Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Wheat Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Wheat Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2010

      Good recipe. I replaced the margarine with canola oil and added 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 3/4 to a cup of raisins at the beep on my bread machine. Awesome cinnamon raisin bread, and even better when toasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This was easy and yummy! I didn't have molasses so I just substituted honey and it was very moist, this will be perfect for sandwiches this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Janem, Thank you for our Go-To bread recipe. My powdered milk is for camping use only so I use 1 cup milk and 1/2 cup water and unsalted butter in place of the margarine (my DS is on a low sodium diet so its all I have). My family loves this bread, and its wonderful for sandwiches. So simple my 7 year old DD makes it for me sometimes! Thanks again, a total keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      De-licious! I followed the ingred. exactly but did the order according to my machine. It just happened to be ready around dinner time and I couldn't wait to taste it. Theres nothing like a slice of hot fresh bread (that I made!) to go with dinner. This loaf will make great sandwiches this week. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      This bread is wonderful! It has become our everyday bread. Sometimes I replace one or both tablespoons of the molasses with extra honey, but sometimes I leave it as is, and it is delicious both ways. The texture is outstanding! Nice and light, wonderful for sandwiches. Thank you so much for this great recipe, it's definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This recipe makes a delicious bread. I made last night and it came out great. I made a couple changes, I added the salt after the water and did substitute the powdered milk for soy protein powder, the molasses I added it is different, not strong, it is homemade from Brazil. The loaf came light and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2013

      What a great way to begin to use a brand new bread machine! I am so glad I tried this recipe. I didn't have any powdered milk, so I added an additional 1/8 cup of soymilk to the water. I also added 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed and 3 tsp. of gluten. The result was an absolutely perfect loaf of soft, moist, healthy whole wheat bread. I am certainly going to make this again and I think next time I'll try using this recipe to make a pizza crust. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Moist, soft, fantastic! I am not a fan of molasses so I was a little weary of this recipe. I tried it and it was great! The molasses flavor is very mild. I will be using this recipe more and more. UPDATE: I added seeds to the dough (sesame, pumpkin, sunflower, & flax), and it turned out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      Found this bread to be a bit too sweet and heavy. It was still a nice bread though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Great recipe. I made some of this bread this evening in my Oster bread machine. I followed the recipe exactly is printed. I used one packet of Red Star quick rise yeast. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      This bread was fantastic! It was my first bread ever made in a bread machine. I used all honey instead of adding the molasses, only because I'm not a molasses fan. It was nice and sweet and had a great texture. My parents were visiting and literally within a few minutes of me taking the bread out of the machine, half of it was gone. I'm going to make another loaf tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I have been searching for a recipe for years that would be my go-to sandwich bread. I make this twice a week and it is the perfect texture for sandwiches, and is just delicious as a dinner bread as well. It's moist and light, yet sturdy. The only change I make is using all honey instead of molasses. I use the sandwich setting with a light crust on my bread maker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      The flavor of this bread was great, but I made it twice and both times the bread fell. Don't know if it's my machine or what. I'll probably use this as a dough recipe to make in the bread maker then bake it in the oven, but thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      I made as directed (except I used Smart balance spread instead of butter or margarine) and it turned out great. I love homemade bread and wheat bread. I like the poster's idea of putting in a bag right after coming out of the machine. Sometimes the bread turns too hard. Thanks! I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This is the 2nd recipe that I've tried since I got my bread machine and I have to say that I'm pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I despise the taste of store bought wheat bread, but this bread is much different and better than any bread that you could buy at the grocery store. I sliced it while it was still warm and spread a little butter on it and it was good. I think it would be even better as toast so I'm going to try it for breakfast tomorrow. Thanks for a great, dependable, wholesome, recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I tried this 3 times, and followed recipeto a tea, the loaf came out very dense, low rising even with the addition of vital wheat gluten and bottled water. I even tried replacing 1 c of the flour with bread flour, and still the texture was off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Was a great recipe. I used 1 cup milk and 1/2 cup water instead of the milk powder. I also added 1 tsp each of basil and oregano and 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. I baked it in the oven as well. Made a nice big loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Wonderful recipe! Trying to live organic, I couldnt bring myself to buy whole wheat sandwich bread from the store anymore! So I picked up a sack of organic whole wheat flour and some yeast and decided to put my old B&D Vertical to work! Well first try I have found our new daily bread. I used unsweetened soy milk in place of the milk powder and water, and it turned out fantastic. My kids cant get enough of it, which says a lot! Thanks ever so much for this healthy new staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Great recipe - I've made this 4 times already and my hubby even says it real good and he usually doesn't eat anything but white bread - I'm slowly winning him over to whole grains. I made just as is, but after an hour into the dough cycle, I shape the bread into 2 loaves and let rise again in 2 loaf pans. Then I cook about 25 mins. in 350 degree oven - I like the shape of the loaves better than when baked in the bread machine. Thanks for posting Janem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I love this recipe!It is my first attempt at making 100% Whole wheat Bread and I am sorry to say I cheated and did subtitute 1/2 cup whole wheat for white.As well I exchanged another 1/4 cup whole wheat for 1/4 cup wheat bran and used canola oil instead of butter. It came out Fantastic, tender and just beautiful.I promise next week I will make it 100% Whole wheat and report to you. I made this lovely bread and 4 panini buns. I started this diet and can only eat Whole wheat bread.Thanks so much for posting. I made your bread again and we love it. It's hard to find a good recipe for whole wheat Bread.I use Barley Malt instead of molasses;it really gives a great texture to the bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Wheat Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.7
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    17%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 320.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites