Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 3 Variations of a Gluten Free Bread Recipe - Bread Machine
    Lost? Site Map

    3 Variations of a Gluten Free Bread Recipe - Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 15, 2009

      Ah yes, I know where this recipe is from: its the " Butter Basted White Bread" recipe from Bette Hagman's 'More from the Gluten -free Gourmet' cookbook. Its my FAVORITE GF bread recipe for toast & sandwiches. Because gluten free bread does not have to be "punched down" you can use the "quick bread" setting on the bread machine ( which on my sunbeam is 1 hr 20 min) and the bread turns out beautifully and in less time. Another time saving time I use is to combine all the dry ingrediants ( except the yeast) and store them in seperate quart size zip lock bags. That way when I need to quickly make a loaf of bread in the morning I just dump the bag into the bread machine pan, and in a seperate bowl combine all the liquids, add that in the pan, add yeast, and good to go. For a sourdough type flavor I use homemade Kefir thats meen allowed to culture for 2-3 days and is very sour and bubbly. This also makes the bread a bit lighter as well. A tablespoon of ground flax seeds adds nutrients, some nutty flavor and if you are allergic to eggs 2 tablespoons ground flax helps bind the dough together beautifully as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Although this recipe is not very written, it has got to be the best gluten free bread I have ever eaten. It's light & fluffy just like wheat bread, & a big plus for me is that it doesn't have bean flour, which I absolutely hate because it gives a bitter taste. Try this bread, and make sure you read the instructions completely. Ignore dividing the ingredients, it's not necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Caution, this recipe is for larger bread machines. Mine is over 10 years old and obviously a much smaller capacity. I ended up with a huge overflowing mess! On a positive note, even after scraping the dough into a loaf pan after one rise session in the bread maker, and baking in the oven at 375 deg. for 40 minutes, this bread turned out great! I was worried about how much yeast was in the recipe (lots more than most bread and GF bread recipes call for) but it obviously needed it since the bread turned out so great. Loaf was very flat on top but could be due to dough transfer and oven baking. Bread has a nice sweet, light fluffy flavor and texture. I will make this again for sure (with the recipe halved).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      I am new to gluten free. i had bought udi's bread and i liked it. so i thought i would try to make my own. i dusted off the old bread maker and went at it. so far i have tried the white bread version. it is very tasty. i like toast with jam and it works great. so i will try the other versions as well. some of the ingredients are a little expensive at first but i am sure once you get them all, it will be better than paying 5.00 a loaf for udi's and it's fresh not frozen. give it a try!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      Store bought gluten free bread is so expensive. This was my first attempt at making gluten free bread and I thought it came out great. It was easier than I thought it would be and all the flours/ingredients were easy to find at the "bulk" store. I used powdered buttermilk and omitted the vinegar. It is a very large, tasty loaf that cuts well. I was a little concerned when I peaked in the bread machine when it was mixing and it didn't look like bread dough at all. More like cake batter but it does rise and makes a very large loaf. The top did fall flat but that doesn't affect the taste :-)
      Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      The best bread machine recipe I have used! This is the closest thing to "real bread" I have found.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      I made this bread in my large bread machine and followed the advice of others, setting my machine to 'express bake - 1 hr. 20 mins - and it came out absolutely PERFECT. I used all ingredients exactly as listed - the full 1 and 2/3rds cups of water - The texture is ideal, it baked evenly, no problems. I will be uploading a photo of my loaf. This will be my base recipe for gluten free bread - I plan on adding herbs and also making a sweet loaf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      If this recipe does'nt work for you then you must be making a mistake or SOME mistakes.<br/>For a change, I was very pleasantly surprised with the final result even though a first look after baking in a cheap, old Citizen bread machine said, "Yup, another clossal failure". BUT when I removed the loaf from the baking container and then cut a slice off the side of the rounded loaf, "hmmmm it looks pretty good"! Sunken top notwithstanding, it looked like pretty nice bread. I quickly added a generous spread of butter. Yummmy. As an excuse for a second slice I leveled off the sunken top, added chedder cheeze and fresh garden onion to this round slice--Voila, happiness. As some others have stated, perhaps 1 rising in the cycle would be enough to forestall the top of the loaf collapsing problem. Or perhaps cutting back on yeast and/or sugar. Anyway, I really like the taste of this GLUTEN FREE BREAD!<br/> Because my bread machine is very small (2-1/2 cups of flour per loaf) I cut the recipe down to 75% (with the aid of a little calculator) of each ingredient.<br/>I am a man 76 years of age and have done very little baking in the past. I simply followed the recipe, allowed the (2) eggs to warm up to room temperature, melted (3) teaspoons of butter, made a dry mix bowl and a wet mix bowl. Then I dumped the wet mix into the machine followed by the dry mix. I paid no attention to the order of ingredients. I just made sure of MY measurements and that I included all the ingredients. I turned on the bread machine and went shopping! So as to prevent myself from interfering with the baking process.<br/>I will try oven baking this recipe next time. And will be using it often in the future.<br/>MY THANKS TO ALL WHO HAVE ADDED INFORMATION TO HELP ANYONE WHO TRIES THIS RECIPE. The recipe is very good. Almost fail proof. Some chefs may need a little help with their cooking technique. I read somewhere that really good cooks and chefs "follow the recipe and measure very carefully".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      Well, I trusted all those five star reviews. I made this bread twice - once exactly as the recipe showed - total failure as the flour and water never mixed - I ended up with loose, crumbly bread. The second time I used the method I always use with the bread machine. This time, the bread rose and looked lovely in the window. Then, it fell, and flowed all over the inside of the machine and burned the heck out of the machine. The loaf that emerged was tiny, hollow in places and tasted burned.<br/><br/>I have wasted 6 eggs, expensive powdered buttermilk, expensive glueten free flours and and time!<br/><br/>I am still on the search for a decent and reasonably tasty bread recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      I love the taste of this bread. I have made it 4-5 times now. The first time in the bread machine, it turned out flat and not mixed. The rest of the time I have made it in the oven. It comes out different each time. I left out the gum in it as I can't buy them where I live. The first several I put flax meal in it and the bread was dense, moist and didn't rise a lot. The last two times I left out the flax and it rose beautifully and baked nice and light and fluffy. I also use only 2/3 cup water as it turns out like pancake batter with just this much. When I put all the water in I was adding lots of extra rice flour. The last time I made it I had run out of powdered milk so I added 2/3 cup soy flour, now the dough was thick like bread dough. It still turned out great, but I like the powdered milk flavor better. My kids love it and they aren't gluten free.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      My bread machine is too small for this recipe so I mixed it up in my food processor. Mixed the dry ingredients first (except yeast), removed. Mixed wet ingredients, added back the dry and sprinkled yeast on top. Processed for 20 seconds to mix all together then processed for about 40 seconds to knead the dough. Dough was like cake batter consistency but I went with it like that. Poured into one regular size and one small loaf pans. Let rise in my oven for 30 mins. Baked at 350F for 30 minutes and they turned out perfectly done. Light, fluffy and delicious! (BTW, I heated my oven to 170F for the rising stage and turned the oven off as soon as I put the bread in to rise. I removed once risen, heated oven to 350F put pans back in and baked.) Thanks for the awesome recipe, I will be using it for all kinds of variations.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      This is absolutely the Best Gf {gluten-free} bread recipe! Not only is it delicious, but it is also so fast and easy to tweak to make for Dairy free people too!
      I've used this recipe for even making sweet breads like raisin cinnamon and turned out just as delicious as the recipe. {Simply add 1 1/4 cup of sugar and only 2 tsp. of dry un-shocked yeast to keep from over sour doughy like taste.}
      *P.S. If you don't have the powdered milk or are completely lactose intolerant then no tears, just simply add 1/2 cup of some sort of fatty flour in substitute* for the powdered milk!
      *Cashews powdered in blender. Coconut flour. Almond Meal/flour. Flax seed for more multi grain type of bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      The picture doesn't do justice to the loaf that I got from my bread machine. It rose beautifully and was very even textured. This was my first successful attempt at making a bread machine gluten free bread. It looked and tasted more like regular wheat bread than I expected - maybe even better. Also, the tip to combine the dry ingredients ahead of time would be a time saver in preparing this recipe. I even suggest making a large container of the two flours, potato starch, and powdered milk and measuring out 3 2/3 C for each batch. I put the salt and sugar in with the wet ingredients. By the way, guar gum is a much cheaper alternative for xanthan gum and can be added to the other dry ingredients. I'm going to try substituting dry buttermilk for the powdered milk (and eliminating the vinegar) for a little added flavor. Other possibilities seem endless: adding some herbs like dill for a tasty dill loaf, adding Italian seasonings with a little grated parmesan for a herbed Italian loaf, adding grated cheddar and some chili powder and/or cumin for a spicy cheddar loaf, etc. As one person noted, I don't think you need to use two risings on this bread. I'm going to try using the rapid cycle the next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      I had issues with this recipe, but once I finally figured it out, it was very good bread! The first time I tried it, it overflowed during the rising process. Luckily I caught it before it started baking. It's been so long since I used my bread machine, I forgot that it is only a 1.5 lb. loaf capacity. This recipe is definitely for a 2 lb. loaf capacity machine! So I cut the recipe by a third and it seemed to work. I wonder if it would have been taller without that second rise. All in all, after trying this recipe I think I'm going to splurge on new bread machine that is 2 lb. capacity and has a gluten-free setting. I didn't even realize you could make gluten-free bread in a machine so easily! I made my loaf dairy-free by using vegan butter and 1/2 cup almond flour instead of the powdered milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      I followed this recipe exactly as written, but it didn't work for me. I used a 2lb machine with a gluten-free cycle. The dough over-flowed the pan and caused a huge mess inside my machine and multiple cleanings have not completely erased the burn smell. Quite disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      This was a disaster of EPIC proportions. I've done other GF recipes in my bread machine with great success. This one had so much liquid, it never became dough. I added an extra cup of flour and it was still liquid. During the rise time it flowed over the pan and I ended up scooping liquid, grainy, sticky gunk out of the botton of the breadmaker, then had to scour the burned mess off the heating coil. Back to my other recipes, this one went into the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      Okay, the recipe is very vague on the directions so I gambled and came out with a decent loaf of bread. I am using my first loaf as bread crumbs for my dressing recipe. This bread can also be used for sandwiches and toast. Here are some more details to the recipe that the original author missed.<br/><br/>First of all, I used a Hamilton Beach HomeBaker Breadmaker I purchased in 2012. I chose the "Gluten Free" baking, 2 pound loaf, and medium crust browning settings. These turned out to be right for this loaf of bread on this model of bread machine. Yes, the dough rose all the way to the top of my 2 pound loaf pan, but did not spill over. So, you need to use a bread machine that makes 2 pound loaves or more. (Or you can cut the recipe in half.)<br/><br/>Second, the author did not specify the kind of vinegar to use. I ended up choosing cider vinegar being I read that distilled "white" vinegar may not always be gluten free. <br/><br/>Third, I used 1 cup Brown Rice Flour and 1 cup White Rice Flour, which still created a white loaf of bread in color and texture.<br/><br/>Fourth, in my bread maker, I must add the liquid ingredients first ending with the yeast. In whatever order you need to do it, please combine each set of ingredients: all liquid ingredients, salt and sugar, and the dry ingredients minus the yeast prior to putting them in your bread maker. I forgot to mix all the flours together and turned out with not the greatest loaf. Please make sure to read your instructions of your bread maker to see what is required in you recipes.<br/><br/>Hopefully, I have helped answer some of the questions for you to create a great loaf of homemade bread for you and your family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      This is one of the best breads I have ever tasted - GF or SAD! I'm going to try cutting it in half next time, tho, because it overflowed in my bread machine and made a mess. I poured it into 2 loaf pans, and it overflowed again before I could even get the oven preheated. I cleaned up the messes and baked it in a Bundt pan because that was the only pan I had that I thought would be big enough to hold it! The bread did fall, but no one will care. It is absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Not sure what I have done wrong, made this recipes twice without success, the flavour is wonderful but every time my loaf falls (I watch it rise big and then when its done it's flat) and ends up dense. Possibly a bread machine setting? I know my yeast is good (test proofed it) and my measurements were precise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      Thanks so much for sharing! Love love this recipe! I used your ingredients, just modified the order according to my own bread machine. I have a smaller machine, so I halved everything. With bread like this I have no reason to miss gluten at all! I plan to take your recipe and add spices and cheese to make it a gluten free Italian loaf. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 3 Variations of a Gluten Free Bread Recipe - Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (1169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2693.0
     
    Calories from Fat 803
    29%
    Total Fat 89.2 g
    137%
    Saturated Fat 49.6 g
    248%
    Cholesterol 762.9 mg
    254%
    Sodium 4489.0 mg
    187%
    Total Carbohydrate 398.8 g
    132%
    Dietary Fiber 17.1 g
    68%
    Sugars 74.3 g
    297%
    Protein 73.3 g
    146%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites