42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Based on all the reviews, I was expecting the same tasting cake as a normally made one - that was my error. It is a good cake for a diet, don't get me wrong - but it was a bit dry and I made sure to check it early so it wouldn't be over baked. Like I said - it is a good cake, just not quite what I anticipated. I used devils food cake with Diet Dr. Pepper. Thanks for posting - now at least I can diet and still have chocolate cake for half the calories as normal! Made for the I Recommend Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom July 17, 2008

I was so surprised that this was good! My mom loveddd it. I used a vanilla cake mix with diet orange soda, and topped it with orange cream cheese icing. It looked pretty that way too...i cant wait to try different combinations of soda and cake now =D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leb25 May 28, 2008

Very Very Good. it was soo moist, i was very supprized. everyone i told about this recipe thought i was crazy. i used spice cake with a sprite (i didnt have any diet) Yummy! I also heard that you can replace oil with apple sauce in cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleLovesMexicanFood April 15, 2008

Oh my goodness this is GOOD! We used Diet Dr Pepper and Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix...it tastes a LOT like the Wacky Cake my mom used to make. Dark and dense and yummy! There is no soda aftertaste whatsoever! I just used Cool Whip Free to top it, and although it was a little dry I think I over baked it a little, so I think that was my fault not the recipe's! Also when I redid the calorie information I came out with a LOT less than Zaar...so that's a huge plus! I will definitely be making this cake again and again...it is a keeper and I can't wait to try other combinations! Thank you so much for posting this yumtastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Troop Angel January 28, 2008

This was terrific. Great cake texture. Not overly moist but definitely not dry - just light. I used the two egg whites and beat them a bit before adding the cake mix. I also used a chocolate fudge cake mix with chocolate covered cherry Dr Pepper. I only got a slight after taste from the soda that was barely noticable. I will definitely make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl January 20, 2008

The soda adds only a subtle flavor to the cake, but it does work well! Nice and moist. I filled each cupcake with sugar-free, fat-free instant pudding through a pastry bag... delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon January 01, 2008

Wow! I was so unsure about using soda, but trust the reviewers : it's delish and nobody can suspect the secret ingredient. My family ask me to do normal cupcakes, not a low-fat version, but at the last minute, I felt bad using so much oil, so this is the recipe I choose. No one in my family thought it was a low-fat version :p! I used 2 egg whites (but next time I'll use 1 because it was too fluffy), a Duncan Hines Swiss chocolate cake and Zero Coca-Cola. It rised a lot, so fill the muffins tins 1/2 full is enough. Baked it for 18 min approx. Next time I'm going to try making my own cake mix, with some splenda, and see how it goes. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe! Edit: I just made it with a white cake mix and Zero Spritz, there was no lemon-lime after taste :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kid-Kat December 31, 2007

Being diet, this recipe really has no right to be as good as it is! I've only tried it once so far as cupcakes, using chocolate cake mix and Vanilla Zero Coke, but I have an orange cake mix just waiting to be used next time. Thanks for the great idea - I now have a great way to get something sweet in the house without finding myself quickly placed in sugar overkill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenofeats December 09, 2007

Wonderful and I honestly couldn't tell that it was diet. Made with a white cake mix and diet Sprite and I was surprised that there was no lemon-lime taste. I'm planning to make it again as a poke cake for another birthday soon. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu October 24, 2007

This was really good!! So versatile!! I had a chocolate cake mix and an odd diet soda...a caramel cream flavor (???) I am not a soda drinker it was something DH brought into the house - 1 little bottle he picked up because he likes to try new things - whatever, I thought it would work nicely in this recipe and it did. I cheated a bit by using 1 egg white and 1/4 cup of fabulous fresh chopped cherries. I was going for that chocolate sundae idea (?!) It came out moist and fluffy- every bit and bite what a chocolate cake should be. A great idea and FUN!! I look forward to playing with other flavor combos!!! - Thanks for this sharing Mariposa13.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free July 18, 2007
4 Points - Diet Soda Cake