Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Wheat Bread (Non-Dense/Heavy, White Bread Texture) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Wheat Bread (Non-Dense/Heavy, White Bread Texture)

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2010

      Absolutely the most amazing whole wheat bread I've ever eaten. I've tried several wheat breads, but they all require either some white flour or end up hard as rocks. This bread is light, fluffy, and so full of flavor. I did substitute 1/3 cup honey for the sugar and replaced 1/2 cup water with 1/2 milk since I didn't have any dry milk. I also forfeited loaves and instead made large buns for sandwiches. I am not high altitude, so I baked 15 mins at 375 and 15 mins at 350 for a perfect golden brown. This recipe + locally ground whole wheat flour + local raw honey = AMAZING. I'll never use another whole wheat recipe. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      WOW!!! This recipe has completely replaced store bought bread for my family! Perfect for sandwiches,and soooo much healthier. I made it exactly as directed, using advice from others to spray the tops while baking. I kneaded by hand (don't have a mixer), but since my family loves the bread so much, I will probably buy a heavy mixer. (I haven't had a good excuse yet;) thanks so much for this recipe!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      This is the most wonderful, tender, tasty whole wheat bread I have ever eaten! I threw away all the other recipes I had. This is the one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I've found a lot of success using weight measurements for the dry goods here's what I use: 12 grams fast rising yeast 3/4 cup warm water 120 grams whole wheat flour 2 cups warm water 240 grams whole wheat flour 34 grams dry milk 60 grams vital wheat gluten 10 grams salt 64 grams sugar 1/4 cup oil 480 grams whole wheat flour Get yourself a good scale and this works great every time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      This is the first bread recipe I've made using only whole wheat flour that actually turned out like bread and not a very large hocky puck. I'm so happy! My DH loves it , my daughter (the picky one) loves it. And it's healthy! Update: I've been making this bread for two months now. I cut the salt by half and use 1/4 cup honey in place of the white sugar. It's a little healthier and we like the taste better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I halved all the ingredients then started with the sponge in my bread machine and 1 hour later added the rest in order and started the bread cycle. It is wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      This bread tastes amazing just made my first batch and everybody loves it, normally when I try to make bread they all run a mile but this one they are asking for more so thanks for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      This recipe is amazing! I never thought I would find a recipe for whole wheat bread that I actually looked forward to eating. I used white whole wheat flour, subbed 1/2 cup of regular bread flour for the vital wheat gluten, used melted reduced calorie margerine instead of oil, and I reduced the sugar to 3 tablespoons. I love this recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I made this yesterday afternoon and when I woke up this morning, a whole loaf was gone! Delicious! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      Easy, simple and perfect and no kneading! This is now my go-to bread recipe to replace store bought junk. It is perfectly textured to use for sandwich bread too! LOVE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I've been using this recipe for a while, so I figured it was finally time to leave a review for this amazing bread! I am dairy-free, so I make a few modifications to the original recipe. Where the recipe calls for adding 2 cups of water 1/2 cup of dry milk, I add 1 cup of water 1 cup milk substitute (whatever I have on hand--soy, almond, or even coconut milk). I exchange honey for the sugar, and I use melted coconut oil for the fat. Lately I've been buying white whole wheat flour and using it for this bread, and it works very, very well (although it really is still light and airy with regular whole wheat flour!). I am so glad I found this recipe! Thank you for sharing it, @Narshmellow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      Finally a whole wheat bread that is not dense and does not contain all-purpose white flour. I used the recommendations for the weighed measurements by another review and it was perfect. Also followed the suggestion of honey instead of sugar and milk (with reduced water) instead of dry milk. The bread machine is being tossed to the curb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      Finally my search for the perfect 100% whole wheat bread comes to an end:) This bread rose beautifully, has perfect texture,cuts well and tastes really great. What more could one ask for?
      Oh.. and the instructions are very clear and easy to follow. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Yummy! I'm a beginner but I still produced a great bread with excellent results! Though, my bread didn't form a nice poof that characterizes a sandwich bread when going into the oven- it may have been my finger that punctured the dough when transporting it, but it deflated- Nevertheless, it was still fluffy on the inside and a crunchy, crusty load!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Excellent! I was looking for a soft supermarket style bread that my kids would eat, but without all the preservatives. I recommend this recipe unconditionally. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I reduced the salt to 2/3 Tbsp, and I used King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour. This is definitely worth a try. One caveat: The recipe uses a lot of flour. I have a Kitchen Aid mixer and it can handle it, but just barely. Thank you for a fabulous recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Amazing. Wheat bread that is nearly as light as a commercial sandwich loaf. I do recommend using a heavy duty stand mixer. There is no way my Artisan could have mixed this without overheating but my P600 which I use for bread kneaded the dough well and only got a little warm. I heated my oven for 30 seconds on the warm setting while the dough was kneading, turned the oven off and opened the door a little. I set the bowl inside with the door slightly ajar to rise. It was the most beautiful dough to work with. Just by looking at it I knew the loaves would be light and high and they were. I followed another reviewer's advice and reduced the bake time. I did 15 minutes at 375 and 14 minutes at 350. The internal temp was at 200 degrees. I brushed the loaves with egg white and sprinkled on Everything Bagel topping (King Arthur) before baking. It gave the bread a nice added flavor. My family loves this recipe, thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Excellent bread recipe! I actually started out wanting to halve this recipe but forgot and made the whole batch. The motor on my 5qt Kitchenaid was smelling burnt 2 min into the kneading, so I split the dough and kneaded separately. A few notes - I only had regular active dry yeast (it was fine), used a little over 5 cups of white whole wheat flour, nonfat instant dry milk instead of baker's dry milk, 6 rounded tbsp of gluten, honey instead of the sugar and about 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds (terrific addition). I accidentally let it rise for almost 90 min the first rise - it almost trebled. But I just punched it down gently, kneaded some and shaped it. Turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe, Narshmellow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      MMmmmm.... aaaahhhh.... ooooohhhh... this is sooooooo... mmmmm... deliccccciiious!!! I am getting more and more into bread baking - artisan breads, whole wheat breads, etc. and this is going to be one of my regulars for sure. I took the tip from Chef and used 1/4 cup of hone instead of white sugar, but aside from that I used the recipe exactly as written. The result was two of the brownest, tenderest, lightest loaves of 100% whole wheat bread I could ever imagine turning out in my own kitchen. Absolutely fabulous. Gracias, Narshmellow - this is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      O...M....G! This bread turned out FANTASTIC! Like many others, I've tries using various whole wheat bread-bread machine recipes and they all gave me dense and overly chewy loaves.... until I tried yours that is. I followed your recipe to the T, and whenever you quoted a rising time of 45mins-1hour, I went with the longer duration of time. Also, I sprayed some water on the loaves when they were baking at 5 mins, 15 mins and 25 mins - this made the crust EXACTLY like store bought bread. This is the ONLY recipe i will use from now on. I previously felt like I HAD to add white flour to my whole wheat dough to get the "Store-bought" bread porosity and texture, but I was SO wrong. I'm going to try making this bread with my multigrain bread flour next time too - wish me luck! : ).. thank you sooooooo much for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I love, love, LOVE this bread! The recipe is awesome - clear instructions make it simple enough for bread making noobs like myself. It's very easy to mix/knead in my Kitchen Aid mixer, and the rising times are spot on. What's more, the taste is phenomenal! My family can't wait for it to come out of the oven every Saturday afternoon. I don't buy bread anymore, I make this recipe weekly. Thanks for sharing it, Narshmellow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Wheat Bread (Non-Dense/Heavy, White Bread Texture)

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.8
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    25%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 453.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vital wheat gluten

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes