11 Reviews

I'm sorry, this just didn't work for us. My roast came out very tough even though I know I was slicing it against the grain. I won't rate it with any stars because it could have just been the roast I had. I will say, it was easy to do and it came out a lovely medium rare. I really enjoyed your horseradish sauce tho and will definately use it again. Thank you .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae Lin August 22, 2009

Excellent! This is how a restaurant I went to 20 years ago must have fixed their prime rib. They used more seasonings but I so very happy to have come across your recipe 2Bleu! I had a 5 pound prime rib roast after baking it I left it in the oven for 8 hours. The oven had cooled completely down at the end of that time. So I need to reheat a slice in the microwave. I warmed up a 1/2 inch slice for DH in a covered microwave bowl for 45 seconds, checked it then another 30 seconds and it came out nicely. But be very careful so you don't over cook the meat. I made this for *Adopt A Tag II Fall 2008* game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J September 07, 2008

I'll add my 5 stars to this one. Moist and juicy it was. So easy to prepare too. The only thing I did different was to make slits in the roast and insert slices of garlic. Yummy. My roast was only about 3 lbs and it was much more done that the photos show, but that was done because this is one slice of meat we like more done than the others. Don't even know why. Served this with Creamy Horseradish Sauce for Roast Beef as suggested and also some mushroom/onion gravy. Very good recipe. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 13, 2008

This was beautiful and juicy.The best way to cook any red meat.U deserve more stars for this one.Thanks so much for sharing this with others.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seaview2000 June 26, 2008

This worked perfectly for us using a sirloin tip roast. I am amazed that apparently you can use almost any cut of roast and have excellent results! Mine came out medium rare, which certainly satisfied all at the table...those who like it better done grabbed the outside pieces, leaving the middle for the rest of us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo May 19, 2008

4.5 stars but I'm rounding up! We had a 3lb roast and I roasted for 45 mins before leaving to sit in the oven for approx. 6 hours. The result was slightly burned on top (probably the fault of my oven) and was distinctly medium-well (again, possibly my oven) however the meat was very tender and flavoursome and this was a very easy way to cook a roast. The bottom of the pan was left with a fantastic jus (although it was also swimming in fat, so I had to skim that off first) which I turned into a very tasty gravey. My other half and I both agreed this was very good roast beef and I've no doubt we will have it again, only with a few minor amendments to the oven temperature and timings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy-Bob April 22, 2008

I used an eye of round roast, 2 pounds. Put it in the oven, cooked it about 36 minutes. After about 4 hours I turned on the oven to bake some cookies, opened the door and remembered the roast was in therre. So I took it out, covered with foil, and set on top of the stove(which was hot because the oven was on), and let sit another 4 hours. After all that, it still turned out great! Done, but with a little pink, just the way my DH likes it! Thanks Lynnda!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 15, 2008

This is delicious and easy. One of the best I've ever had. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 28, 2008

Ohhhhhh.... I absolutely love you. This is so perfect. The comments were exactly as you said, how could you make it so perfect being gone all day.... I think I will share the secret, since everyone deserves to be able to serve a perfect roast beef. Thank you so much. Benthe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Benthe (Danish) March 17, 2008

This was delicious! Very easy! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen's Kitchen March 13, 2008
2bleu's Perfect Roast Beef