Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 15 Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    15 Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2010

      i cook this all the time. This was a great recipe but i suggest that you soak the beans overnight in chicken broth with a package of onion soup mix and two bay leaves. The beans swell and soak up the broth and seasoning. i also suggest that you brown hot italian links removed from casing and add that to the beans the last 30 minutes of cooking. cook them also in chicken broth instead of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Excellent recipe. To enhance this recipe I used 2-10oz. diced tomatoes with green chilies in lieu of the tomatoes indicated in the recipe. Add tomatos at the last 15 minutes of cooking time otherwise the acidic nature reduces cooking time and I don't like what it does to the beans. Used more garlic and celery. Used 2 ham bones and 2 smoked ham shanks - the meat was very flavorful. Included a whole peeled potato - halved - during one hour of the cooking time (reduces the flatulence). Toss the potato and DON'T even think about eating it. You could have stomach upset. That's it for the big tips. Hope you find them helpful. Oh and because of the smoked shanks, I didn't even need to add salt - which if you do want to salt it - do at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Great dish! I made a vegetarian version, without the ham. (Note: I doubled the recipe, because I had a 2lb bag of beans.) Add two tbsp of vegetable Better Than Boullion paste to the water when cooking (it makes a broth). I also added about a tablespoon of curry powder and used two tablespoons tomato paste instead of tomatoes. Salt to taste. After it was done, I added a tablespoon of nutritional yeast flakes. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      I love this recipe! However, I would like to point out that it tastes wonderful (and is better for you; no saturated fats) by taking out the meat, and highly recommend it. The flavoring packet is perfectly fine to use and for those of us who are Vegetarians, it is Vegan friendly. It tastes as if you are eating meat...what gives it the best flavor is NOT the meat, but the wonderful vegetables, tomatoes, beans, onions and seasonings. Many of the reviewers are attributing it's wonderful flavor to the meat, but had they tried it without, they would know they're giving credit to the wrong source. For the renaissance festival, I buy a round sourdough bread, take a knife, and cut a circle around the bottom to scoop out the innards and form a bowl, into which the bean soup is poured into. Then I top it off with chives and cheddar cheese. :) My family has asked to eat it again and again, and the leftovers are always gone the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      This is a very hearty, thick, comforting soup. I used ham hocks and I think sauteing them was the key to more flavor here. We liked the addition of tomatoes too. Nicely seasoned, and very easy to make. I was very happy with the way this turned out. Very good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      This soup is really good I may update later and rate as 5 I have larangitus so my taste sence is not all there. I soaked beans overnight completed steps 2-5 - Brought to a boil then put in a crock pot. I grated up a carrot and put in. I did not add salt until tender as salt prevents beans from getting tender as soon as they could have otherwise. I cooked on high for 1 1/2 hours and when I noticed it was boiling I put on low for 2 hours as I wanted for lunch. I put in salt and ate. The beans were all tender. Oh I did not use the season package that came with the beans and instead of chicken bouillion cube i used chicken flavored better than boullion. Since recipe made so much I only made half of recipe<br/><br/>UPDATE: forgot to return. so good served over quinoa used smoked ham (KInd with lots of meat on it) used fast cook method similar to recipe only difference after boiling I let simmer an hour instead of letting sit 1 hour. So yummy must remember to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      This is what's for dinner tonight.I have made this both ways,with and without ham and I have to say the favorite way is with.I have used turkey ham and just as good.I always serve it with cornbread,omg this is comfort food.Especially on a snowy night like we are having right now.No matter how you make it it is sure to hit the spot.Everyone likes it.Thank you for this one fellow Cajun.I have moved up north but still have my southern food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      I made this last night using up our ham bone from the holiday. We liked it very much. I especially liked the addition of rosemary, very tasty. I served this with mexican cornbread and it was a very hearty meal. I did add some chopped up ham and diced carrots, otherwise followed your directions. Thank you for sharing, delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      I brought my beans to a quick boil and let them soak over night. Next time
      I may try deasters recommendation of flavoring the soaking liquid. But even without, this soup was very good. I was afraid I may have ruined it because I put in 1 tablespoon of rosemary, instead of 1 teaspoon. But you couldn't tell, because it still tasted great. I did add extra garlic as well, but we love garlic so I always double what ever amount of garlic a recipe calls for. Everyone in the family enjoyed this. I served it with biscuits and tossed salad. It was the perfect meal for a cool day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      My family really enjoyed this soup. I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Whole family loved this soup!! I had never made a 15 bean soup and was so thrilled with the result. Followed the directions exactly, except I added some beef smoked sausage. Thank you for a hearty, healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Yum Yum Yum. We loved this soup. I used two ham hocks and two cans of mexican diced tomatoes. My soup did not come with a spice packet. I added cajun seasoning, liquid smoke and crushed pepper along with the spices listed. It was hands down the best bean soup I ever tasted. I will definitely be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      There's nothing I like better than good soup, and this one was great! I didn't have any ham hocks or a ham bone, so I used some diced pieces of ham. I also used vegetable bouillon rather than chicken bouillon. Such an easy recipe to prepare, yet it is filled with so much flavor. It's the best 15-bean soup I've made, and we'll be having it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Fantatic recipe! All of the seasoning melds together and the ham adds that rich layer of flavor. I used a meaty hambone, and removed it before adding the seasoning packet. I shredded the ham and returned it back to the soup before serving. Served with cornbread, and I was in heaven. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I absolutely loved this recipe. I didn't have any ham hocks, so instead I used some leftover cooked bacon and German sausage from earlier in the week (a small amount of each), a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes, and added a green bell pepper diced (since I was using the Cajun blend, I wanted the Cajun holy trinity of veggies-onion, bell pepper, celery). I also cooked in the crock pot. I put the beans in early in the morning, turned on high for 4 hours, then added all the other ingredients and cooked for an additional 2-3 hours on high. Came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Great recipe, I soaked the beans over night and used ham and the ham bone left over from the holidays that I had in the freezer and I cooked it in a slow cooker. The wife really liked it and is already making suggestions on how to make different versions of your recipe. The best part.... she didn't have to cook! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Very good. This is the first time I ever had a 15 bean soup. The only changes I made was to use stewed tomatoes instead of the whole and chicken granules instead of the cube as that was what I had hand. Otherwise I kept to the recipe. This made a huge pot and I have several individual size bowls cooling to freeze. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This is another recipe I forgot to rate. I've made it several times and it has become a family favorite. I add worcestershire sauce, thyme, and beef broth. The beans I buy don't come with a seasoning packet but the soup is super without it. Thanks for sharing a true keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This was a really good soup. I didn't have any 15 bean mix, so I used what I had on hand, I think it wound up being 9 or 10 beans. REALLY easy, I did everything in the crock pot, after sauteeing the hambone and vegetables. I made it for a New Year's Day party we had, everyone loved it and I had a request for the recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 15 Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 45.3
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    59%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 204.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    15 bean soup mix

    ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes