Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / $25 Pumpkin Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    $25 Pumpkin Pie

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2002

      What a delicious pie! I roasted the pumpkin as stated, but just scooped it out with a spoon (easier that way). The prep was a little involved, but WAY worth it! The texture of this pie is a little softer than the pumpkin pie I am used to, it's lighter, almost like a torte. I served it with fresh sweetened whipped cream. YUM! The spice amounts are absolutely perfect! I wouldn't change a thing! I will be making this for the holidays this year-Thanks for a great recipe, Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2002

      $25 Pumpkin Pie? I'll give you $30! What a perfectly delicious ending to our Thanksgiving dinner! Thanks for this recipe, Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      Steve - This was a terrific pie! Not too sweet, not too spicy and the taste of pumpkin still came through. Whipped cream - Cool Whip - is there a difference?? Thanks for convincing me to make this one! It is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      Incredible!! I have made several different pumpkin pies in this past year, and this one leaves them all in the dust. This was absolutely delicious!! Next time I will start with fresh pumpkin and I can't wait to taste the results! I made this with the perfect Classic Pie Crust #26205 -- what a winning combination! Thank you so very much Steve for this scrumptious pumpkin pie recipe. Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Nothing short of AMAZING! Was afraid to try a new recipe for Thanksgiving. So I made both this, and the standby Libby's recipe. This one blew the old one out of the park! I cant really say what it was that made it better. It was just over the top better. Creamier I think, and just had more of a depth of flavor. I think the brown sugar did it? Whatever it was, it was awesome! Only problem I had was the crust sticking. But that was cause I used a glass pie tin, and didnt grease it first. I also liked that it made more than can fit in a normal 9 inch pie pan. So it was perfect for my deep dish pie pan. Made a nice thick pie. I will never make any other pumpkin pie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      The crust was nice and crispy. The filling is more custard like than regular pumpkin pie but very tasty. I little more work but worth trying!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This pie was absolutely incredible! I made it for five Australian people who had never eaten pumpkin pie before and were a little hesitant. Needless to say, we were all completely won over! They're definitely worth $25.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      This was a very good pie, not too sweet, not too spicy. But to be completely honest it didn't taste a whole lot different from our less involved pumpkin pies. Still very good though, a bit softer than the norm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      The texture was perfect. Deliciously creamy! My family thought the pie had a little too much ginger, so we will probably play with the spices a little bit. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      The amount of effort put into the crust portion of the recipe was not really worth it but the filling was very good. I made it as written except for the omission of cloves as I just don't care for them. The cook time for me was way off as it took mine almost an hour to bake before the filling baked enough that the center was only a little jiggly. I used a deep dish Pampered Chef stone pie plate so that might have affected the bake time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      I looked for years for the recipe and crust technique that my grand mom used, especially , fresh from the pumpkin, from scratch! Thanks so very much, Steve, for reviving a 'lost' recipe for our family to continue to rave over! Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This was really good! I decided to test this recipe out to see if I wanted to make it for Thanksgiving, and I am absolutely using it for the upcoming holiday. I used pure canned pumpkin and used almond milk place of regular milk. The baking time was perfect! I like a "spicy" pumpkin pie, so I might increase the spices a little to taste, but otherwise this is a fantastic recipe. I will be serving it with home made whipped cream too :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I love this pie!!! It's a little more work than most pumpkin pies, but well worth it. I've made it several times and have never been disappointed -- and neither have any of the guests that were lucky enough to have a piece of it!!!! Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I made this for Thanksgiving and along with this pumpkin pie, several were brought in and we compared. Honestly, I am glad I made it and tried the crust technique but for the amount of work and all else, I will buy instead of making. Five Stars for your well written recipe, a fail-proof pie. Five Stars for making it happen and having all the ingredients. I leave it up to zaar folks to decide to homebake or buy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I cannot rate this recipe because I used a tried and true filling that my family loves, but I followed the directions for baking the pastry, and assembling the filling, and the results were stellar. I will use this method of painting the crust with egg white, and precooking the filling with any baked pie that has a custard base from now on. Thank you for the inspiration, and the very clear instructions Steve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Best pumpkin pie anfter my own Christmas party last year ended up making this 2-3 times a week for a pregnant friend who's craving could only be tamed by this recipe as i tried others and she wasnt fooled but has turned into a family favorite My husband talks about year round

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      When I found this recipe was worried about all the steps (this is my first attempt at any pie) But it wasn't that hard once I started and it turned out PERFECT. The best compliment I got was when my Mom stated it tasted "Just Like Grandma's Pumpkin Pie". I was so proud and will make this my one and only recipe for pumpkin pie. The texture, taste, and appearance made the perfect pumpkin pie, well worth the $25. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      Sorry to give this a bad review since I had such high hope for this recipe. But, the flavor and texture were average. It wasn't worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This was a really nice tasting pie. The only difficulties I had was not knowing when to add the brown sugar, since the directions do not specify. It made the most sense to me to add the brown sugar to the pumpkin, spices and salt in step 5, so I added it there. I'm glad I had all the ingredients pre-measured (as you suggested) otherwise I would have missed adding the sugar altogether. The filling didn't seem to set completely, which may have been a result of covering the entire pie with aluminum foil while it was baking (which I opted to use because I don't have a crust shield). Your method of baking the pie shell for fifteen minutes really helps maintain a perfectly flaky bottom crust! I will definately buy a crust shield and continue using this method in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      So glad I made 2! It was a little extra work compared to my old faithful but worth it. Most of the first pie is all gone and was awesome for Day After Thanksgiving breakfast. There are only 3 of us and our picky 11 year old won't go near pumpkin pie so now you know where it all went! I had to make a few changes though. I used canned pumpkin and refridgerated pie crust. (sorry!) I have always prebaked my crusts a little even with fruit pies and I would have done it here even if not in the instructions.Thanx for a true keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for $25 Pumpkin Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.0
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    46%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 123.0 mg
    41%
    Sodium 330.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 27.3 g
    109%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes