Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 2 Texans Craving Salsa Far from Home Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    2 Texans Craving Salsa Far from Home

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2013

      So fresh and delicious. I added a bit more cilantro and did not add any of the jalapeno seeds (this time!) due to the request of my mild mannered dinner guests. ;0) <br/>The jalapenos simply give it really good flavor- without the heat- and the chili powder is a great addition without being over powering. DELICIOUS salsa that can easily be tweaked to your desired heat. Will definitely make this again and again! ***UPDATE: Have now made this salsa a number of times WITH the jalapenos and their seeds- LOVE it!!!! Try it with my recipe: Pintos and Blacks! So, so, sooooo good! Thanks for the BEST salsa recipe out there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Made this as written only at the end I did add a few finely sliced green onions for a little more color...definately a keeper. My jalapeno had a kick but sooo good. I served this with fresh baked corn chips. Made for the Think Pink 2012 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      This was very easy to make and I love it.. It's better than any salsa I've ever had at a restaurant. I still can't believe it came from my kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Great salsa recipe! One thing I've noticed when making salsas using canned tomatoes is that it's so important to use a quality brand. I made the mistake of using store brand for this recipe and it seemed kind of bland. I'm looking forward to trying it again with better tomatoes. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      I am Texas girl and I love this recipe. Great salsa :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      This salsa ROCKS! I can%u2019t believe how delicious it is and I%u2019m already addicted. I can never go back to store bought again. I have tried different salsa recipes in the past and something always was not quit right, but this turned out perfect. I%u2019m so glad you decided to share it with us,,, it really is great. My search is ended and this will be a staple in my home. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Simply wonderful! Flavor is uncomplicated and deliscious. I used the juice of the whole lime and more onion, but other than that followed the recpe to a "T". Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Excellent salsa that went together super quick in a food processor. I served this with #131176 and the only change I made was to use the whole lime instead of half. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Delicious! We loved this quick, easy, and flavorful salsa. I made this in a food processor, adding everything except the cilantro and onion. After everything was mixed, I added the cilantro leaves and pulsed just a few times to lightly chop. Then I added the onion, which I had coarsely chopped, and pulsed a couple of times. This left the cilantro and onion still chunky. After removing the salsa from the food processor, I stirred in 3-4 shakes of habanero hot pepper sauce for added heat. Yum!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper! *Made for Cookbook Tag*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I am a proud Texan far away from home here in CO! This tasted delicious, but for my own personal preference, it was a bit too runny for me. I made it again, using a large can of diced tomatoes, slightly drained & that did the trick. I also used a bit more garlic, just b/c that is what I prefer. Thanks fellow Texan!! This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I had to make a few slight changes based on what I had on hand, but this turned out GREAT. It is nice and spicy, and I love the taste of the lime. I can't wait to make it with cilantro. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I do have to say that you got it. I do miss the heat of Texas, so I added the seeds and all. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This salsa is simple & easy and tastes great. I added a bit of black pepper and cumin to finish it off. I also blended 1/2 of the cilantro and left 1/2 of it till the end, per your suggestion. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 2 Texans Craving Salsa Far from Home

    Serving Size: 1 (936 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.9
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    26%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3499.9 mg
    145%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 11.4 g
    45%
    Sugars 23.3 g
    93%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites