49 Reviews

I have made this for years.. I do many different variations... adding raisens, craisens, coconut, nuts and glaze. They are always moist and delicious. The only thing I have never done is put them in muffin form. I usually use a small ice cream scoop and put on a pan so they make little cake like cookies.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetp's November 22, 2010

WOW...soooooooooo moist. Added cinnamon, nutmeg, and 1/4 cup water like another reviewer stated. Added walnuts and M&M's too. EXCELLENT! Thank you Karen ! Will definitely make this again and will share this recipe with my friends. Baked mine 18 minutes exactly in my electric oven at 350 degrees.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snackhound83luvsmel October 20, 2013

Wonderful! Just tried this recipe after seeing it posted on Facebook. I used the spice cake mix and after reading all the reviews, I also made some adjustments. I used 2 Tbl of milk, 1 egg and since I didn't have applesauce, I peeled and minced an apple. I amped up the spices, because I love "fall" spices. Used another tsp of cinnamon and a 1/2 tsp of pumpkin spice. Threw in a handful of raisins, too! I also used my electric beater and an ice cream scoop, as it is a very thick and stiff batter. I cooked them at 325 for 25 minutes. They turned out perfectly. Very moist and held together completely. My husband is not a pumpkin fan, but he inhaled one as soon as they cooled! Happy eating!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joni C. October 06, 2013

These are soooo easy.I had a spice cake mix..aded 1 tsp Pumpkin pie mix and the can of pumpkin..it was so stiff I could barely mix it so I added 1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon of water and they were perfect..next time I will add cranberries and maybe some chopped walnuts..if I can keep my husband out of them long enough I think cream chees glaze will be the finishing touch. My husband just said they are better than the ones I pay 4$ a dozen for and probably healthier!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raindancer1 September 18, 2013

Made these tonight with a yellow cake mix and added 2 tsp. Pumpkin Pie Spice. Batter is dry but keep mixing to get the most lumps of mix out. They don't absorb like regular muffins do because they don't have a lot of liquid in the mix. They are really good. Will try with raisins next time. A light glaze drizzled on top would be good too. Was crazy about texture but tasted good. Husband loved them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynthia H. October 22, 2012

Just made these! Easy and very tasty!!!! The only thing I did differently was add a preportioned cup of applesauce (about 1/3 cup). Very very good and worth trying!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen Ganim October 28, 2012

I used carrot cake mix instead of spice and added raisins, yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmg194 October 07, 2012

Add 3/4 cup of cinnamon chips. Wonderful flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabbygranny November 18, 2011

Very good and easy to make. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore November 14, 2011

So good and easy. Added 3/4 cup choco chip. made 12 muffins at 15 min and 1 small loaf at about 21 min or so. Boys want them again for Thanksgiving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JamminJulie November 13, 2011
2 Ingredient Pumpkin Muffins