51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i cook this all the time. This was a great recipe but i suggest that you soak the beans overnight in chicken broth with a package of onion soup mix and two bay leaves. The beans swell and soak up the broth and seasoning. i also suggest that you brown hot italian links removed from casing and add that to the beans the last 30 minutes of cooking. cook them also in chicken broth instead of water.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deaster December 28, 2010

Excellent recipe. To enhance this recipe I used 2-10oz. diced tomatoes with green chilies in lieu of the tomatoes indicated in the recipe. Add tomatos at the last 15 minutes of cooking time otherwise the acidic nature reduces cooking time and I don't like what it does to the beans. Used more garlic and celery. Used 2 ham bones and 2 smoked ham shanks - the meat was very flavorful. Included a whole peeled potato - halved - during one hour of the cooking time (reduces the flatulence). Toss the potato and DON'T even think about eating it. You could have stomach upset. That's it for the big tips. Hope you find them helpful. Oh and because of the smoked shanks, I didn't even need to add salt - which if you do want to salt it - do at the end.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Mac January 01, 2013

Great dish! I made a vegetarian version, without the ham. (Note: I doubled the recipe, because I had a 2lb bag of beans.) Add two tbsp of vegetable Better Than Boullion paste to the water when cooking (it makes a broth). I also added about a tablespoon of curry powder and used two tablespoons tomato paste instead of tomatoes. Salt to taste. After it was done, I added a tablespoon of nutritional yeast flakes. Yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ri March 08, 2012

I love this recipe! However, I would like to point out that it tastes wonderful (and is better for you; no saturated fats) by taking out the meat, and highly recommend it. The flavoring packet is perfectly fine to use and for those of us who are Vegetarians, it is Vegan friendly. It tastes as if you are eating meat...what gives it the best flavor is NOT the meat, but the wonderful vegetables, tomatoes, beans, onions and seasonings. Many of the reviewers are attributing it's wonderful flavor to the meat, but had they tried it without, they would know they're giving credit to the wrong source. For the renaissance festival, I buy a round sourdough bread, take a knife, and cut a circle around the bottom to scoop out the innards and form a bowl, into which the bean soup is poured into. Then I top it off with chives and cheddar cheese. :) My family has asked to eat it again and again, and the leftovers are always gone the next day.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Aerialrose August 15, 2007

This is a very hearty, thick, comforting soup. I used ham hocks and I think sauteing them was the key to more flavor here. We liked the addition of tomatoes too. Nicely seasoned, and very easy to make. I was very happy with the way this turned out. Very good!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz March 29, 2003

This soup is really good I may update later and rate as 5 I have larangitus so my taste sence is not all there. I soaked beans overnight completed steps 2-5 - Brought to a boil then put in a crock pot. I grated up a carrot and put in. I did not add salt until tender as salt prevents beans from getting tender as soon as they could have otherwise. I cooked on high for 1 1/2 hours and when I noticed it was boiling I put on low for 2 hours as I wanted for lunch. I put in salt and ate. The beans were all tender. Oh I did not use the season package that came with the beans and instead of chicken bouillion cube i used chicken flavored better than boullion. Since recipe made so much I only made half of recipe<br/><br/>UPDATE: forgot to return. so good served over quinoa used smoked ham (KInd with lots of meat on it) used fast cook method similar to recipe only difference after boiling I let simmer an hour instead of letting sit 1 hour. So yummy must remember to make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady August 18, 2013

I absolutely loved this recipe. I didn't have any ham hocks, so instead I used some leftover cooked bacon and German sausage from earlier in the week (a small amount of each), a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes, and added a green bell pepper diced (since I was using the Cajun blend, I wanted the Cajun holy trinity of veggies-onion, bell pepper, celery). I also cooked in the crock pot. I put the beans in early in the morning, turned on high for 4 hours, then added all the other ingredients and cooked for an additional 2-3 hours on high. Came out perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ezrinjaz March 08, 2010

Fabulous soup! I've made it twice now. The first time; it was made as directed, using country ham hocks. The second time I used only Great Northern beans and a luscious ham bone from Christmas dinner (with plenty of meat still attached). I also subsituted carrots for the celery the second time. I enjoyed the second one more, I think just because there are some varieties of beans in the 15 bean mix that I don't care for. I'm sure this is great with or without the meat, but I loves me some ham, so for me, it's staying in there. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. January 14, 2009

This is a great soup. Only, watch out for the flavor packet that it comes with. It contains MSG, under the name of hydrolyzed soy protein (anything hydrolyzed or autolyzed contains free glutamate). It is a great soup without the flavor packet. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylee7978 January 12, 2009

A friend made beans for me onetime and had added a can of tomato paste ,It was FANTASTIC! I never cook beans now without tomato paste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue G. January 25, 2015
15 Bean Soup