9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So easy to make. The texture is a little heavier than we like our cupcakes. It's kind of like a cross between a cupcake and a muffin. I topped some of ours with a whipped cream cheese icing. Next time I will either try to lighten the texture up or pair it with a regular cream cheese icing so it doesn't get lost in the cake texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 15, 2014

These were the easiest best things EVER!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Art Teacher February 16, 2010

delicious! very, very easy to make and a hit with my non-vegan coworkers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegan chef lena January 31, 2010

These are so simple and delicious! They are a little heavy - - somewhere between a muffin and a cupcake, and that's the only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 -- we're more cake people than muffin people. I make a half batch at a time and to that add 6 T. soymilk and 1/4 tsp. salt. They are good right away, but really fabulous after a day or two. I don't use frosting - they're sweet enough as is. I've made them twice in 2 weeks, they're that good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama November 23, 2009

This is a really easy and delicious recipe. Although, I did tweak it a little. Sorry! 1 egg and 1/3 cup water, that's all. I made 6 muffins and also and 8x8 cake. One for the morning "grab and go" and one after dinner with a little cool whip!! Really great fast fall fun cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steveandmariataylor November 11, 2009

These are sooo wonderfully easy, it's incredible!! I love that you are able to sneek in a "veggie" and there is such little prep work. This recipe makes for a great go-to, inexpensive, quick, and great fluffy texture. NOTE: this recipe also works great for cookies. They don't spread out much so you can fit a ton on one cookie sheet. Optional add-in: raisins, craisins, carrots. Thanks so much for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenni D December 31, 2008

This is exactly the type of recipe I love...easy, but nobody would ever guess how easy. I love to bake, but just because I don't have time to bake from scratch during the school year doesn't mean I can't have fantastic, fresh, vegan goodies! Thank you for posting this. I made these for a Halloween party, and they were gobbled up by vegans and non-vegans alike. They were such a hit that I made another batch to take to school. That was a week ago, and people are still raving about them and asking me for the recipe. These are definitely one of my new favorites...perfect for people who are busy during the holidays. I added Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting (Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting). Also, I added 1/2 cup of soy milk to the batter the second time I made these. That made them fluffier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose November 15, 2008

Not do much a genuine recipe, more of an alternative way to prepare something from a pre-made mix

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
selfmadegirl January 20, 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect with no eggs, no oil, & no liquids, but this is so easy to make and tasted delicious. I do recommend using a mixer to stir the ingredients. This batter is thick! I cut the ingredients in half and came out with exactly 12 cupcakes which I topped with the cinnamon sugar as suggested. They reminded us of muffins. I made this with a DH carrot cake mix. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D November 03, 2007
3 Ingredient Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes