9 Reviews

These crackers/cookies are awesome! They have such a yummy taste and great chewy texture. The edges are crisp, but the center is soft and chewy. I think had I baked mine longer than 20 minutes they would eventually have turned into real crackers, but I really liked them that way. The cinnamon honey taste is awesome with the whole grain flour. YUM!
Since I cant have wheat, I used whole spelt flour and that worked out nicely. Also I reduced the sugar and honey by half. That way they were still sweet, but not overly so.
I didnt roll mine out too thin as the directions stated they would not puff up much, but in the end they really rose and nearly doubled in size. I didnt mind that, but next time Ill try to roll them out even thinner.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, Jujubegirl!
Made and reviewed for PRMR Tag June 2011.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 09, 2011

What a great tasting cracker this recipe makes! And since I enjoy making my own graham cracker crusts for some pies, I doubled the recipe so we'd have enough for munching on as well as enough for my next pie project! As wonderful as the crackers are, I just know they'll be outstanding in a crust! Thanks for this great keeper of a recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 05, 2012

Great recipe! I can't have sugar and only eat whole wheat. This is the perfect recipe!! I did make some changes though.
Swapped sugar free maple syrup for the sugar
4 tsp of honey instead of 4 tbs
no baking powder (didn't have any on hand, but it didn't matter)
no baking soda

They came out great!! Will be making these again this weekend :)
Boyfriend approved

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nosugarforme June 01, 2012

Love it, love it, love it. I have made these twice now; once with rye and wheat flour and once with spelt and wheat. Both worked great (rye was yummier) and I was thrilled to have a graham recipe I didn't feel bad giving to my kiddos. I did have some trouble with sticking and breakage witht he first batch so I put them back into the oven long enough to soften them up then cut them. In the subsequent batch I cut them and put them straight on wire racks while hot. I even took a batch on vacation for road food and they went over very well! Thanks for posting!! Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian June 27, 2011

I ran out of graham crackers and decided to make them myself. I love the simple ingredients. I was surprised by the taste of the whole wheat. I do not think I would care to use white flour after tasting these. The batter was quite easy to mix up. Parchment paper seems a must. I did not have any and had to remove my crackers from the pan with a some scrapping. The graham crackers are crisp and tasty. Perfect for little ones learning to chew! I am thinking about next time using cookie cutters for tasty little snacks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
number12 February 11, 2011

Great Job.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamkave February 09, 2011

It was okay with the whole wheat flour, but I found the best adaption was to replace half the flour with whole wheat GRAHAM flour. It change it from a chewy, floury cookie to a graham cracker. (The graham flour absorbs more of the butter and makes a crispier cookie/crust, because it is ground finer and has more of the whole berry in it, I think.) Everything else is exactly the same. I rolled them out to 1/8" thickness on my Silpat mat, cut them and baked them. If you don't own a silpat mat, then roll between 2 layers of wax paper and use the paper to transfer the crackers to the cookie sheet. I only cooked mine for 8 minutes and they were perfect and get rave reviews wherever I take them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TandyI July 31, 2010

This is a great recipe! I live in South Africa and i can't get graham crackers here.. The closest thing is digestive biscuits. These tasted really close to the real thing. Made for please review my recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaniemay July 30, 2010

I made the pie crust, and it really did taste like graham crackers. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to make the crackers first and then crumble them to make the crust, so I just patted out the dough in my tart pan and baked it. I would cut the amount of sugar down next time, or the amount of honey. Made a very good crust for a chocolate pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here June 26, 2010
100% Whole Wheat Graham Crackers or Pie Crust