Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 3 Vegetable Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    3 Vegetable Casserole

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      I didn't use leftovers as I usually don't have any. I cooked up 1 cup of frozen corn, 1 cup of brussel sprouts and 1 cup of lima beans, then used them for the three cups of vegetables. I figured leftover veggies would have been cooked...lol. One bite and my husband said, "This is definitely 5 stars!" I had a big dinner in the works (was serving in courses), but he ate two huge plates and was too full to eat much else. I will definitely be making this a lot. In the past I've thrown those 1 cup leftovers in the garbage, but now I think I'll dedicate a bowl for accumulating 3 cups of veggies in the freezer for this casserole. I can see it wouldn't hardly matter what vegetable you used, it would still be good! Thank you for sharing this recipe Tara. It is delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      What a delicious way to use up left over veggies...or as in my case...I had a bag of mixed veggies that was not quite enough to use for a full meal, and a bag of broccoli florets that wasn't enough for a full meal either. I just cooked them up, then continued with your recipe as directed. I was skeptical that I could get them to try it...but they did and it was a huge hit!! This is definitely going in the veggie rotation list! Thanks for the GREAT recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      Is this ever good! The vegetables I used were leftover fresh ones: corn, carrots, cauliflower and broccoli. I used cheddar and jack cheeses. Everyone in my family loved it and I will certainly be making this casserole often. Thanks, Tara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      Fantastic way to use leftovers. The milk and eggs make a nice custard. I use a lot more than just 3 cups veggies, perhaps even 4-5. This can be a good meatless entree, accompanied with bread and salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Yummy! This recipe was nice and easy (an amateur cook here). Didn't have leftovers so I cooked up carrots, broccoli and potatos. Used Mozzarella & Racclette cheese b/c that's all I had. It turned out great. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      Mine wasn't creamy, it was more lumpy and mushy. Did I do something wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Delicious, and even better texture when reheated the next day!! I think 4-qt is a typo; mine fit in a 2-qt even with a little extra bread. Picture seems to show a 2-qt. casserole dish. And friends, please, use butter. Margerine is NOT better for you and doesn't taste as good! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      A recipe boost for plain vegetables and likening it to the difference of shopping at K-Mart as compared to Neiman Marcus. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      I altered the recipe quite a bit in term of flavoring but used the same amount of the backbone ingredients (milk, eggs, bread, cooked veggie). I made 2/3 of the recipe, used butter instead of margarine, added a cube of chicken bouillon, sprinkled the mixture with italian seasoning (as one of the other reviewers had suggested), used 1/4 tsp of salt and 1/4 tsp pepper for this 2/3 of the recipe. For cheese, i used half asiago and half medium cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Very good and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      My impression when looking over the ingredients was there wasn't much (besides salt) to accent the taste of the vegetables. So I added a chicken bullion cube to the milk, and also stirred in a blend of Italian seasonings, which included sage. My first thought when taking my first bite? Omigod - this is vegetable STUFFING! Really, just like stuffing at Thanksgiving, except instead of just bread and herbs and whatever other things some people put in, it's chock-a-block with vegetables. I think I would have found it a bit on the bland side if I hadn't included the extras that I did. As it was, it was really tasty comfort food. With all the cheese in there, I think you could also decrease (perhaps even omit?) the margarine. Shall try that next time and see how it turns out. In any case, I will probably even up the sage a bit - love that unexpected little savoury taste of Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      My family enjoyed this casserole. Although my husband said it could use a little more flavor. Next time I will use 1/2 evaporated milk as you suggested. I used brocolli, cauliflower and carrots for the vegetables. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Very good. I used broccoli, red pepper, onions and snow peas. Also, for cheese I used brie in the filling and chèvre noir on top. It was a nice combination. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This is a very good casserole on the order of a quiche with no crust. It's versatile in that it adapts to any vegies, and I used leftover corn and peas, broad beans and zucchini. I served it with tomato soup and it was a quick and tasty dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      We had this this evening and its pretty darn good! I used a dense white bread, parmesan cheese in the mixture (probably closer to a cup), and sharp cheddar on the top to cover. I also used skim milk and it was fine with that. I keep a container in my freezer where I dump all the little bits or leftover veggies that I usually use in vegetable soup, so I just defrosted that and it was about 4 cups, so I just dumped it all in. I think next time I'll be sure there are some onions in there, but overall it was very good. I think spinach would be great as well as cauliflower. The corn was also tasty in there!! Thanks for sharing a great recipe for using up my veggie leftovers. DH says its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      I made this last night for the first time. I used cauliflower, brocoli, and green beans and I used a blend of swiss and sharp cheddar cheese. It is a mild dish; the texture and flavor reminded me a lot of the flavor and texture of quiche. Next time, I am going to try adding some onions and spinach and more cheese on the top. Still a pretty good recipe. Thank you for submitting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Loved it! My husband declared that this was perfect comfort food. The quality of the dish depends on what you put in it, doesn't it? I used a ton of veggies -- 7 different kinds, and probably closer to five cups than three. To keep it WW-friendly, I used Trader Joe's low-calorie wheat bread, skipped the margarine, used skim milk, and reduced-fat smoked Gouda and reduced-fat sharp cheddar. And I topped it with a quarter cup of fresh grated Parmesan. It was delicious! Thanks so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I made this with brussel sprouts, corn and mixed veggies. It was a hit with my kiddos and DH. I did have some watery issues at the bottom of the pan, but no one seemed that bothered by it and we hardly had any leftovers! Great idea for leftover veggies! I'll make this again and again. *The biggest hit so far has been broccoli, corn and carrots. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      This was easy to put together and tasty also. I'll have to remember to try it with a different veggie combo sometime too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      This recipes is really great! I used some frozen veggies (corn, peas and spinach) wheat bread and mozz and it was mighty tasty. I used it a side-dish along with some Aidells sausage, it was a fantastic meal and so simple only taking minutes to assemble. I will definitely be making this again, it's a quick, tasty, versatile (ie; you can really make it with whatever you want!) meal. Thanks Tara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 3 Vegetable Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 399.8
     
    Calories from Fat 257
    64%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 179.1 mg
    59%
    Sodium 828.2 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetables

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes