Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2010

      I used agave syrup instead of honey and 1 T flaxseed a 3 T water instead of egg, and my flour was whole wheat pastry flour. Made this way I felt these were really very yummy. Next time I will sub some oil with applesauce. Oh I did add vanilla and orange extract too ( 1 tsp each)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      I made this with my kids all in one bowl and it went together really well even with the modifications i made: I used brown rice flour and corn starch instead of the whole wheat due to what I had on hand, one whole egg, plain milk and added lemon juice, flax and cinnamon. They came out beautifully after 23 minutes. I do not think more sugar is needed but do think the banana and vanilla suggested by others would be an improvement... lemon zest would be nice too. Thanks for posting, We'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I have made this recipe every week since I found it. This is the best combo my husband and I love. Add to the liquid: one tsp vanilla extract, a pinch of sea salt, 2 one week ripe bananas and add 1 tbsp of chopped walnuts in the batter once mixed together and sprinkling the top of each muffin with walnuts before baking. The bananas help add an element of sweetness. On an unhealthy note I have also made a variation with one tsp vanilla extract, pinch of sea salt, 2 ripe bananas, 1/4 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips (has to be mini) and 1/3 cup of toasted coconut with a sprinkle of untoasted coconut to the top of the muffin before being baked……yumm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      These are great muffins. Very moist and fluffy. I added 1 tsp of vanilla, a pinch of salt. I also used 1/3 cup oil and 2 T applesauce. I thought they were plenty sweet, although I sprinkled half of them with cinnamon sugar before baking just in case. I haven't tried a cinnamon one yet, but I'm sure that they won't be over-sweet. This recipe is a keeper, for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Okay, we loved your recipe. I liked that is healthier then most and my kids adored them. But I have to say, I didn't use blueberries, I used chopped up peaches as I had a lot of them and didn't want them going bad. They tasted great. I will make this again with blueberries as that's our favorite muffin flavor, but subbed in this one time. I think any fruit would go nicely with these muffins. thank you so much for sharing with us. Keeper file

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      I really enjoyed this recipe. It was just what I was looking for! I had to make it dairy-free, so almond juice with 1 T. of lemon juice worked fine. I had extra batter, so I made 12 muffins and a mini-loaf of bread. I think the muffins were sweet enough, but a bit bland. I'll try adding a couple tablespoons of vanilla extract next time. These worked well with my frozen blueberries. I feel good about eating this recipe with a meal or as a snack. I also made using light olive oil. Light, fluffy, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      I used agave instead of honey and doubled my berries (used cranberries instead of blueberries). My husband even ate some! And he never ever eats anything whole wheat. These were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I made some modifications. I used 1 cup of kefir, which is a sort of sour milk/yogurt drink, two T of lemon juice and 1/2 a cup of sour cream instead of buttermilk. I also did 1/2 and 1/2 white and whole wheat flour, salt and added 1/4 cup of ground flax/sunflower seed/pumpkin seed and goji berries. I added some vanilla powder as well. I thought these were great! I love that they are healthy and not very sweet. With a little jam or honey spread on they are perfect! Thanks so much for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      For a whole wheat muffin these were nice and moist. Mine only needed 25 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Excellent! I used my own home ground hard white winter wheat. The recipe turned out so good I made another with apples, nuts, and raisins right away. I increased the honey about half again as much as per other suggestions about sweetness. I actually think I could go a little less as I don't like things very sweet. Stayed with Tupelo Honey though instead of sugar as my husband is diabetic and it is the only honey suggested for diabetics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      I was hoping for a whole wheat blueberry muffin that rivaled it's white flour counterpart. My husband and I were disappointed, but the kids didn't care! They gobbled them up. I probably won't make this again, unless it's for the kids only. Thanks anyway Carole Reu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Needs more sugar!! Otherwise, this is very good for a whole wheat muffin. The consistency is light, not dense and it is quite moist. As per other reviews, I used 1 whoe egg and a 1/4 cup more blueberries. Also 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey plust a tbsp of Splenda. This was NOT enough sugar. I don't like things very sweet, but even for me, I would have easily added 1/4 cup more of brown sugar. Still....very yummy and worth a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I thought these muffins were great! I did make a few substitutions. I didn't have buttermilk, so used 1% and lemon juice as substitute. Instead of 2 egg whites used 1 whole egg. In place of the vegetable used 1/3 C. plus 2 TBSP pureed pumkin (have too many cans in the pantry, need to use up and adds a little Vitamin A), did not have any honey so used agave nectar (1/4 C.) and since some other reviewers had said these were not too sweet I added about 3 TBSP Splend Brown Sugar Blend into the mix. I did also add just a pinch of salt. They came out nice and puffy and didn't fall. Yummy - will be making these over and over. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

    • on January 17, 2010

      Absolutely excellent! The men in my family seem to think they're not sweet enough but I think they're perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Great recipe. Muffins were moist and fluffy. I usually have to make tons of substitutes as my family has an egg allergy. I used my flaxseed mixture to sub for one egg, since other reviewers used one whole egg instead of 2 egg whites. I also used brown sugar, and was our of buttermilk so used milk w/ vinegar. I sub'd blueberries with raisins. Came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I also used 1/4 c brown sugar in addition to 1/4 c honey. These muffins turned out great!! I never thought wheat muffins could be so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      These muffins are great! I did make some adjustments per the other reviews. I used one whole egg, used brown sugar and increased it to about 3/4 cup, added 1/4 tsp. sea salt, and added about a tsp. of vanilla. I also sprinkled sugar in the raw on the tops of the muffins. I baked the muffins at 400 for about 23 minutes and they came out beautifully! They were big and puffy and tasted as good as they looked! Not to sweet and they had a nice fluffy texture. Next time I will try with only egg whites since that makes the muffins practically cholesterol free. These are a keeper! They taste great and are healthier then the average blueberry muffin. Thanks, Carole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I made these this morning, with just a few alterations, and they are almost gone already! (I only had one). These muffins have excellent flavor, and baked up to a nice peak if baked at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes. Thanks for another great recipe, Carole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I also substituted 1/4 cup brown sugar, and they turned out great! A nice healthy muffin for snacks. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1008 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.5
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    33%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 1.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 141.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites