Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 2-Alarm Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    2-Alarm Chili

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      This is really great Texas chili (no beans allowed). Years ago we used to buy the Wick Fowler's 2 alarm chili mix and I also measured all the ingredients to re-create it without the mix. At the time, my kids were pretty young, and found it a bit too spicy. This chili has to have spice, but I modified it just a bit and they still love it that way today. I add an extra can of tomato sauce, and cut the chili powder to 1/3 cup, cumin to 1 tsp, cayenne red pepper to 1/2 tsp. Try it either way, you'll like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      I found this chili quite a few months ago and forgot to review it. It was the first chili I've ever made, and I don't see any reason why it shouldn't also be the last. It is quick, easy, spicy enough for my husband, and mild enough for me. With the addition of kidney beans, it makes an excellent meal; and without them, it makes an awesome hot dog/hamburger chili. I am also planning on making as a dip for a baby shower this weekend. And, if I ever find anywhere else to use a chili, this will be it. Needless to say, I really, really like it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I have been cooking with Wick Fowler's for some time. Now that I found this recipe, I have tweaked it to my liking. Just a teaspoon or two extra of red pepper(depending on how much beer I have in the fridge). I usually make it and take it to work and share with my coworkers. They love it! My wife and kids aren't so crazy about it though, too spicy for them. Too bad, they don't know what they're missing. Makes the best chili I've ever had. I also like to cup up stew meat instead of using ground beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      We tried this over the weekend and the kids claim it to be the perfect chili dog chili. In other words, they liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      I love the "Wick Fowler's 2-Alarm Chili" mix, and was looking for a list of ingredients to replicate it at lower cost. Yours is close, but missing a few of the items that come in the box, namely Oregano and Salt. You also replaced the garlic with garlic salt (which probably explains the lack of salt). Disappointing that it's not a true match for the original, but probably makes a decent chili.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I love this chili, I also add canned chopped tomatoes and canned light red kidney beans. It's the best chili around!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      This was fast and easy to assemble and cook. I had dinner on the table in a hurry. I made it vegetarian by replacing the meat with black and pinto beans. (Yes I like beans in my chili! LOL!) I cut back a bit on the chili powder and the red pepper. I didn't have the masa harina, so using scissors I minced a corn tortilla and simmered it with all the other ingredients. This was a very flavorful dish that I served with Easy Dinner Rolls. I plan to have chili tacos for lunch today! Thanks for sharing your recipe Kim!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2003

      I've been making wick fowlers recipe for about ten years. I use stew beef and extend the cooking times by several hours. I like it spicy hot, so I add way more red pepper and red pepper flakes.Usually I will chop up several hot peppers and toss those in too. I do add beans though,they go much better with solid meat. I cook this when I'm camping with about 15 hungry men. Nothing but Thank you's and way-to-go's

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      This was good. I always have those spices on hand so there is no reason to buy the pre-packaged stuff anymore. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      I've been a big fan of Wick Fowlers since the mid 1980's. Thanks for doing the measurements. I have used this recipe many times and all love it. I do add a can of diced tomatoes, pinto beans and a chopped onion, bell pepper and a stalk of celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Thanks for the 2-Alarm Chili recipe. I had planned chili for supper. To my surprise I had not restocked my pantry. In my panic I went to the computer and found your recipe. Me and my family thourghly enjoyed your recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      This is the only chili spice mix that I like so now I can make it for a fraction of the cost...thanks so much for this. We can now enjoy chili as much as we would like to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Thanks for posting this recipe. We have used it a number of times and it has always been a hit. We have used ground chicken just because we try not to eat beef too much. I usually saute onions, garlic and poblanos. I also add canned beans and tomatoes. I realize this is not how they serve it in Texas, but we like it. I also like using my pressure cooker to speed things up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This is the first time we have had chili without beans. The guys where wondering if I forgot them. I liked that it had a spicy taste but it was not hot. Made for *Zaar Cookbooks Tag 2009* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      we used to get these sent from the states to the uk until our friends moved...so now we have a diy version which is great! a mean chili

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      This was pretty good. Made a big batch in my crockpot a couple of weeks ago. Only changes was to add a big can of crushed tomatoes, and to omit the masa harina. Also used fresh onions. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      This was my first attempt at Texas chile and sorry to say that I wasn't that impressed. I was concerned about the spiciness as DH isn't really big on spicy so I toned it down a bit by adding an extra 1/2 can of tomato paste and only added 2 1/2 teaspoons cumin, 3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper and somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2 cup chili powder (I don't know how much exactly. I measured out 1/3 cup and only had a little left in the bottle so I threw the rest in too.) The spiciness was just right for us that way and overall the flavor of the sauce was really good. But it's still just hamburger in a good sauce and neither of us could convince ourselves that that was a food you could just pour into a bowl and eat with a spoon and really enjoy. It seemed like it should be a sauce for something, not the main course itself. This may actually be the ideal chili for chili dogs (it's the perfect consistency for it) and DH thought he would like it served like sloppy joes, but we're out of hamburger buns at the moment so we couldn't do it that way tonight. If I make this again I will definately be subbing stew meat for the hamburger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      My husband and his family are great chili cooks. I used your recipe and made some changes based on who came over. Now its the most requested chili recipe in my family. I usually serve cornbread, cheese and sour cream on the side. I also make a jalapeno salsa for those who really want to increase the heat. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      LOVED this chili! My husband has been on me for years to find a chili recipe without beans - and this one may have finally shut him up. It's nice and spicy, but not *crazy* spicy. It could easily be tamed down by cutting back on the red pepper and/or the chili powder just a little bit. We loaded up the top with a mound of sour cream, some chopped green onions and a smattering of shredded mild cheddar and it was sinfully good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      I just posted a review of this recipe that wasn't complete. I didn't rate it...oops...and I didn't say everything I wanted to. This is perfect Texas Chili. I use this recipe all the time. I usually use fresh chopped green onion which I brown with the meat. This is even better the second day..if you're fortunate enough to have leftovers! It's great served with cornbread sticks or muffins and a green salad. I use sour cream & grated monterey jack cheese to garnish the chili. I will make this dish again & again & again.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 2-Alarm Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.7
     
    Calories from Fat 225
    57%
    Total Fat 25.0 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 102.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 409.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 30.5 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites