13 Reviews

This has to be the easiest - and best - pot roast recipe I've ever tried. Served it today for my family "Sunday supper" and it was a huge hit. Followed the recipe with the exception of the seasoning - just used salt & pepper. Sliced beautifully, cooked perfectly. No more searing the meat, just salt & pepper and put it in the oven. Fabulous. I'll never use another method for cooking a pot roast.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
virginialady January 06, 2014

I just made this for me and my husband. It is SO easy to make and it was seriously the best pot roast I have ever had and my husband can't stop talking about it. I will DEFINITELY be making this again. :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shodges81 August 10, 2013

This was the easiest, most delicious, succulent pot roast ever. I've just made it for the third time. The Cajun spice was the perfect seasoning. The meat was fork tender, yet you could slice it. I doubled the mushrooms and carrots since I am allergic to potatoes and added more liquid to serve over noodles. The leftover meat and gravy made fantastic pot roast sandwiches on Italian rolls. It's become my new pot roast of choice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spot's Dad October 12, 2011

Wow! I have been married & cooking pot roasts for 20 years...this recipe came out so tender & flavorful my husband said "it's the best pot roast you've ever made"! I used garlic powder, onion powder & adobo instead of the cajun seasoning. Fantastic, thank you so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodia March 31, 2010

This is a great oven roast! Its really easy and delicious. My roast was 3.87 lbs and I cooked it at 50 min intervals and it was done, but not overdone. I didn't do the gravy, we used the canned to save time. Also no mushrooms, but added some celery. If you're looking to do a roast without the crock pot, you won't be disappointed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beginnerchef November 23, 2008

I made this roast in an electric turkey roaster. Everything came out beautifully except roast wasn't tender even after 5 hours. This was my first time to use the roaster, so I don't know if it was operator error or the roaster just doesn't work as well for a beef roast as a turkey. Next time I will use the oven and see if I can give a 5 star rating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reneeshort January 04, 2014

This was so easy to make and easy to slice and tender and juicy. Made a very flavorful gravy and the leftovers made thin slices for sandwiches. I left out mushrooms but the remaining veggies were done to perfection. i will be making this again/ Thanks Derf!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn February 02, 2010

Tried and true recipe! Family loves it, it is easy and it's even better the next day!! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spressley1970 December 28, 2009

Great roast recipe! I used a sirloin tip roast, couldn't find a bottom round in my bodunk town for some reason. Anyways, I cooked it less than the recipe called for being the different cut. About 45 min per increment. Used baby carrots and small golden potatoes. The gravy didn't thicken that much right away, but will so overnight. DH loved this, 5 stars all the way! Thanks Derf!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear August 11, 2008

I just finished dinner. It was great tender and low fat. I cut most of the fat off the bottom round roast. The gravy came out great. Even though no fat there was plenty of juice. Will be making it again this winter. Thank You

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Y. November 14, 2015
3 Hour Old Fashioned Oven Pot Roast