9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These buns deserve 10 stars!!!! I just made a batch of them, and they are hands down the most delicious rolls I have ever had in my entire life! I've never had whole wheat buns that were this soft, and the taste is superb. And, if that's not enough, they were a cinch to make. I will NEVER buy burger buns again. Thank you! 5/15/09 I have made these rolls a number of times already. If you don't like the taste of whole wheat, but want the added nutrition, I started making these with Bob's Red Mill White Whole Wheat Flour. No one can believe that they're whole wheat! Everything else I do exactly as the recipe says. They're absolutely amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
His daughter May 15, 2009

I agree with the other reviewers. This recipe is amazing. Great hot dog buns, hamburger buns, and dinner rolls. I have made this with KAF whole wheat flour and chapati whole wheat flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gator Bake April 03, 2014

Like others, I have searched for really good whole wheat burger buns. This is it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snow Queen November 09, 2011

These turned out nice and light. I replaced 1/4 C of the flour with potato flakes and added a little dab of orange juice concentrate to the water because, according to King Arthur Flour, it cuts the tannic taste you can get with whole wheat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightchild247 May 28, 2010

Definitely a five start recipe! Who new you could make hamburger buns healthy and delicious? I'm on a mission to eliminate white flour from my diet, and this recipe uses all whole grains without sacrificing any flavor. I even substituted 3/4 cup flour for ground flax seed and dusted the tops of the buns with chopped oatmeal. Definitely will be the one recipe I'll use from here on out. Just a tip: I found it easier to "shape" the prepared dough by laying it out in a rectangle and cutting the individual buns out of it. That way they look like they came from a professional bakery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheba Girl April 06, 2010

This recipe is great, and versatile. I use it for buns, rolls, and have even made it in a loaf for slicing. Great every way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl October 18, 2009

wow! these are very good. I am not the greatest at making the hot dog shape and I ended up making them too big for our dogs. The size I made would be good for smokies. I am going to try and make this over and over again and use this for hamberger buns as well. Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bridy June 29, 2009

I made the recipe exactly as written and it was unreal. I have searched for a decent whole wheat bun recipe and this one goes into the permanent file. OUTSTANDING!! Thanks Chef #468972!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLashier January 28, 2008

These buns are delicious. I use home ground white whole wheat. The only thing I ever do differently to this recipe is to egg wash them and add sesame or poppy seeds. The texture is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TKRiley03 January 02, 2008
100% Whole Wheat Burger/Hot Dog Buns