55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this to the recipe and it was nothing like fudge of any kind. It was like eating blocks of cake icing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwipom January 30, 2007

This is the easiest fudge recipe ever!! I also make peanut butter fudge this way. Only add 1/4 cup cocoa and 1/2 cup of peanut butter!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nonniekaykay May 12, 2010

Absolutely wonderful! We really enjoyed this desert. My husband and kids could not wait until it cooled. They kept sneaking a taste. I only stirred the powered sugar, cocoa and salt. I then put the milk and margarine on top and microwaved the ingredients. I then put the vanilla in and stirred the fudge with a wooden spoon. I lined my dish with wax paper for easier clean-up. It worked wonderfully.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelleg February 12, 2010

My Grandmother has been making this fudge for as long as Microwaves have been around, and she shared the recipe with me excepte we make a "well" in the powdered part, and add the milk and butter. My Grandmother nails it every time, but 7 out of 10 times that I make it, it won't set, and I do the exact same thing every time. I just don't get it, I think that it has something to do with what kind of butter/margarine you use, because that is the only variation. I love the way it tastes, but when it won't set, it is a waste. :-(

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina G. December 25, 2013

This was the delicious! I added 1/2 cup peanut butter. Also, my microwave is 1000 watts, so I had to microwave for about 4 minutes. Just like everything else you make in the microwave, the time varies based on wattage. It always sets right for me. The only time it didn't, I put it back in the microwave for another 2 minutes and it worked. I basically stop when the ingredients start to rise. I also don't worry too much about stirring before it goes in. Also, I put wax paper in the pan before I put the fudge in.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly1138 November 19, 2012

I made this this afternoon and we had it after dinner tonight. This does need more than 1 hour to chill. I kept it in my freezer for 6 hours before I served it. After serving, the remaining went into the fridge. Just as a note for those who try this recipe in future, I'd like to add that the baking pan/tray in which you put this fudge to set, must be "greased" with butter or margarine. Very easy and well written out instructions. I used margarine, Hintz Dutch Processed Cocoa powder, powdered sugar, low-fat milk(I had to make it slightly guilt-free somewhere!), salt, vanila essence and walnuts. Thank you for sharing this tasty fudge:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani January 18, 2003

This is a very sweet, sugary fudge. Mine set perfectly within 3 hours. After reading other reviews, I only used 1/2 of the butter in the recipe. I used Hershey's brand Unsweetened Cocoa and unsalted butter, and added 1 cup of chopped pecans. I lined my dish with wax paper. This was a great recipe to use up some of my leftover powdered sugar, etc. from holiday baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meucci December 24, 2014

Tried this. It never set up, stayed goopy like taffy. I even microwaved it on high for 4 minutes. Still never crystalized. Next time I use the old fashioned boil recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue V. September 04, 2014

I love this recipe! It is so easy, quick and delicious! Best of all, the ingredients are the things that you have on hand. No running to the store to get condensed milk, evaporated milk or chocolate chips. Try it, it's great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. December 24, 2013

As a frosting this would be really rich and sugary, but passable maybe for certain recipes. As a "fudge" it's terrible. Gritty, not nearly fudge consistency, and way WAY too sweet. I'm so sad I used good cocoa in this. I could taste every grain of sugar in it. Please please please don't mistake this for fudge. I hate to give bad reviews, but this is so highly rated I felt like I needed to add another voice saying no, it's really not fudge at all, just in case someone else doesn't want to waste ingredients or time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanessa D. December 22, 2013
2 Minute Microwave Fudge