Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Wheat Muffins

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2010

      These came out great! I used Hodgson Mill 100% stone ground whole wheat flour, Eggland's Best large eggs, Lactaid fat free milk, Sugar in the Raw turbinado sugar (instead of brown sugar, as I didn't have any), Smart Balance Omega oil (instead of butter) and added 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Only had to bake for 15 minutes and made exactly a dozen in my 36 year old aluminum muffin pan sprayed with canola oil. Served wtih apricot All Fruit and I was a happy, healthy breakfast eater!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      These are perfect breakfast muffins as they are not sweet and are perfect for a bit of jam!! I added some fresh blueberries in mine and they came out real tasty!! Used regular brown sugar and low-fat milk. Thanks Annacia! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Very light texture for being whole wheat (I used WW Pastry flour) and I can think of several add-ins that would go well with these (dried cherries or diced dried apricots, for starters). I topped mine with some sliced almonds before baking. If you are looking for a sticky, sweet muffin, this isn't it, but just the right amount of sweetness for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This is a really GREAT Receipe!. I tweaked it a little bit. I added 3 sliced bananas, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon powder, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, 2 tablespoons of honey, 1 cup of almond milk instead of regular milk and garnished the top of the muffins with dried cranberries. Ultimate energy breakfast muffin!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Very good! I followed the recipe with the addition of raisins. These are not sweet so don't be expecting that, but you could add all kinds of things to this recipe, or spread jam on them. They're good with coffee. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Excellent basic whole wheat muffin recipe. Made exactly according to recipe and they rose very nicely. I can't say that there were overly moist nor were they too dry. Not a big fan of 100% whole wheat anything so the next time I'll add some raisins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      These seemed to rise right in the pan b4 I put them in the oven! Whole wheat doesn't rise very well, so I flled the cups almost full and got 10. They were a bit salty, but that may be bcz I forgot to put the final 1 T of brown sugar in. I can see these would be good for add ins, like apple, cinnamon, raisins, etc. etc. Light tasting (and they didn't FEEL heavy either.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      I thought these came out a little firm. (Maybe I baked them too long?) My babies love them, though, so I can't complain. Next time I think I'll add some Craisins as someone else suggested. Or maybe a little dollop of jelly on top before baking would be a nice addition -- make them like PB&J muffins. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      These reminded me more of biscuits than muffins. I actually forgot to add the butter but they still tasted good. I added frozen blueberries to the mix along with a dash of vanilla and cinnamon. I put on lots of butter after they cooked. Also because they're not sweet, the suggestion to slather on jelly/jam is a great idea. I will definitely make these again as they are quick and easy to change up to your own taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      I think the recipe has great potential, but I don't think it's all that great. My boyfriend couldn't eat more than a couple of bites because he said they were bland. I also try to avoid white sugar when I can, so I'm going to keep looking for another whole wheat muffin recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      I also pureed spinach and blueberries (also tried other berries as well) and added sunflower seeds and just a bit of mini chocolate chips as well as some vanilla and almond extract (I skipped adding the milk since I had a few cups of pureed fruit and vegetables). I call them "grinch muffins" because they are a deep green/blue color. They look strange, but if you give them a fun name, the kids love them. You can actually pack tons of spinach into one muffin. I'm finding this recipe to be really versatile.

      I also made a batch without the milk and instead pureed some onion, mushrooms, and tomatoes together with some onion and garlic powder. The muffins tasted like stuffing. It was great!

      This recipe is a real winner when it comes to good as-is or tweak by subbing the milk with a couple cups of pureed fruit and/or vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Easy and delicious! As others have noted, not too sweet, which is perfect for me. I used organic whole wheat flour, 3 TBs of coconut palm sugar plus one TB of Splenda for the sweetener, 2% organic milk, Pete & Gerry's organic eggs (room temp), and topped with some toasted walnut pieces. (I'm a big fan of butter, so left that alone.) I baked these in a non-stick, large size muffin tin for 20 minutes as instructed. Perfect! Looking for to experimenting with dried and fresh berries and a dash or two of spice(s).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Very tasty and as others said not too sweet. Here's how you can make your life more fun- Add in one shredded sweet apple and 3 tablespoons of chocolate chips. I also added a little more milk b/c my batter was too dry. Add in 1/2 tbs of cinnamon and 1 tsp of ground cardamon. They came out DELICIOUS!! The extras I mentioned only add 20 calls per muffin and make them taste un-boring. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      These were gross. They had an eggy, baking powder taste. Luckily I made an orange glaze to top them off. I doused them in the glaze just to get them down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      good, tasted like a piece of whole wheat bread.....would be really good with butter & honey. I drizzled a bit of honey on them before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      I was not impressed. It was a little dry with not a lot 'meat.'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Hubby hated these, wouldn't even finish one, and I don't mind them for a healthy snack. Next time I'll definitely add cranraisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I'm sorry but I was very disappointed in these muffins. To me, they not only lacked flavor but were also extremely dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Great muffins! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      GREAT! I made these with 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup barley flour for a wonderful mild whole grain muffin! I also used the Splenda brown sugar option. These were so easy and adaptable and are great spread with some butter and jam or honey. YUM! Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Wheat Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.8
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    45%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 38.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 277.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes