Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Wheat Low Fat Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Wheat Low Fat Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I made some of the whole wheat pancakes this morning for myself (just to try it out before I made it for my whole family) and they turned out pretty good! I kinda tweaked the recipe though, and added about 6 dashes of nutmeg and 4 dashes of cinnamon. I also threw in 6 drops of agave nectar for sweetness. They tasted delicious but I'm gonna add more nutmeg next time. I ate the pancakes with some apricot jam on top and I was good to go! Thanks, LuckyMomof3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      These were quite good! I added about 1/4 cup flax meal in place of the flour. My DH usually complains when I do this, but he didn't even notice. The sweetness of the pancakes is great for adding additional grain types. I'll probably play around with this in the future, but it's a very good base recipe. I topped with a blueberry/splenda topping, and it was fantastic. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Though these pancakes are more like a breakfast bread for me, I think they are delicious. This recipe is a great example of how yummy whole wheat can be!
      The recipe is very sturdy, meaning you can make changes as you wish and the outcome tends to be pretty similar.
      I personally used 1 c of skim milk and 1 c of vanilla flavored coconut milk, just to add some different nutrition to these cakes.
      I added 2 T of ground flax meal, which adds to the density of this recipe-if you don't like the denser pancake, I wouldn't add the flax.
      I also used 2 egg whites instead of one egg.
      Last but not least, I used a brown sugar substitute instead of regular sugar. It makes the pancakes a bit darker.

      With a little bit of butter and syrup (I used sugar free) these really taste like a "regular" pancake. Yummmmmm.....this is a good one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      For some reason I never have much luck with pancakes. These turned out GREAT! I wanted a whole wheat recipe for my kids. They turned out fluffy and tasty. I am going to freeze some to stick in the toaster for quick breakfasts. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      These pancakes are amazing - better than restaurant quality and taste! I only made a few substitutions. I used non-fat (skim) milk, 2 packages of Sweet Leaf Stevia, and I substituted no sugar added applesauce for the oil. I did add about 1/4 extra milk so the batter wasn't so thick. I was really surprised at how fluffy they turned out - just perfect! My husband bragged all day to everyone he saw about how good these pancakes were. They actually did not even need syrup and would have been good with fried apples or some apple butter!

      I will no longer buy mixes (which we have never found one that was really tasty) and will always make these! I am going to try mixing in some pomegranate next time. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe! And, it was so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      My normally picky eater said "yum!" Thank you for sharing a recipe that is healthy for my family and still tastes good. It was a little too thick for my blender, but I just used a spoon to finish stirring the top into the bottom of the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I made these for my 2 year old niece one weekend. When I put the plate in front of her, her eyes lit up and said "Oh my!" They were as delicious as they were pretty. I added blackberries to the batter which I highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      These pancakes were delicious! I cut the ingredients to 4 pancakes using the "change servings" option. It still made 5-6 cakes which was plenty the two of us. I added 2 Tbs of ground flax seed to the batter also. After pouring 3 Tbs of batter per cake in my preheated pan I added fresh blueberries. I plated them one ontop of the other with Cool Whip free and fresh cut strawberries in the middle. They were AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I tried this recipe and it was great! The reviews helped me tweek it a bit to my needs. I too divided the recipe because it's just my husband and me. The key, I think, for the batter to not become thick is to mix all the dry ingredients first adding the liquids last. I too used a blender and immediately poured into a preheated pan. Two things I did differently are 1) substituted Splenda for the sugar and 2) instead of using a whole egg, I used just the white. For you Weight Watchers - 6 servings = 2 pts per serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Mmm, these were very good :) I have never made whole wheat pancakes before, and I was quite impressed with these. I halved the recipe since I'm only feeding one and didn't want to be eating them for a week. The only changes I made were adding the full amount of sugar because I forgot to halve it, adding about a tsp cinnamon, and adding some milk (maybe 1/4 c? I didn't measure...) after the first pancake turned out too thick and not cooked through. I also added some choc. chips to the last two. I will definitely be making these again! Oh, and I used a whole egg, even though I halved everything else. UPDATE: I have now made these a few times, and found that they are especially good topped with applesauce, or smashed strawberries, or even sliced kiwi! Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Both myself and my wife enjoyed this. I've fixed it twice now. The first time I fixed it, I mixed in fruit. The second time, I made a simple I made a simple fruit sauce with blueberries and Splenda. We both like the second way better. Substitutions: 1/4 egg substitute for egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      I wanted to like these, but I thought they were horrible. The consistency was heavy and thick, which I probably could have dealt with, but they also tasted like they were missing something - maybe some salt? I eat health food all the time and I'm used to whole-wheat-tasting food, but these were not edible. Sorry -

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Wow, these were some hearty pancakes! I did not use a blender since I tend to like bigger pancakes, and my batter was quite thick. Very filling, I used maple syrup and these just soaked it right up... yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      Mm, these were wonderful. They had a lightly sweet flavor, and were very, very easy to make. I increased the baking powder by a teaspoon, as I like my cakes very high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      Lovely, no bitter aftertaste as some pancake recipes seem to haave, and double points because they're healthy! They weren't quite as light as I would have liked, but I think that's my fault for over-mixing the batter. Mine were great with lemon juice and brown sugar on top, but I can't wait to try them with fruit. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      I tweaked this recipe just a bit and used 1/2 whole and 1/2 skim milk and added mashed bananas and dried blueberries. The consistency was more of a "griddle" cake for me, than a "pancake", but this recipe was excellent otherwise! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      I was pleasantly surprised at how yummy these pancakes were! I love these versatile recipes where I have the option to add mini choc hips, chopped strawberries or mashed bananas & this recipe fit the bill perfectly! I used applesauce in place of the oil, skim milk, Eggbeaters & added 1/2 cup Splenda (I have a sweet tooth!). Cooked up so quickly & fluffy. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      I made these up on the weekend for the family (sneaking in the healthy food)and everyone thought they were great! I am not much of a pancake person myself, but these were really nice.....definitely something to make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      These were wonderful with added frozen blueberries. I found it necessary to use cooking spray to keep the individually added berries from sticking. A 1/3c measure of batter results in 12 pancakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Wheat Low Fat Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (820 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.5
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    20%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 17.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 144.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites