8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was pretty good, although I would've liked to have put a bit more pasta in this. It seemed like the dish mostly consisted of vegetables and cheese with a few stray pasta pieces floating around within the mixture. Also, as I was eating it I felt like topping the dish with warm marinara sauce would've brought the flavors to a whole new level. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer December 28, 2012

Delicious! Really enjoyed this one dish meal. I think red pepper would be great in this, too! Made for Football Pool 2011. Pamela

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westtextazzy November 14, 2011

This was very tasty, once I added enough salt to it (and I am definitely not a salt person)! I think the combo of pasta and spinach just soaked up the salt. Be sure to taste test before baking. I also used ricotta cheese instead of cottage, and I added garlic powder seasoning as well. I used half the amount of mushrooms, and it still turned out great. I used 1.5 lbs of chicken, cooked in my crockpot for 3 hrs on high (shred directly in crock pot - super easy). Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Ham April 10, 2011

This is a great mix of stuff! I say that because what I do is have this great, ingenious idea for dinner one night, so I take some frozen spinach and grated cheese out to thaw - then plans change, and we end up going out. The next night, I forgot all about the spinach/cheese idea, and I take chicken breasts out to thaw - Oh! there's the spinach in the fridge - along with some mushrooms that I keep meaning to put in something...anything (my husband isn't really crazy about mushrooms, so I kinda have to hide 'em most of the time). So, here is my chance to use it all in one swoop! I gave it 4 stars because I did some stuff different: I didn't have bell pepper, and I subbed mozzarella cheese for the cheddar. I used 1 regular-size (not Costco-size, though we did get them there in a 3-pack) jar Classico tomato/basil spaghetti sauce for the milk and soup. I also added 1 Tbsp. minced garlic to the saute pan with the onions and mushrooms and a shake or 2 of nutmeg to the cottage cheese mixture. Oh! For the pasta, I used frozen cheese tortellini too. I layered sauce, tortellini, cottage cheese mixture, sauce, and remaining cheese. It was super good, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 May 15, 2009

Very, very good. I made it the second time with leftover ham and thought it was even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandrasothere September 19, 2008

I loved this! Even though the little ones weren't too fond of the mushrooms, my older brothers thought it was amazing. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will definitely be using it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cellogirl2 July 17, 2008

We had this tonight with garlic bread and it was yummy. I used red bell pepper and added minced garlic to the veggies. This will definitely be a repeat recipe here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea March 01, 2008

A very interesting, flexible one-course dish. I used the bag of frozen 'pepper stir fry' that I had on hand, some cubed and fried chicken breast, and used mashed tofu instead of the cottage cheese (all that I had on hand). It did come together rather easily, although I somehow forgot to add in the cream of mushroom soup (oops!). The colors were brilliant (due to the red and yellow peppers, the colors of the cheese, and the spinach) and the taste, even without the soup, was plenty for my adult taste buds (if serving kids, though, I would probably use the soup). I definately had to add garlic, though, and next time, to add a little sophistication to the dish, I may add some sun dried tomatoes, maybe some pine nuts or roasted bell peppers instead of the fresh peppers. You could easily add a can of diced tomatos as well, or substitute the can of mushroom soup for some tomato puree. Thanks for sharing, I can't wait to play with this one some more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney Elizabeth February 14, 2008
3 Cheese Chicken Spinach Pasta Bake