35 Reviews

Yum!!! :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacyrask November 05, 2010

When you're in the mood for a quick, flavorful soup, this recipe fits the bill. The inclusion of sausage helps to give depth of flavor that makes the soup tase as though it cooked for hours on the stove.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Regina Hart December 29, 2003

Awesome! I followed this to the letter and made a few additions:
one stalk of celery and one carrot diced, and half a jalapeno blended with a can of corn since I didn't have creamed corn.
This was super easy and was just wonderful!!!! Thanks so much Libby!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja February 18, 2013

Awesome soup! This is my new favorite. Cooked it for dinner tonight, it is excellent. The only thing I did different was to brown the sausage in my dutch oven, then add the onions to the sausage and the rendered fat and omitted the oil. Just seemed simpler to do it that way and not have an additional pot to wash. Thanks for posting, I LOVE it! Jan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okitsme December 04, 2011

Not sure why anyone would be surpised that this recipe has a lot of 5 Star reviews because it it DELICOUS! Restaurant quality chowder as far as my family was concerned. I doubled the recipe, used regular onion because that's all I had on hand, added some pepper and garlic powder and threw in about a cup of leftover Jack cheese I had in the frige. Everyone raved about how fabulous this was and we will have it often this winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks December 14, 2010

I've made this 3 times already and noticed I never reviewed it. Very good chowder on it's own! The only thing I added was about 1/2tsp of white pepper and 3 slices of American cheese just because the cheese compliments all the other flavors in the soup and thickens it up just a wee bit. If you want this chowder nice and spicy, try some Andouille sausage instead of the smoked. I did one of the times I made this because it was all I had on hand and really hit our spicy taste buds! Oh yeah and leftovers freeze really well ziploc containers for a tasty lunch for a couple of weeks :o) Thanks Libby for a nice change to a chowder, we really appreciate & enjoy it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippie1 February 06, 2010

This was really good. I took others advice about browning the sausage and yummy. :) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildblu3 January 12, 2010

We've made this twice in the last couple of weeks. My 13yo loves it! Each time I've used diced real potatoes and its worked out just fine. The first time I subbed skim milk for the cream - the second time I used fat-free half and half which worked out just as well. DH and I add a sprinkle of fresh black pepper and we are set!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI November 18, 2009

I doubled the recipe. I used both regular and creamed corn 'cause I LOVE corn. I've also tried it with the Campbell's SW corn soup in a box ... all great! I *do* recommend browning the sausage first, just because browned sausage tastes better. And yes, the green onions add a nice little zip. And I've substituted fat-free evap milk for the cream, too, with no noticeable change. FAB-U-LOUS and SO quick and easy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnste November 16, 2009

We spiced it up some with garlic and italian seasoning, but the family loved it! Our picky three year old had his bowl gone before I could even sit down and was asking for seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaddyO' November 07, 2009
30 Minute Smoked Sausage and Corn Chowder