42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful and so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and the flavor was outstanding. However, towards the end a few things flew in the pot. I poured the scampi mixture onto the pasta mixed it up real well, and then decided I was going to add some basil and oregano, some garlic powder...can't get enough of the garlic:) Lastly, I added about 1/4 c of Parmesan cheese...yummy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evagidov December 15, 2008

Delicious and easy. I took others advice and added more garlic, reduced oil to 1/3 cup and 4 tbsp butter. I did add lemon juice and fresh parsley. My husband loved it - definitely a "keeper" he said. Make sure you have plenty of bread to soak up the sauce-you'll want to get every bite of it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ptpeck July 23, 2007

We have been making this for years and I could never quite get the garlic taste to "stick around" once the pasta was added. Thanks to this recipe I know what we were doing wrong! We were carmelizing our garlic and onions - which for most recipes is great but not this one. This is a go-to favorite in my family. We do add crushed red pepper flakes to kick up the flavor a bit and I added 10 cloves of garlic - we love garlic in our house. Serve with crusty bread and you'll be happy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmshimko October 04, 2008

Delicious!! Following others suggestions, I cut back on the butter, added a few more cloves of garlic, and threw in extra spices and herbs while cooking like parsley, oregano, black pepper and basil. Funny thing is when I was pouring the basil in, I didn't realize it didn't have the cap on it, so a ton came out. I was worried I had ruined it, but it actually made the dish that much more amazing and flavorful. Served with garlic cheese bread. My husband isn't normally much of a shrimp fan, but he couldn't stop talking about how good it was. We do admit it was a bit rich, so you don't want to eat this every night, but for a special occasion, man this is your go-to. Yum!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wbishop26 April 08, 2011

I liked it a lot but would use the full amount of oil next time because I like the pasta to have the "sauce." I added red pepper flakes and some Italian spices. I wouldn't hesitate to add extra garlic too. Next time, I'll use a different pasta though, like a thin spaghetti. Angel hair cooks so fast that I may have overcooked it and a regular spaghetti would have cooked while the shrimp was cooking without adding extra time. I did add a tad amount of Seasoned breadcrumbs to the mix which was nice. Thanks for a very good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala May 25, 2007

I impressed the hubby with this one! I followed directions exactly but added a teaspoon of italian seasoning and a pinch of red pepper flakes for a punch. I served it over whole wheat linguini with a side of green beans and warm bread sticks. My husband said he felt like he had ordered this at a fancy restaurant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabesgirl April 04, 2007

I followed this recipe exactly as it was written. It was extremely easy & really good. I'll definitely be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DGT823 August 26, 2013

giving this 4 and a half stars, based on my husbands opinion only. Unfortunetly I am extremely allergic to shellfis of any type, alas, as well as strawberries (omg, they taste so good too) My husband is a garlic freak, would have preferred more. The only thing differece is he prefers linguine with this. He also said shrimp could could have used a few more seconds. this is his reiew, basically, due to I cannot even handle shrimp, needed his assistance in this, but he wants me to keep recipe, and make more often. I actually made extra extra angel hair, with pomodore sauce for myself, and had with a light garlic toast, I actually loved the way this looked, a very pretty presentation, and if i ate shrimp I would have given it a 5 star, for ease of presentation, etc. Thanks for giving me an easy recipe, which is easy enough for non cooking hubby to help with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunnylove in NEW ENGLAND April 19, 2011

Quick.
Easy.
Natural Ingredients.
"Really Yummy!" (my 7-year old)
"My favorite!" (my 5-year old)
"Nummy Delicious!" (my 3-year old)
Definitely a 5-star recipe. All I had on had was 2 cans of tiny shrimp, but they worked perfectly. Topped it all with Parmesan. Mmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny's Diner February 26, 2011

This is a perfect basic scampi recipe. I just added some diced red bell pepper and parmesan cheese. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Geoff in New Orleans December 07, 2010
15 Minute Shrimp Scampi