Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 15 Layer Russian Honey Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    15 Layer Russian Honey Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2008

      I am Russian myself, now live in America. So... I grew up with that cake and I have a few other cakes that I will publish on here, that are just so good as well. Anyway this one can also have a lemon peel for a ground layer and chocholate on the top as well as different nuts, The sower cream should be thick to begine with . before you add suger to it. So in Russia we let it hang and get read of water by putting it in a fabric over night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      This turned out wonderful. I am a Russian and grew up with this cake, but over the years lost my recipe. This cake is quite tricky - if something is not right, it will be hard as a rock! This one came out perfect! My American husband's family liked it a lot. The only thing - HOW did the author get 15 layers??? I rolled the dough really thin, but still had to make another batch. Thank you so much for coming up with this recipe! There are some recipes of it on the web, but this one is for sure the best one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      The recipe is awesome. I am russian myself and the cake turned out really well. Similar to my mum's honey cake.I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough.Thank you very much for the recipe. It reminded me of my childhood. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      This cake is delicious! However, not being a baker I made the process more simple. I spread the dough out while still warm on 2 cookie sheets lined with wax paper to bake. When cooled I cut each sheet into three to form a 6 layer rectangular cake. The rest of the recipe I followed exaxtly. I didn't look as impressice as the 15 layer round yet it was so...good. My husband is russian and loved it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      Thank you VERY MUCH for this. I live abroad now and remember making this cake when I was young in Ukraine. Since then, forgot the recepie and could not find it anywhere. IT IS EXACTLY how me and my mum used to make it so VERY AUTHENTIC. the only thing I should mention - ensure that you put ALOT of filling in between so the cake soaks it up and becomes softer. Thank you again. Jana

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      This took several hours to make and came out funny looking (I transfered the circles onto the pan before baking which stretched and distorted their shape- remember to cut the circles ON the pan). I covered the rather big messy cake with strawberries and while it looked less pretty than my usual creations - IT WAS THE BEST CAKE I HAVE EVER MADE!!!! The strawberries were a really nice touch with the sweetened sour cream. Within 10 minutes of serving, there was NOTHING left of it. All the other cakes I bought/made were left over and this one was devoured. A MUST try!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      This recipe is great. It turned out very well. Easy and Tasty. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Excellent! You've saved me those 6 months of research--it only took me an hour to find this! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

    • on August 10, 2007

      This cake is a MUST TRY! It has such an unusual and delightful taste and texture, that it disappeared within minutes at my housewarming party! This repice is top-notch, didn't have to change a thing. If you're looking to impress your family and friends with cuisine that is out of the ordinary, this is the perfect cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Fantastic, just fantastic! First time I tried to make this, I boiled the dough and it seemed like it needed extra flour, so I added some. That came out dry, I didn't want to eat it. I was told it tasted great though! It was time-consuming! So I decided to try this recipe again, You know how boring it might be to make the same recipe over again heh:), and I'm glad I did! I didn't add even a bit of flour this time, even if it seemed to be too sticky, and pushed the approx 2 tbls portions flat in table covered with flower turned it twice or so and rolled. Kneading make it harder to roll, and that we don't want. I tried to roll rounds , but i good irregular shape layers, but that was fun also. I did not cut those, and when placing the baked layers on top of each other, when making the cake, I intentionally situated those misaligned. I also didn't use walnuts, but grounded the condensed milk flavored biscuits and used those. The final result was high cake with lots of layers and artful looking. Not to forget, sooo tasty! Close ones loved it too!!! It tasted the same as we can buy from the store here, but was more royal because of the height! Thanks vey much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      The best honey cake I've had! You can buy them everywhere here in Russia, but this one is special. Used very heavy sour cream, and it managed to be rich and light at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      Oh my god.... I love you!!!! I've been looking for the recipe for this cake for ages. Thanks so much for sharing!! I will let you know how it turns out. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      My boyfriend being Russian, I decided to try to make something familiar. Unfortunatley I can't shape dough, however it turned out to be the most DELICIOUS desserts I have ever made in my life. My boyfriend was QUITE impressed and wound up eating just about the entire cake! i will definately be making this once again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 15 Layer Russian Honey Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.4
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    51%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 46.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 183.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    plain sweet biscuit crumbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites