Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 30 Minute Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    30 Minute Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2008

      Chicken and dumplings is hands down one of my favorite meals. This was pretty tasty. Still doesn't add up to the "Big Thicket" recipe on this site, but it is much easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This definately took longer than 30 minutes (more like an hour total.) I used biscuits from scratch with whole wheat flour, one large chicken breast which I cut in small cubes and put in with the vegetables instead of after, and celery salt in place of the salt because I had no celery. Overall it was delicious and easy, and even the baby liked it! Next time I'm going to use more chicken stock because it was a little too dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This was a big hit at my house. I mixed up homemade biscuit dough rather than using a mix. It was easy enough to mix up the dough while the chicken was cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Delicious and so quick and easy. This really hit home as a comfort food. I would suggest maybe doubling the dumplings (or at least one and a half as that is always the popular part of it) but as far as flavor and ease this was a great recipe! Thanks AZRT and thank God for Rachael Ray!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Yummy! I cut the veggies very small and the kids gobbled it up without even noticing they were there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Loved the quick, easy and flavorful method of preparing the chicken but admit I didn't use the biscuit mix to make the dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Made this last night and it was great! I cooked my boneless chicken breasts first in the oven w/olive oil, then shredded them. I used 48 ounces chicken broth and used Marti's Homemade Noodles Marti's Homemade Noodles (about 1/3 recipe, froze the rest) and my own dumplings. Great recipe! Thanks AZRT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

    • on January 03, 2008

      The Only reason this gets 4 stars is because it was a bit too runny for us. Maybe it was my own fault, but it just didn't quite thicken up...have to wait till the next day for that I guess. The taste was good, I added a bit of Rosemary and Thyme, and used corn instead of peas, because I didn't have any, I also used a basic flour, baking powder, milk and salt dumpling recipe instead. This recipe took me 30 min to make, which was wonderful because all I had was about an hour to find a recipe with ingredients I had on hand and completly make it...and well This was the It...Will definitly make this recipe again when in a pinch for time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      As Rachael Ray would say, YUM-O! This was so tasty and warming. It was very easy to make, too. I did make one change, and that was that I made my own dumplings. I'll make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      This was very good. Simple and yummy. I left out the potatoe just because I was being lazy. smile. If you just look at the long list of ingredients, it really looks like it might be harder than what it is. Really you are just dumping it all together, so don't let this frighten you.... It is a great meal for a rainy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I've made this 30 minute meal at least 3 times - it's probably my favorite RR recipe. True it's not exactly down home chicken & dumplings, but it tastes home made, isn't expensive, the ingredients are usually on hand and I personally love the taste. I basically follow the recipe as written. It is essential to use the poultry seasoning. The chicken never finishes dry and the quick stir of the "dumplings" thickens the meal just enough. My 3 year old as well as mom & dad love this easy dinner. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I made a few changes to this: cooked it longer, before the dumplings and broth. I used low-sodium chicken broth, whole wheat flour, and Arrowhead Mills Gluten-Free All Pupose baking mix. I didn't like how the baking mix turned into dumplings- they were too dry, but even with the dryness The meal was scrumptous! My 17-mo-old loved it, and he has been so picky lately. Yum, yum, yum! Will def. make again w/ a different biscuit/ dumpling. I wanted something w/ whole grain and fast- better keep looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      This just didn't cut it for my husband and I. We followed the directions and didn't stray, but we still couldn't eat it. I guess we are spoiled by the all day sort of chicken and dumplings. We liked the idea, but it just really didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      This is my six year old's favorite meal! I have to make it every couple of weeks in the winter because it is the ultimate comfort food. I always have the ingredients on hand and it truly does take only 30 minutes. When I first saw Rachael Ray make it, the only seasoning she used was salt and pepper and that's all I use. I sometimes omit the parsley from the dumplings and it is always delicious. I like this even better than my Grandma's chicken and dumplings (that takes all day to make). This recipe is a winner! I would highly recommend it. Thanks for posting AZRT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      Thank you for posting. It turned out great! Rachel Castle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      I think this would be much improved if you forgot about the 30 minute time, cooked the chicken the night before, or that morning, and make the dumplings right before you are going to eat. The chicken and broth will be better for waiting, and the dumplings don't wait well. So separate your time and improve your dumplings. I also think that covering the dumplings for part of the time will improve the texture and cook them all the way through. This recipe is very complicated for simple chicken, broth and dumplings. Don't worry if you don't have all these ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I must admit this was the first time I'd made chicken and dumplings without the help of my grandmother... plus I only had sodium free chicken broth, no frozen peas, and no FRESH parsley... Also I made my dumplings from scrath, adding a bit of Itlaian Seasoning and substituting the warm water for cool/luke warm buttermilk (f0r flavor)... The finished product was ok on taste and textur...the chicken bits and dumplings weren't as tender as I would have liked but the veggies had just the right amt of crunch left to them...once I came back fofr a second taste the dumplings and chicken had cooled to warm...the flavor was a bit more intense versus the blandness I'd experienced on the first test...so I agree with the other lady...once you let the dish sit and let all the flavor meld... it tastes a whole lot better :) I recommend this for beginners cuz it was SO easy for me...took about 40-50 minutes cuz I was sharing the kitchen with my roommates at the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      Great comfort food! Tastes so good and it's very easy with very little clean up. A real winner. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 30 Minute Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 584.6
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    31%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 124.8 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1426.5 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes