9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My favorite Christmas present was always a jar of homemade chili sauce from DH's aunt. After she died, I did look at recipes, but they all involved canning large amounts. I made half of this recipe and let it simmer 30 minutes, while I finished cooking the rest of dinner. Well, I had an early Christmas present, this time from Poker! This "quickie" version tasted as good if not better than Aunt Monnie's. Thanks for a "new" family treasure!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac October 20, 2002

This was very good, except I added about a teaspoon of vinegar and not that much salt. I also cut down a little bit on the spices. All in all, it was really great. I will definatly make it again. Thelma Louise

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thelma Louise May 12, 2003

Very nice sauce. I deviated however by using a submersion blender and making it smooth. I am going to try it on a ham.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gregsteffen March 11, 2008

This was wonderful! I used it in Richie's Turkey Meatloaf I am so thrilled to know now that I don't need to buy a store brand anymore. I did add a dash of hot sauce to give it a kick :) Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. January 23, 2008

I was making a recipe that called for 12 oz. of chili sauce,but I only had 4, so I made this recipe. It was very, very good, alot better than the bought kind. I did reduce the salt to 1 tsp. and I used diced plum tomatoes. They didn't break down well, so I processed half of it and mixed it back in. It is nice and thick and tastes great. Thanks Poker.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda in Winnipeg May 05, 2005

Just what I was looking for! I just wanted enough to use in a recipe - I wasn't planning to can all day! Flavorful, and delicious - the perfect recipe in my opinion. Only change I made was to use tomato sauce instead of canned tomatoes. Definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou April 30, 2005

The stores were closed on Thanksgiving, so I couldn't get chili sauce in a jar to add to my cranberry meatballs. We made this instead, and it was good and quick. We added it to the recipe, and it was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxy5 November 27, 2004

Had a lot of tomatoes from my two bushes this year. Used up a lot of the not so pretty ones making this sauce. Great recipe. My freezer is temporarily full of chili sauce! It won't last long thought.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach August 27, 2009

I used a variety of fresh tomatoes and guessed at the amount that might be equivalent to a 28 ounce can. I added less cinnamon, allspice and cloves to start and liked the flavor that resulted. So much quicker and easier than the recipes I've used in the past.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 September 04, 2006
15 Minute Chili Sauce