Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Wheat Bread (Non-Dense/Heavy, White Bread Texture) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Wheat Bread (Non-Dense/Heavy, White Bread Texture)

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-33 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2008

      I love this very tasty light bread and my picky 4 year old ate it too. I can do this in my bread machine (stirring and kneading only) if I do one loaf at a time and start over after 45 minutes. I bake in the oven because I really don't like bread baked in the machine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I give this 3 stars b/c of the difficulty in making it. It turned out good, but not really worth the time it took. I would much rather have used a simpler recipe in my bread machine. For beginners, I would not take the time or risk for that matter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I too have been searching for a light-textured wheat bread. This is PERFECT! I will have to cut back to one loaf at a time though, my KitchenAid was smoking after kneading two loaves worth of dough. Thanks so much Narshmellow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      This is a great recipe, my bread turned out just as described, non-dense non heavy, light and fluffy just like store bought whole wheat bread! I followed the recipe exactly, ended up adding 4 cups of whole wheat flour to the dough. Tips for beginners like me - to determine how much flour is enough, your dough should not stick to your hand or countertop, it should peel away from the side of mixing bowl or your hand but still feel a little sticky. If the dough sticks, add some more flour. I knead the dough in Kitchen Aid stand mixer at speed 2 for 10 minutes. another tip for beginners, when kneading your dough in the Kitchenaid mixer, your dough should form a ball/balloon hooked on the hook, moving with the mixer hook, and it should look like a balloon been squeezed between the walls of the mixer bowl and the hook. For warm water, I used 110F degrees for both sponge and dough. When baking, when the temperature inside the bread reaches about 190-200 degrees it's ready. Thanks Narshmellow for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This is my new favorite bread! I love heavy whole wheat breads, but my DH doesn't. This one makes us both happy. It's going to be my regular bread recipe from now on. Thanks Narshmellow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I've been making bread for years and have a collection of the best baking books. Hands down, this is the absolute best whole wheat bread recipe ever. No need to look elsewhere. If you want the a crowd-pleasing wholesome bread, this is it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Thank you thank you Narsh. I have just got into bread making and although KitchenAid provided a recipe that made decent white bread I found their whole wheat bread much to heavy. With your recipe first time out I got great light bread and as tasty as anyone could ask for. Your directions were thorough and easy to follow even for thick headed old fart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Very good and softer than regular wheat bread, but I went a step further and used white whole wheat flour (King Arthur brand) and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Excellent recipe! Great texture and great taste. I am definitely making this bread regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      This is the best bread receipe ever. It is light and not like regular wheat bread. I have substituted 1 cup of oat flour or rye flour and it is still great. Slices perfect for sandwhiches. Everyone I have given a loaf to has loved it and asked for the receipe. Thanks! Sunshine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      very light texture. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      This recipe is great. I didn't even let it rise as long as it was supposed to, and it came out lighter than the other 100% whole wheat recipes I have tried. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      We enjoyed this bread...it is lighter than the typical whole wheat bread. And it cuts really well...no crumbling. DH usually isn't much of a fan of whole wheat anything, but even he liked it! I halved the recipe and made only 1 loaf, and that worked out well for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Wheat Bread (Non-Dense/Heavy, White Bread Texture)

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.8
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    25%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 453.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vital wheat gluten

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes