Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 3 Hour Old Fashioned Oven Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    3 Hour Old Fashioned Oven Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2014

      This has to be the easiest - and best - pot roast recipe I've ever tried. Served it today for my family "Sunday supper" and it was a huge hit. Followed the recipe with the exception of the seasoning - just used salt & pepper. Sliced beautifully, cooked perfectly. No more searing the meat, just salt & pepper and put it in the oven. Fabulous. I'll never use another method for cooking a pot roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      I just made this for me and my husband. It is SO easy to make and it was seriously the best pot roast I have ever had and my husband can't stop talking about it. I will DEFINITELY be making this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      This was the easiest, most delicious, succulent pot roast ever. I've just made it for the third time. The Cajun spice was the perfect seasoning. The meat was fork tender, yet you could slice it. I doubled the mushrooms and carrots since I am allergic to potatoes and added more liquid to serve over noodles. The leftover meat and gravy made fantastic pot roast sandwiches on Italian rolls. It's become my new pot roast of choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      I made this roast in an electric turkey roaster. Everything came out beautifully except roast wasn't tender even after 5 hours. This was my first time to use the roaster, so I don't know if it was operator error or the roaster just doesn't work as well for a beef roast as a turkey. Next time I will use the oven and see if I can give a 5 star rating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Wow! I have been married & cooking pot roasts for 20 years...this recipe came out so tender & flavorful my husband said "it's the best pot roast you've ever made"! I used garlic powder, onion powder & adobo instead of the cajun seasoning. Fantastic, thank you so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This was so easy to make and easy to slice and tender and juicy. Made a very flavorful gravy and the leftovers made thin slices for sandwiches. I left out mushrooms but the remaining veggies were done to perfection. i will be making this again/ Thanks Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Tried and true recipe! Family loves it, it is easy and it's even better the next day!! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      This is a great oven roast! Its really easy and delicious. My roast was 3.87 lbs and I cooked it at 50 min intervals and it was done, but not overdone. I didn't do the gravy, we used the canned to save time. Also no mushrooms, but added some celery. If you're looking to do a roast without the crock pot, you won't be disappointed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Great roast recipe! I used a sirloin tip roast, couldn't find a bottom round in my bodunk town for some reason. Anyways, I cooked it less than the recipe called for being the different cut. About 45 min per increment. Used baby carrots and small golden potatoes. The gravy didn't thicken that much right away, but will so overnight. DH loved this, 5 stars all the way! Thanks Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      Thank you all who wrote a review or submitted a photo, it truly makes a BIG difference when deciding to try a new recipe or not. I have been looking for an "old fashioned oven pot roast recipe for a while, and soooooo excited to try this one. I actually have my roast in the oven as I'm typing, and hope it turns out as well as everyone else says theirs has. I will let you all know. I am new to this site, and so far, am loving it. Cooking is a passion, and I enjoy trying others successes. Thanks again to all who have given reviews and pics, you helped me decide to try this!!!!!!!! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This recipe is AMAZING!! I'm 30 and have never cooked meat. I've been vegetarian and just recently started cooking and eating meat and this recipe is not only simple but it's absolutely DELICIOUS! I use Penzey''s Roast Seasoning and cook it in a beef flavored vegetarian broth. My entire family LOVES it and they request it AT LEAST once a week. Thank you for something so quick and delicious that doesn't require me to actually touch the cow flesh :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      thank you for having a great tasting recipe that i didnt have to use a crock pot for. this has become my favorite pot roast hands down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 3 Hour Old Fashioned Oven Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (612 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.8
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    57%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 53.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    38%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bottom round beef roast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites