Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 1950's Hamburger Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1950's Hamburger Goulash

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2014

      Everyone has grown up eating goulash in one form or another. This recipe is a little more time consuming than what my mom used to make, but the bacon does give this dish an added dimension which I really like. A nice "I don't know what to make tonight" meal because most ingredients should already be in your cupboard, fridge or freezer. Another plus is that it only uses one lb of ground beef, but easily feeds a family of four or so. Thanks, Roxy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Very good....i used a can of beef broth and diced tomatoes also in place of water. Used 1 can of tomato paste and added 1/2c. celery. Thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

    • on November 06, 2007

      I've made some near to this recipe before and they were good. The ideas in this one sound GREAT. I plan on making it tonight with the following additions. Substituting beef broth and a can of diced tomatoes for the water and dropping one of the cans of tomato paste. And adding 1/2 cup celery and the center celery leaf stalks and lowering part of the parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Roxygirl, This was one of my favorite meals that my mother would make for us back when I was very young. Being on a very tight waitress's budget raising 3 hungry kids, my mom's cookin was the best in my book. I always looked forward to her Goulash with her homemade Corn Bread. Seeing this recipe brings back alot of great memories. Guess what I am cookin for dinner tonight? Thanks for posting this recipe. Melody A. Lansing,Illinois

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      I enjoyed making this - knowing that it was as Roxygirl had said - an "old-fashioned" recipe! I increased the garlic to 4 cloves (personal taste preference) and used Australian bush tomato (a bottled spice) instead of the tomato paste (because tomato paste always disagrees with me) but otherwise made this exactly to the recipe, including the yummy topping. We all enjoyed it. Eminently freezable, so I'm planning to make it again soon - a double quantity - so that I can stash away some meals in my parents' freezer. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      I forgot, I also added 1cup each grated, cheddar,mozzarella.made it really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      A delicious dish that my whole family loved! I love the addition of the bacon; it really adds a nice flavor. I didn't use the breadcrumbs; I did use the dried parsley and I chopped the green peppers. This is one of my favorite recipes I've found on the Zaar! A definite favorite! Thanks, Roxygirl for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1950's Hamburger Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 518.3
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    44%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 67.2 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1136.6 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites