10 Reviews

These buns deserve 10 stars!!!! I just made a batch of them, and they are hands down the most delicious rolls I have ever had in my entire life! I've never had whole wheat buns that were this soft, and the taste is superb. And, if that's not enough, they were a cinch to make. I will NEVER buy burger buns again. Thank you! 5/15/09 I have made these rolls a number of times already. If you don't like the taste of whole wheat, but want the added nutrition, I started making these with Bob's Red Mill White Whole Wheat Flour. No one can believe that they're whole wheat! Everything else I do exactly as the recipe says. They're absolutely amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
His daughter May 15, 2009

I agree with the other reviewers. This recipe is amazing. Great hot dog buns, hamburger buns, and dinner rolls. I have made this with KAF whole wheat flour and chapati whole wheat flour. I have also made this using maple syrup with the same delicious results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gator Bake July 05, 2015

These are delicious and I'm excited to add this to my recipes! Not only are they delicious and much better than grocery store whole wheat buns, they are beautiful. I wish I would have taken a picture since our burgers looked (and tasted) like a gourmet burger from a high end restaurant. Thanks for a GREAT recipe... I know how long it can take to post recipes and I'm so thankful for the effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW June 09, 2015

Like others, I have searched for really good whole wheat burger buns. This is it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snow Queen November 09, 2011

These turned out nice and light. I replaced 1/4 C of the flour with potato flakes and added a little dab of orange juice concentrate to the water because, according to King Arthur Flour, it cuts the tannic taste you can get with whole wheat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightchild247 May 28, 2010

Definitely a five start recipe! Who new you could make hamburger buns healthy and delicious? I'm on a mission to eliminate white flour from my diet, and this recipe uses all whole grains without sacrificing any flavor. I even substituted 3/4 cup flour for ground flax seed and dusted the tops of the buns with chopped oatmeal. Definitely will be the one recipe I'll use from here on out. Just a tip: I found it easier to "shape" the prepared dough by laying it out in a rectangle and cutting the individual buns out of it. That way they look like they came from a professional bakery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheba Girl April 06, 2010

This recipe is great, and versatile. I use it for buns, rolls, and have even made it in a loaf for slicing. Great every way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl October 18, 2009

wow! these are very good. I am not the greatest at making the hot dog shape and I ended up making them too big for our dogs. The size I made would be good for smokies. I am going to try and make this over and over again and use this for hamberger buns as well. Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bridy June 29, 2009

I made the recipe exactly as written and it was unreal. I have searched for a decent whole wheat bun recipe and this one goes into the permanent file. OUTSTANDING!! Thanks Chef #468972!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLashier January 28, 2008

These buns are delicious. I use home ground white whole wheat. The only thing I ever do differently to this recipe is to egg wash them and add sesame or poppy seeds. The texture is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TKRiley03 January 02, 2008
100% Whole Wheat Burger/Hot Dog Buns