12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this mixture, it's not exactly like KFC but it's delicious. I also found it to be a little too sweet for my liking the first time I tried it so I put a tablespoon of brown sugar and a tablespoon of salt into the mix and it's just right. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jez79 July 09, 2010

you got some things right like some of the spices, but mostly this recipe is wrong. firstly, you have to add eggs to the chicken so the mixture can stick to it so why didnt you include that. secondly, the spice mixture doesnt taste strong at all like KFC's, so im guessing theres an error in the mixing quantities.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chilifarmer July 18, 2006

This is missing ONE key ingredient. A couple of weekends ago I made my version of Panera Bread's Fuji Apple chicken salad (still perfecting the dressing - but close). In preparing everything and taking my first bite, the grilled chicken said a hint of KFC original recipe!

OK... here's the skinny. I seasoned the organic chicken breast with Lawry's garlic salt, McCormick's onion salt, McCormick's Garlic Pepper and drum roll... McCormick's Ground Cardamom (a new $10 spice I bought after hearing it so often on cooking shows).

It HAS to be the cardamom. I've cooked with the others for YEARS and nothing remotely close to KFC. Now, I'm curious to find the 11 and try fried chicken. I worked @ KFC as a teen and the original is cooked in oil a closed pressure cooker, so I'll try it with my FryDaddy.

I have not tried this recipe and most reviews say it's not KFC. Try some combination that includes Cardamom. The spice itself, when you taste it gives nothing away regarding what it becomes when used with other spices and cooked. It tastes like Earl Gray tea/bergamot, actually.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
munchster October 10, 2010

My tailgate party was great with this recipe. My guests are KFC fans so they were hard to please, but this did the trick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
24australia September 23, 2009

We give this a 4 star for taste using your recipe, but only 3 star for tasting like KFC chicken. Meaning a 3.5 star from us.. Thanks. We will use this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shadows February 05, 2009

This was so easy and tasted awesome! I didn't use the sugar and tried it on thighs and boneless skinless breast. It did taste much better on the thighs. I dipped the chicken in an egg/milk mixture first, then coated and then baked. Very tasty and similar to Shake and Bake, but without any added chemicals.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead March 17, 2008

We don't think this tastes like KFC but we absolutely loved it anyway! I used the spice mixture on chicken thighs which I baked and basted with butter...mmmm! I didn't have any trouble with the mixture sticking to my chicken; maybe because I rinsed the chicken first so it was wet or maybe the baking made it stick more than frying would. Very flavorful. We're saving this one, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin March 23, 2007

I loved the spice mix, but next time will leave the brown sugar out when I fry my chicken. It just gave it an unnecessary sweetness I thought. My family was crazy about this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom August 29, 2005

The spices are quite wonderful but I didn`t find them to taste like Kfc`s. I did coat the chicken then dipped into an egg and buttermilk mixture then back into the spice / flour mixture for a thicker crust. I think some cornmeal added to the flour would give it more of a crunch. It did brown quick so use small pieces of chicken. This would be great on fish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 22, 2005

i love the 11 herbs and spices lol thanks for sharing the secret lol dee

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. August 19, 2005
11 Secret Herbs and Spices( Kfc Copycat)