55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this to the recipe and it was nothing like fudge of any kind. It was like eating blocks of cake icing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwipom January 30, 2007

This is the easiest fudge recipe ever!! I also make peanut butter fudge this way. Only add 1/4 cup cocoa and 1/2 cup of peanut butter!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nonniekaykay May 12, 2010

Absolutely wonderful! We really enjoyed this desert. My husband and kids could not wait until it cooled. They kept sneaking a taste. I only stirred the powered sugar, cocoa and salt. I then put the milk and margarine on top and microwaved the ingredients. I then put the vanilla in and stirred the fudge with a wooden spoon. I lined my dish with wax paper for easier clean-up. It worked wonderfully.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelleg February 12, 2010

My Grandmother has been making this fudge for as long as Microwaves have been around, and she shared the recipe with me excepte we make a "well" in the powdered part, and add the milk and butter. My Grandmother nails it every time, but 7 out of 10 times that I make it, it won't set, and I do the exact same thing every time. I just don't get it, I think that it has something to do with what kind of butter/margarine you use, because that is the only variation. I love the way it tastes, but when it won't set, it is a waste. :-(

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina G. December 25, 2013

This was the delicious! I added 1/2 cup peanut butter. Also, my microwave is 1000 watts, so I had to microwave for about 4 minutes. Just like everything else you make in the microwave, the time varies based on wattage. It always sets right for me. The only time it didn't, I put it back in the microwave for another 2 minutes and it worked. I basically stop when the ingredients start to rise. I also don't worry too much about stirring before it goes in. Also, I put wax paper in the pan before I put the fudge in.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly1138 November 19, 2012

I made this this afternoon and we had it after dinner tonight. This does need more than 1 hour to chill. I kept it in my freezer for 6 hours before I served it. After serving, the remaining went into the fridge. Just as a note for those who try this recipe in future, I'd like to add that the baking pan/tray in which you put this fudge to set, must be "greased" with butter or margarine. Very easy and well written out instructions. I used margarine, Hintz Dutch Processed Cocoa powder, powdered sugar, low-fat milk(I had to make it slightly guilt-free somewhere!), salt, vanila essence and walnuts. Thank you for sharing this tasty fudge:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani January 18, 2003

As a frosting this would be really rich and sugary, but passable maybe for certain recipes. As a "fudge" it's terrible. Gritty, not nearly fudge consistency, and way WAY too sweet. I'm so sad I used good cocoa in this. I could taste every grain of sugar in it. Please please please don't mistake this for fudge. I hate to give bad reviews, but this is so highly rated I felt like I needed to add another voice saying no, it's really not fudge at all, just in case someone else doesn't want to waste ingredients or time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanessa D. December 22, 2013

This is a very sweet, sugary fudge. Mine set perfectly within 3 hours. After reading other reviews, I only used 1/2 of the butter in the recipe. I used Hershey's brand Unsweetened Cocoa and unsalted butter, and added 1 cup of chopped pecans. I lined my dish with wax paper. This was a great recipe to use up some of my leftover powdered sugar, etc. from holiday baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meucci December 24, 2014

I have been making this fudge since the 80s the only problem I have ever had is if I did not sift the ingredients. The best easy Fides there is

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ralphieskids December 14, 2014

Tried this. It never set up, stayed goopy like taffy. I even microwaved it on high for 4 minutes. Still never crystalized. Next time I use the old fashioned boil recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue V. September 04, 2014
2 Minute Microwave Fudge