8 Reviews

I've made a lot of chocolate cookies over the past few years and this one is still the best. It's extremely chocolatey -- a cross between cookie and fudge. Tastes great with variations too. I sometimes use orange extract instead of vanilla or vary the chips. Hershey's rasberry chips are excellent in these cookies.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 December 16, 2003

I made these this afternoon for cookie trays that I'll deliver in 2-3 days. These cookies are wonderful! I hope they last long enought to make it to the trays. I agree that they are a cross between a brownie and a cookie. They were still a little soft after they cooled.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm December 20, 2003

The only change that I would make to these cookies is...double the recipe! There just weren't enough. My family described them as brownie cookies. But the bottom line is that these are really good and chocolaty!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Gale May 06, 2003

I made these for my Xmas trays. They were good but not what I expected. While they were still a little warm, I think they were very good and "brownie like", but after they cooled, I don't think they were as good. They lost that softness when they cooled and the result just wasn't what I thought it would be. I suggest making these to eat/serve right way (which isn't a bad thing! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= December 29, 2003

Made these today. I used parchment and when done slide the whole piece onto a cooling rack. I baked these at 325 for 12 minutes..My first batch at 350 for 12 min. sort of got too dark on bottoms... This is very easy to make,batter firms up a bit when sitting for a few minutes... I found this a sweet cookie, but non the less a great fudgy brownie cooky. And been so easy and good it does rate five stars..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy December 28, 2003

I concur, double the recipe, you won't be sorry. I was a bit skeptical because of the ratio of ingredients to each other (2 tbsp flour!) but persevered due to the other reviews. The batter came out almost too loose but baked up great. Be sure to transfer them to the rack as directed or they stay too soft. The rack cooled ones have a nice little snap and they are *wonderful* warm from the oven. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bhyler June 03, 2003

Great brownie cookie. I was nervous about this batter but it bakes up great. I baked them at 325°F for 15 minutes. I made them with and without pecans and both were great. I suggest using release foil for easier removal of cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky June 07, 2007

I have made this cookie several times and people always ask for the recipe. The dough is goopy, but it bakes up just fine. I lowered the oven temp to 300 and baked for 8 minutes. The bottoms get almost burned at 12 minutes. I make them bite-sized.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mschalock August 27, 2006
3x Chocolate Cookies