Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Wheat Burger/Hot Dog Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Wheat Burger/Hot Dog Buns

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 15, 2009

      These buns deserve 10 stars!!!! I just made a batch of them, and they are hands down the most delicious rolls I have ever had in my entire life! I've never had whole wheat buns that were this soft, and the taste is superb. And, if that's not enough, they were a cinch to make. I will NEVER buy burger buns again. Thank you! 5/15/09 I have made these rolls a number of times already. If you don't like the taste of whole wheat, but want the added nutrition, I started making these with Bob's Red Mill White Whole Wheat Flour. No one can believe that they're whole wheat! Everything else I do exactly as the recipe says. They're absolutely amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      I agree with the other reviewers. This recipe is amazing. Great hot dog buns, hamburger buns, and dinner rolls. I have made this with KAF whole wheat flour and chapati whole wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      Like others, I have searched for really good whole wheat burger buns. This is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      These turned out nice and light. I replaced 1/4 C of the flour with potato flakes and added a little dab of orange juice concentrate to the water because, according to King Arthur Flour, it cuts the tannic taste you can get with whole wheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Definitely a five start recipe! Who new you could make hamburger buns healthy and delicious? I'm on a mission to eliminate white flour from my diet, and this recipe uses all whole grains without sacrificing any flavor. I even substituted 3/4 cup flour for ground flax seed and dusted the tops of the buns with chopped oatmeal. Definitely will be the one recipe I'll use from here on out. Just a tip: I found it easier to "shape" the prepared dough by laying it out in a rectangle and cutting the individual buns out of it. That way they look like they came from a professional bakery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This recipe is great, and versatile. I use it for buns, rolls, and have even made it in a loaf for slicing. Great every way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      wow! these are very good. I am not the greatest at making the hot dog shape and I ended up making them too big for our dogs. The size I made would be good for smokies. I am going to try and make this over and over again and use this for hamberger buns as well. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I made the recipe exactly as written and it was unreal. I have searched for a decent whole wheat bun recipe and this one goes into the permanent file. OUTSTANDING!! Thanks Chef #468972!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      These buns are delicious. I use home ground white whole wheat. The only thing I ever do differently to this recipe is to egg wash them and add sesame or poppy seeds. The texture is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Wheat Burger/Hot Dog Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.7
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    20%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 302.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vital wheat gluten

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes