42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good, added one egg white and they came out very light and stayed together well. Devils Chocolate Cake and Coke Zero yummm... kinda undid the low calorie part when i added chocolate icing and kit kat pieces to some and toblerone pieces to others =P soooo goood !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker #831774 May 08, 2010

Just started WW and I am a cupcake lover, so this recipe was perfect. I used Diet Sunkist and a white cake mix. I whisked 3TB egg whites first and added 1 TB unsweetened applesauce and then the cake mix and pop. Made sure to mix it well. Came out moist as can be and rose just fine. Made 24 cupcakes and we have been adding some fat free Reddi-Whip on top as we eat them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom2mirankier April 21, 2010

I have been making this cake for some time now. The possibilities are abundant. Lastnight I made Strawberry w/ diet cream soda. I always add about 2 T of unsweetened applesauce for a little "oil", 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1 egg white. A good frosting is 1 tub of ff Cool whip mixed with 1 pack SF FF instant pudding mix of your choice. This is definately a recipe that you can use you imagination with.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi99 January 06, 2009

Incredible! I never had such a delicious tasting low fat cake! I used a yellow cake mix with a vanilla flavored diet pepsi. I also added in 1/2 tsp of baking powder after reading some of the reviews that their cakes came out flat. But my cake was actually light and fluffy. I also ended up using 1 full egg instead of 1 egg white. Baked for 25 mins. in a glass baking pan. And just like everyone has said, the cake is very crumby (probably b/c there is no real fat for the cake to hold onto). But this cake still came out very moist and is very diet friendly. Next time I'll try making cupcakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 November 06, 2008

Oh my goodness, it doesn't get any easier then this. I made this for dessert and my family loved it. I used cherry chip cake / diet cream soda. Wow, was it yummy. Thank you for sharing with us, we can't wait to try other combos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 26, 2014

I made this with Devil's Food cake mix and Diet Pepsi. I poked holes in the cake when it came out of the oven. I had a little bit of sugar free caramel sauce and half a can of fat free sweetened condensed milk. I mixed them together and poured it over the top of the warm cake. When cooled, I top it off with fat free cool whip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom April 27, 2013

We added 3 egg whites and coke zero and it turned out great...only problem, I want more than one piece :). Very good. I have made it without the egg whites but it was flat like a brownie...so tried this...much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foreverblessedx3 June 15, 2012

For only using 1 egg, 11 oz of diet cherry 7up and 1/2 tsp of baking soda plus yellow cake mix- this cake was extremely tasty AND moist, but you have to be very delicate when handling it as it can fall apart on you quite easily, since it is just barely being held together... I sprayed original pam on 2 9" round nonstick cake pans-baked at 325 degrees for 35 minutes and they came out perfectly done...Had a little bit of trouble taking them out of the pan once they cooled for over 15 minutes, but with extra care and handling got them to come out well... This cake had a subtle,pleasant flavor due to the diet cherry 7 up - we really enjoyed it! I would definitely make this cake again and recommend you do too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldiva October 16, 2011

I made a vanilla cake mix (no eggs) with Dr. Pepper (none of the diet crap for me!). I put it in the MICROWAVE for 9 minutes, turned out moist & delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starlitkerr July 24, 2011

Just made the yellow cake(sugar free by Pillsbury) with Diet 7-UP. Very good. I did add 2 egg whites. Baked it according to box directions. Turned out wonderful. My husband couldn't even tell it was "diet". Topped with light cool whip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleJJ July 10, 2011
4 Points - Diet Soda Cake