Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 3 Onion, Mushroom and Garlic Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    3 Onion, Mushroom and Garlic Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2011

      I can't fairly give a rating here because I made so many changes - but this was very good! I have been waiting for my incompetent grocery store to have leeks in stock but apparently that's not happening - so today I simply ran out of patience! I made your recipe with a combo of dried porcini, baby bella, red and white onions. The soup is just finished and I burned my mouth in my haste to taste it! I vow to make this again and give it a rating based on the ingredients! Thanks, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This was fabulous. Though I followed the recipe (for the most part the only changes i made were to use sweet onions and to caramelize the onions prior to adding the leeks and spices and I skipped the parsley out of laziness!) I put cheese on top- the only kind I had was a mix of provolone, mozz and parmesan shredded and it was PERFECT on top of this. Oh, and I had to add another 1/2 tbsp of beef base concentrate but that was personal preference. I think it would have been fine if I didn't. Thanks for an awesome recipe! Next time I make this I am doubling the mushrooms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      We loved this soup. I didn't have any leeks so used all sweet onion. Loved the addition of mushrooms. I also added a splash of red wine for a little more depth of flavor. This warmed us on a cold, drizzly evening. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      I just loved this soup! I changed a few things. I had a bunch of left over portabello mushrooms, so I used those instead of the porcini mushrooms. Instead of the mushroom liquid I used vegetable broth, and I replaced the two tablespoons of broth with soy sauce to make it taste more "beefy." I also used only half the amount of red onions suggested, and replaced the other half with shallots. I really thought that the amount of garlic called for would be overkill, but it was really delightful! We put croutons and shredded parmesan cheese over top of this and stuck it under the broiler for a minute. A real treat for a vegetarian that used to LOVE french onion soup and can't have it now. This is one of my new favorite soup recipes. Thank you so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I was tired of cream of... stuff. This was a welcome change. I did not have leeks and used a mix of portabella and white. Took out 1/2 c of water and put in 1/2 c of white wine. At the end, put in two tsp of cornstarch. My family lapped it up and we have 3 kids in them. Great stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Rita, even with just using regular white button mushrooms your soup was excellent, I can just imagine this soup with the porchini mushrooms! I am going to try it again with the dried porcini, and submit a new review. I used 4 cups beef broth and 4 cups water and still added in the beef base powder, we loved this soup, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      This is the best homemade onion soup I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly. To darken the broth I added 2 tblsp of soy sauce and 3 dashes of worchestire sauce. Thanks for a great recipe, we are adding it to our xmas menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      Ok... I had dried mushrooms, it was rainy outside and I didn't want to go to the store. The result? An alternate version of this great soup! I only had white onions and a dried mushroom mix, rather than just procini. It turned out great! I did opt to put a bit of mozzarella ontop and used beef stock as a base. Yummm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      This soup smelled wonderful! I fried the garlic instead of roasting it, used chicken broth instead of bouillon and water, and added some chopped chicken. It was lovely. The broth seemed bland to me, maybe I’ll add the bouillon and a dash of lemon juice or worshshire to it next time. Oh! Also more garlic! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      DH loves leeks, so this recipe was a great success; we loved the buttery taste. DH came back for 'seconds'. Like PanNan I used fresh mushrooms (dried porcini mushrooms are just so expensive). I also pureed half of the soup then added it back in for a thicker consistency. This will definately get made again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      I was not able to find the dried porcini this weekend, so I substituted fresh mushrooms. Also, I didn't realize I was nearly out of beef base until I was sauteeing the onions. I added some Maggi seasoning to add some depth of flavor to compensate. Although the color was not as dark as it should be, the taste was unbelievably delicious. DD and her friend are not big fans of onion soup, but both girls just loved this recipe. This is going in my favorite soup cookbook. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      This soup looked so good, all dark and full of onions and mushrooms. I added the toast, then added a spoon of sour cream which I thought really gave it a creamy taste. I might try pureeing part of the soup next time for an even more creamy texture. Thanks Rita for a wonderful soup which can be dressed up and has a nice earthy background.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 3 Onion, Mushroom and Garlic Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.6
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    71%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 511.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried porcini mushrooms

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes