Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 30 Minute Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    30 Minute Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-51 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2007

      This was delicious and a perfect meal on a cold winter evening! It took me 50 minutes to prepare from start to finish. I suppose if you had your veggies and meat already chopped then it would have only taken 30. I will be making this for my family again! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      This was GREAT!! I doubled the recipe since I was having 8 people total for dinner. There was none left! However, when doubling the recipe I did have to use a bit more flour then double and a little less then double chicken broth. I used canned biscuits(cut into 6 pieces eaach) which needed to be steamed a bit longer. My DH is picky and critical about his food reviews(even though he doesn't cook) and he ate 2 bowls with all raves! Will definite make again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      I used ideas from so many recipes here on 'zaar to put my chicken and dumplings dish together, but I think the thing that gave it such good flavor and texture was the idea here to saute the veggies and create a roux before adding the liquid. I fiddled with the recipe quite a bit, made my own dumplings from scratch, and used homemade veggie stock as I always have a freezer full of it. Since I didn't really follow the recipe, it wasn't by any means a 30 minute meal, but on a cold, cold night, who cares! My kitchen was warm and the house smelled great! I think the method here of doing the saute and creating the roux really was the ticket for the wonderful flavor and texture. The veggies weren't soggy and the soup base was thick and creamy as could be without actually adding cream! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!! We BOTH LOVED this recipe! I omitted the potatoes, substituted 1/2 tsp oregano for the poultry seasoning and used a small can of biscuits, cut up. I'd be afraid to make it any other way since this was SOOOO good! Easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      FANTASTIC!!! I forgot the potatoes somehow, but I did follow all the rest to the "T". I loved this as did the rest of the family. Can't help to think how excellent this would be for a filling in a chicken pot pie. Just take away a bit of the broth. Wondeful flavor and texture! Thanks for posting. THIS IS A KEEPER!!! Since posting this I used this as a filling for pot pie after removing the dumplings (that's what makes it creamy) and it was fantastic...I could eat this everyday!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Yummy, yummy. I used sugar snap peas and only used 1 carrot because that's all I had. I used garlic and cheese biscuit mix, 3/4 teaspoon pepper, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and old bay seasoning as the poultry seasoning. Delicious and homey and very easy, a definate keeper. Update - this time I used regular peas and both carrots, and discovered I like the snow peas a bit better. This time DH said it needed more dumplings, so maybe next time I'll try doubling the dumpling stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      I can't believe I heven't reviewed this yet! My DH absolutely loves it whenever he feels like comfort food. I love it and, even better, I can whip up some genuine comfort with very little time involved. Thanks for posting, AZRT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      I can't believe this cooked so quickly! It took me longer than 30 minutes to prepare and cook- about 45. I don't chop veggies as fast as Rachel. I didn't have celery, so I used celery salt in lieu of salt. I used reduced fat Bisquik. Other than that, I followed the recipe including cooking times. I was really curious how chicken and dumplings in 30 mins would turn out. We did not like it right after cooking. The next day the leftovers were excellent! I guess the flavors needed to meld. I will make this often (and serve it the next day). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      Great recipe. I just used precooked chicken, threw it all together brought to boil and used bisquick baking mix - dumpling recipe and it was wonderful and very fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      I was excited to try this (I enjoy Rachael Ray) for my "Adopt a chef" pick. This was quick to make (faster than 30 minutes for sure). I used "White Lily" (Southern flour) Bisquick package to make up the 8 ounces (each envelope was 6 ounces, so I used almost 1 1/2 and added a little extra water. This made ample dumplings for the pot. I wanted to make sure they were cooked since this was my first time, so I left the lid on after cooking and let rest til dinner (15 minutes later). The flavor and texture is similar to a pot pie filling and the dumplings make it real homey tasting. My daughter was a little lukewarm about the dumplings (she was expecting an oriental dumpling), but the rest of us enjoyed (including teenaged son). This is a great recipe. Roxygirl — Edited: this reheated the next day wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      Enjoyed this recipe, not only because it was good, but because it was quick and easy, but with that long cook taste. I cut my chicken into bite size pieces and I did use canned biscuits, and it came out fine. I cooked the meal for about 15 minutes after I put the chicken in, to be sure that it was done, then added the canned biscuits that I had pinched into pieces. Cooked for about 5 minutes, then stirred to thicken. It was yummy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 30 Minute Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 584.6
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    31%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 124.8 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1426.5 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites