Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100 % whole wheat bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100 % whole wheat bread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2009

      This was my first time baking bread and I selected this recipe because of the strikingly positive reviews. I am happy to report that I now have 2 loaves of some of the best whole wheat bread I've ever tasted. Excellent, simple recipe that yields a dense yet soft, wholesome, and delectable product. A+

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      I'm new to breadmaking, but I loved this. I didn't even have brown sugar, but it still turned out great. Slightly sweet, soft, not too dense, and full of a rich, wheat flavor. Everything I make from now on will have to compare to this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Love, love, love it! Super easy, simple, and delicious. This was my first attempt at whole wheat bread and I am very pleased with the result. The loaf was everything I could ever ask for in a whole wheat bread and the ingredient list is perfect--simple and nothing crazy (ex. potato flakes...gross). I halved the recipe to only make one loaf, because two loaves would have been excessive for my diet. But other than halving the recipe, I did not make any other modifications. I may try using honey instead of brown sugar next time, or both, I'm just a sucker for honey whole wheat bread. So thank you spacholl for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Yum! I love the simplicity of this recipe. I halved the recipe to make one loaf and it turned out great! I added more flour when kneading it because the dough seemed a bit sticky. But I'm new to bread baking, so that might just be me... I didn't do the twisty thing, and I made it in my sun oven -- a great way to have home baked bread in the summer without heating up the kitchen. Makes superb toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      wow...for 100% whole wheat this bread has a very nice tender texture.It was easy to make with a great flavor...1-20-07 to make with a great flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Wonderful! Two hot happy loaves of 100% whole wheat are sitting on my cooling rack. Okay, minus a few slices... Highly recommended for anyone who likes 100% whole wheat! And if you don't - try it anyway! You may be converted Canadian wheat is harder than American. If you are in Canada (as I am) you probably won't be able to stir in a full 8 cups of flour, and you shouldn't try. Don't panic! I have two... okay, one and a half loaves sitting happily on my breadboard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      My loaves came out beautifully dense (which I love), but rather salty. Is 1T. of salt truly the measurement. I don't know how much mine was affected by the milk mixture cooling a little too much (pretty much to room temp) and rising times being about doubled. New baby in the house that decided it wasn't bread making time. *grin*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      This is a great tasting and easy bread recipe. I use a two rise method for better texture but this is simple and very healthy. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2004

      The taste was wonderful but the loaves were heavy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      WONDERFUL!! This bread came out tasting great, it was very soft and it even kept longer than my store-bought 100% whole wheat bread. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      Lovely bread! Followed instructions perfectly except could not use 8 cups flour. Around 7 1/4 was all I was able to manage. We love whole wheat products. The taste and texture of this bread is amazing and this will be made over and over at my home. Thank you :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      This bread is wonderful! I scaled down the recipe to make one loaf, and modified the directions a little. It is so chewy and moist, and has such a fluffy texture. Thank you so much for such a fine recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100 % whole wheat bread

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.2
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    24%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 14.1 mg
    4%
    Sodium 398.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes