Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 1960 Original Kentucky Buttermilk Biscuit Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1960 Original Kentucky Buttermilk Biscuit

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2009

      Oh wow! These are sooo good. I've been searching for a great biscuit recipe and this is it! Thanks so much for sharing! -I didn't have baking powder so i used an extra 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp cream of tartar. I actually threw in another 1/4 tsp baking soda(I like tall biscuits :)), making it 1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp cream of tartar. They are fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Made this for our Sunday breakfast today. Used the vinegar in the milk trick, pulsed the dry ingredients in the food processor, used butter as suggested by another reviewer, added the milk and patted the whole works into a Pam-sprayed 9x9 pan. Scored it into portions and baked about 20 minutes until nice and golden. Served with home-style gravy. Will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled with garlic powder. great biscuits. Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      First I would like to say, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE. These biscuits are truly great tasting, and quite easy to make. I substituted 1/4C low-fat butter for 1/4C shortening; and the biscuits are amazing. Melt in your mouth, not in your hands! They will go great served by themselves or with some gravy for a great breakfast. p.s. The smell when they were ready was beautiful. Reminded me so much of home when my mother would make breakfast on Sunday. Called my girlfriend immediately and raved about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Very nice flavor. So easy to put together. But the crust is on the hard side. Not sure if it was me or the recipe though. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This was the best biscuit ever, and I've been making biscuits for fifty years.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Who knew it was so easy to make great biscuits? Thanks for sharing this gem!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This is a great biscuit recipe!!!! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      We rejoiced with this biscuit recipe. So good, and so wonderful slathered with homemade grape jam. I needed to find a great biscuit recipe, and found it. I followed this precisely, even using my older pastry cutter to mix the exact cup of shortening into the dry ingredients. I just made sure the shortening was really mixed in, but not over mixed, the same held true with the buttermilk addition. To much over mixing produces bricks, but in this case they were light, fluffy and scrumptious. Will use this quite often, I can see on Sunday mornings this will bring everybody to the farm. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      I've never been able to make good home made biscuits until today. I made these and went by the recipe but used 1/4 cup of butter in place of the shortening. They were awesome!! They were light and flaky and looked like the picture. My husband loved them. I will make these again most defiantly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      I LOVE this recipe! I tried several biscuit recipes, with no success. They were cakey, heavy, too complicated, just blah! But, the first time I made these, I felt like a real southern cook! (Finally!) These are just the right combination of soft, chewy and firm. And they are so simple to put together. The only adjustment I have though, is in my oven it only takes about 12 min for them to be fully cooked. Immediately after I take them out I put about a 1/2 pat of butter on each one. After the butter melts I quickly put them in a bowl wrapped in a paper towel. This keeps them nice and soft. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      Still not quite what my husband is looking for, but tender and simple and had more flavor than most biscuit recipes I've tried. I doubled the baking soda and finally got a biscuit that had an acceptable height. I didn't roll and use a biscuit cutter but instead used a cast iron biscuit pan. I think the tops would be better if they were rolled first, cut, and then baked inside the biscuit pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      These biscuits had a wonderful flavor, but turned out a little on the 'hard' side on the outside. They were still very fluffy on the inside, I don't know if it was something that I did, as I haven't made home made from scratch biscuits in over 20 years!!!! (I think that it may have been a cross between the way my oven cooks and the flour that I had on hand) would I make them again? ABSOLUTELY!!!! I still think the recipe deserves 5 stars. next time I make these, I will try some of the variations that I have read in the reviews:) thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

    • on January 26, 2011

      tried these this morning. just like mom used to make. definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

    • on December 18, 2009

      I like recipes that still work after substitutions! I made allergy-friendly changes. I used 2 cups of King Arthur white wheat flour (the final result was a golden biscuit), increased to 1/2 tsp baking soda, replaced 1/4 cup shortening with 1/4 cup coconut oil (solid at room temperature), and substituted in 1 cup coconut milk with 1 tsp vinegar (waited 2 minutes until milk was thicker) for buttermilk. I used a pastry blender to cut in the coconut oil until it looked right. Easy biscuits! Best eaten fresh, or as toasted leftovers. No one cared that these Thanksgiving biscuits were dairy-free and soy-free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I made this recipe on 5/18/08 to go with Betty's Derby Fried Chicken. Because in my opinion you can't have fried chicken without biscuits. Even though the recipe didn't state to sift ,I do that to every biscuit recipe I make.After adding the buttermilk, I discovered that I had to add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup more flour to get the right consistency.Even with double sifting the flour,the biscuits didn't rise as high as I hoped they would. But the taste was pretty good. Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Perhaps I did something wrong,did have new ingredients. But do not remember there biscuit like mine came out.They only raised about a 1/8, But my dh loves his biscuit this way, I perfer light and fully. But than he is from the south.And I do not care for there biscuits. But it's always fun to try something new.Thanks, Ezbee for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I made these last night and they were good. I think my baking powder and soda are not any good so will have to try again. I used whole milk since I don't use enough butter milk to keep it on hand. I also used butter flavored crisco. the dough was very wet and I had to add aobut 1/4 cup more flour of so. I will try again and see what happen when I have new powder and soda. UPDATE: these are really good I made them again last night and used powdered buttermilk mix for hte milk. I will be keeping this one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1960 Original Kentucky Buttermilk Biscuit

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.4
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    34%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 907.1 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes