Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2012

      This recipe is really good! Like others, I didn't have everything: I added 3 tblspns of vinegar to 1 1/4 cups of milk; trying to watch sugar, I used coconut palm sugar, I used coconut oil instead of canola (didn't have canola); 3 whole eggs. I'm not sure if it's because of the coconut oil, but you don't need any butter on these pancakes !!! Soft and Moist... had frozen blueberries, added about 2 tblspns orange juice a little coconut palm sugar and cornstarch to thicken. Absolutely wonderful ! I like that this recipe can be modified according to health issues. Oh, and the flax made this much more healthy than it already is... like that you don't have to add regular flour ! Thank you Mims and Squims !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      These were fabulous! Skipped the flax because we didn't have any but they were terrific without them. DH is the one who cooked them on a cast iron griddle and they seemed to cook a little faster than regular pancakes. Not sure if it's because of the whole wheat or maybe he had the griddle too hot. Just watch them at first so you don't burn them. Next time I'll cook them myself and update my review if I can confirm either way. A new weekend favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I just made these this morning and we loved them. Because my husband and I both watch our sugar and fat intake, I "tweaked" this recipe towards one more our style. The flavor was awesome! Somewhat nutty with just a hint of "sweet" because of the vanilla. The texture was light and fluffy but still filling. My tweaks were: ~1 1/4 cup whole grain pancake flour (Found at Whole Foods) ~3 whole eggs vs egg whites ~1/4 cup Splenda vs sugar ~1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce ~no salt ~2 TBS. ground golden flaxseed ~1 tsp Mexican vanilla (Use 2 tsp when using standard vanilla extract) Because I LOVE blueberries, I also added dried blueberries to the last cup of batter. Great recipe! Thanks Mims and Squims! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This is a simple and very good recipe. I added cinnamon and vanilla extract to the mix, simply because I enjoy those flavors in my pancakes. Even my toddler scarfed them down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      These pancakes are yummy. I've made them a couple of times now and this past time made them for my roommate. She was surprised at how good they were (with the whole wheat and flaxseed). I love flaxseed and this is one ingredient that made the recipe attractive for me. I like to freeze these and heat them in the microwave (one minute, wrapped in a paper towel) for a quick breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Excellent! So light and fluffy!! I used whole wheat pastry flour, 3 complete eggs ( I hate wasting parts of eggs!), and 1/8 cup of sucanat (dehydrated cane juice). Didn't have buttermilk, so added 3 tablespoons of cider vinegar to 1 1/4 cups of regular milk. Worked beautifully. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and at least 1/2 cup of cooked,mashed butternut squash--SOOOO yummy!! Thanks for a great recipe that's almost as simple as the mixes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      These are lovely. We used fresh milled whole wheat flour, 3 whole eggs, rather than just the whites, and substituted organic butter, melted, in place of oil. Really good, and filling! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      These are really good. I used three whole eggs instead of just egg whites. Light and fluffy, just like regular buttermilk pancakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.7
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    41%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 462.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes