sugar in half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      AMAZING! I could not stop eating it when I got it out of the oven. I followed as everyone suggested to cut the oil and sugar to 3T. Simply wonderful. My husband couldn't stop raving about these burger buns. Looks like we are no longer buying our buns. Thank you for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      I tried this recipe the other night and everyone enjoyed them. I followed the recipe but used the 3 tablespoons of oil as well as the 3 tablespoon of sugar instead of what was stated on the recipe. My surprise was how tasty and fast it was prepared. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks to the person who created it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 40 Minute Hamburger Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (845 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.8
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    31%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 202.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes