19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very tasty and easy meal. I made it with a few revisions and I'll make more changes next time. Four chicken breasts makes quite a bit of food -- if you serve this dish over pasta you can easily serve six to eight people. My changes: tripled the garlic, basil and oregano, added lots of black pepper, left out the salt and used sodium-free diced tomatoes. I added an 8-ounce can of Hunt's tomato sauce for a little more sauce and flavor. Since I love vegetables I will use two onions and 4 thickly-cut zucchinis next time and I will add a couple of bell peppers as well. I'm looking forward to making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieGT May 09, 2008

Easy and delicious! I think you could add any veggies and be happy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie April 01, 2014

I've made this recipe probably 5 times since I first found it 2 months ago. It's become my go-to for chicken breasts and/or an easy meal -- so easy, fresh, and flavorful. All of the quantities of ingredients are very adjustable, as are the ingredients themselves. I've made it with both canned tomatoes with dried basil as well as fresh tomatoes with fresh basil. Obviously the latter is better, but both are quite good. I've also added red pepper, squash, eggplant, etc... it's a great base recipe.<br/><br/>I also sometimes top each one with a little mozzarella.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amydot August 13, 2013

This was really good. I added pesto to the tomatoes as well and served it with pesto pasta on the side.Very good healthy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adena mangis May 14, 2009

Wonderful and easy. Used pesto instead of the basil and oregano. Out of oregano. Didn't put the mushrooms in. My daughter doesn't like them, but I do. Definately drain the tomatoes. We were both impressed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldsb67 April 14, 2009

I am not sure how I missed the boat on this recipe. I followed the recipe except I did add a few more tomatoes and a bit more onion. Both my husband and i thought it was pretty tasteless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie September 16, 2008

For a 30 minute meal this is very good. I love the tomatoes and zucchini. Hubby picked most of the veggies off, but said they flavored the chicken well, for having only baked for 30 minutes without marinading first. Thanks for the keeper!! Tagged for I Recommend Tag Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom May 09, 2008

MAN OH MAN! I'm a happy girl! I made this tonight, with some changes that I'll explain, but I have to say, I've never enjoyed zucchini this much before! I only had one zucchini (doh!), so I cut up a yellow squash to make up for it. I used turkey cutlets, because of dietary issues, sea salt and italian diced tomatoes. These adjustments worked just fine and I'm sure you could add several kinds of veggies with no problems...corn, broc., cauliflower.. I put the parmesan on the table for everyone to chose and only 2 of the 4 used it. My son ate his whole portion with some of the rice I served with it. 3 out of 4 give you 5 stars and dad, well...he's more into cheesy or creamy dishes. Mom said the turkey was the most tender she'd ever had it. Thanks!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook April 02, 2008

Instead of mushrooms, I made some potatoes and put those in as well. I added a little chicken stock at the end to make sure it stayed moist. It was very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen's Kitchen October 29, 2007
30 Minute One Pan Chicken Meal