Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 2- Handed Kitchen Sink Tomato Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    2- Handed Kitchen Sink Tomato Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2011

      I too am from NC. I grew up eating these sandwiches. You have posted the "PREMO" Southern delicacy! I have to make an admission here, and I wouldn't do it everywhere. I puposely buy white bread for this sandwich.....LOL. These sandwiches are just not at their most with the multi-grains I eat with everything else. I don't know why, other than nostagia, that this should even make a difference, but it does! So, during the summer I do keep a loaf of white bread around. OK, I don't think I can be totally condemned for that....HUH?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      My Savannah, GA born and bred Southern Belle mother made these sandwiches for me when I was little and they are a favorite in our house. My son lived on these sandwiches one summer when he was about 5 and now at 17 still enjoys them. The key is to have sweet summer vine ripened tomatoes still warm from the sun. (80)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This is indeed a classic southern recipe which my family has enjoyed for years and correctly needs to be cited as being plagarized from the late Ernest Matthew Mickler's classic southern cookbook and oral history, White Trash Cooking. The copying is almost verbatim. Ernie was from FL and it twern't no GA boy who first had this recipe. Happily this can be verified using Google Books. Give Ernie the credit he deserves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      I'm from North Carolina, and I'm surprised at how many people I meet that aren't aware of how terrific this sandwich is! If you have any American Cheese on hand, throw a slice of that in the middle and you'll be addicted! For something that sounds so simple, it sure is delicious! (Maybe it's a Southern thing, like Banana and Mayonnaise sandwiches, which must be served on the whitest bread you can find!) I hope more people give Tomato Sandwiches a shot..don't forget the cheese! Teresa

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      yes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

    • on July 14, 2012

      I have had many of these sandwiches since growing up with a dad who would put out a huge garden every year and there always was an abudance of tomatoes. I did as directed (except for chilling the tomato...I think they taste better never chilled) and smiled as I bent over the kitchen sink. Thanks for the a delicious lunch today and a trip down memory lane!! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      So incredibly delicious! Tastes like summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      I was born, raised and still reside in Georgia and this is EXACTLY what happens to the very first tomato off my vines every, single year! This is the food of the GODS! YUM! Do not even try this with a store bought tomato! If you have only had store bought tomatoes make it your life's goal to have a fresh from the farm tomato. It will ruin you for life! = )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      This was always my fave sandwich as a child, best in the summer with big home grown tomatoes for the best taste. I would eat it with miracle whip on white bread and sometimes with onion or cheese on it too. Yummy! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      Delicious! This was also my favorite as a child.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      I live in the mid-west, well Kansas , and grew up eating these sandwiches! I LOVE tomato sandwiches and they are about ALL i eat during the summer! I wanted to add that they are also REALLY good if you lightly toast the bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      I love them they are my summer treat! I didn't even know that other people ate them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      This is just fabulous. I've had this a few times over the last several days, ever since I picked up some lovely tomatoes at a farmer's market. I use mayo not miracle whip. Also, since I have tons of fresh basil growing in my window garden, I added some of that. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Oh. My. God. This is a time honored summer classic in my family. Tomatoes still warm from the sun, fresh coarsely ground black pepper and if you are really lucky, bread fresh out of the oven. I wish I had some fresh tomatoes right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      This has been my favorite sandwich all of my like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      the only thing I do different --I love this sammich- is use whole wheat bread---this year's garden is absolutely loaded with tomatoes, so my bread, mayo, pepper and knife are just waiting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      One of the best things in life during the summer is a sandwich made with fresh garden tomatoes! I love it with lots of salt and pepper. I grew up eating these, but my children think it's gross. Hey, I'm not complaining - that's just more tomato sandwiches for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      This doesnt sound like much but once you eat it you will be eating more and more. My mom used to eat these and I never understood it till now. Being prego it actually sounded good so I gave it a try and wow! I could eat these everyday! They are even better on toast I have to add. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Love Love Love this - it was also my go to sandwich when I was pregnant

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 2- Handed Kitchen Sink Tomato Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.7
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    10%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 264.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes