Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 100% Whole Grain Wheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    100% Whole Grain Wheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2011

      I would give this 10 stars if I could. I have never made a 100% whole wheat bread without it being heavy or crumbly until this recipe. I have been searching recipes for a long time and this is the recipe I have been searching for...light, fluffy, not crumbly, stores well, great sandwich bread, and easy to make. It prepares so quickly it is amazing. Tastes great the way it is or you can subsitute different types of sugar for the molasses and honey, different grains of flour, etc. I changed the setting to one loaf, prepared it as directed but mixed it with the dough cycle on my bread maker...let it rise once, pushed it down, and rose again in the baking dish - it came out perfect. I have an older oven and does not keep the temperature good so I tent mine with foil while baking and use a thermometer to ensure 190 degrees before taking out of oven. Makes great buns too...just divide dough into 12 pieces and reduce the baking time a bit. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      This is a great recipe! I searched the internet looking for a 100% whole wheat recipe with great reviews to use in my bread machine, but didn't have much luck. I decided to just give this one a try in my bread machine and it turned out great! I did make a few minor adjustments. I cut the recipe in half since I just needed 1 loaf. I put the water, yeast, and 1 TBS of Brown Sugar (not in the recipe but added it in) into the machine and let it sit for 10 minutes. I added the wheat flour and other ingredients except for molasses because I didn't have any. I set my machine to the wheat cycle and let it go. It turned out perfect. This was my first attempt at wheat in my machine and I am very pleased! The bread came out perfect and is very moist and fluffy. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      Fantastic!! I wish I could give it 10 stars! I'm fairly new to making bread and all of the other 100% whole grain recipes I've tried turned out dense and the texture was less than desirable. Not so with this recipe. I was amazed that loaves this good came out of my oven!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      This is a great recipe, but I had to change it a bit because of where I live. Instead of 2tbs of yeast I had to use 4tbs.
      When I made the first loaves, they deflated once placed in the oven, after going to some different sites, "Red Star Yeast" I was told that this problem just needed more yeast,
      The second loave's came out just right, nice and lite, with great favor

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      thank goodness I found it again!! I made this bread on monday, it's now wednesday and I was looking for this recipe again. some how I forgot to save it originally. I loved this bread. it's so delicious and made a nice large loaf (I reduced to the 1 loaf recipe). I have been making a lot of sandwich bread lately for husbands lunches and this recipe I want to stick with from now on. I did add 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar (you don't taste it), to make the loaf rise higher, as I've had a problem with tiny loaves lately. it was gorgeous. almost too pretty to eat, but we did do that. I added 1 cup rolled oats and 3 tablespoons wheat gluten to this recipe also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Easiest bestest bread recipe. This does NOT produce a sawdust dry heavy loaf. It is soft, tasty beautiful bread. I make it every week!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Wonderful recipe! My favorite bread. Easy, moist, delicious, freezes well. Love to throw in a handful of sunflower seeds for flavor. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This really is good. I halved the recipe & used 1/2 cup oat bran, 1/2 cup ground flax, and the rest a 6 grain flour. Ended up just a bit on the crumby/dry side, but I think I left it in the oven a little longer than I should have. Still delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      I just made this for the second time and I have to say it is just great! I don't have a lot of bread making experience, but this was so very easy to make!! My family loves it--hubby just finished off about 1/2 of the first loaf tonight at dinner!! I love that this freezes well too--I won't be buying store bread anymore now that I have found this recipe. The first time I made the recipe as written and it was great. This time I swapped out 1 cup of the flour for 1/2 c ground flax and 1/2 cup ground oatmeal. I also swapped out another cup of the wheat flour for 1 cup of bread flour. Definitely a recipe I will be making again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      I just got a KitchenAid mixer and I wanted to try making bread. My first loaves turned out perfect and I didn't even know what I was doing. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      I followed the recipe exactly and this turned out perfectly! It has a nice texture and tastes great. The only thing I would do differently next time is to add some assorted seeds into the dough since I like a little bit of texture!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

    • on April 14, 2014

      I've now made this bread three times - and it's been great every time. As it's just the two of us, I halve the recipe to make one loaf rather than two. Delicious. It comes out light and fluffy, not dense or crumbly. Give it a try and you too will be a fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      An ALL STAR recipe! I have been baking for a while now and have made varieties of breads using all kinds of flour including many whole wheat bread recipes some of which call for a portion of bread flour, but this is hands down the best recipe for making the softest, fluffiest and tastiest 100% whole wheat bread! I use this recipe regularly, but have cut it in half so that we have a fresh baked loaf each time. For ease and in keeping with my theme of simplifying where I can, I use the bread machine and it turns out great each time! I prefer to buy a 20 lbs bag of whole, multi-grain flour but you can use any that you prefer. This is readily available at any Indian grocery store for about $12-$15 which is very reasonable if you use lots of whole grain flour like we do. I prefer not to use too many bowls/containers for mixing so I just add all the dry ingredients except salt directly into the machine first. I use three loosely filled, leveled cups of flour, three tbs vital whole wheat gluten (I consider it essential for any whole wheat flour bread and for each cup of whole flour, I add one tbs gluten), four tbs sugar (I find it easy to just use either white or brown sugar, whichever is handy. Honey/ molasses work too) and one tbs loosely packed instant dry yeast. While I am adding the dry ingredients to the machine, I put about a cup and a half of water to warm in the microwave for just under a minute. On my bread machine (Hamilton Beach) I use the basic bread setting (I know, not whole wheat but it works!) with a light crust for a 1.5 lbs bread. After turning on the machine, as the dry ingredients are mixing, I add just under one tsp of regular salt and then eyeball about four tbs of any preferred oil (the recipe is quite forgiving- I have used three tbs as well) directly into the dough along with a cup and quarter of the water. As the dough is mixing, I prefer to feel it by poking around with my fingers and add the remaining water a spoonful at a time till the dough is very soft but does not stick to the sides. This is the basic recipe to which any flour substitutions can be made and spices added to taste. Close the lid and forget it for the next couple of hours as the machine goes to work for you. Makes a PERFECT loaf of sandwich bread each time- crisp on the outside, soft and light on the inside! Could not ask for a better recipe! Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      This is the best recipe thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      Very tasty and good recipe although it was a bit difficult to follow. I had to read it through a couple times before I realized that I was supposed to have added the 4 Cups of flour (in step 3) in 1/2 Cup increments (as described in step 4). It still came out fairly good, but may need some tweaking in terms of how the recipe is written.<br/><br/>But for those wanting to try a whole wheat bread recipe for the first time: this is really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      A perfect 10! I have made white bread many times before and needed a whole wheat bread for Thanksgiving stuffing. I figured if it didn't come out so great it wouldn't matter since it was going to be in the stuffing. Wow, this bread is delightful. Fluffy and light. I did not have molasses so I added honey. At one point I was concerned that it wasn't pulling away from the Kitchen Aid bowl very much and stopped at about 7 cups of flour. I mixed it with my hands for a few minutes and then let it rise. It was tacky coming from the bowl. I added flour and did not work it very much, just a bit to get it presentable for the loaf pans. 36 mins was the perfect time. I will make this bread again and again. Thanks Nova for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      This is the BEST whole grain wheat bread recipe! We are making it again right now! It's easy to make. It's light and moist and doesn't fall apart. It tastes wonderful. We LOVE this recipe and are going to keep it in our family now as our daily bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      I love the bread, I do alter it somewhat. I add in 3/4 cup of 8 grain cereal, and sub 2 cups white flour to help it rise. I guess it defeats the purpose of 100% whole wheat but my family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      The first 4 times i made this recipe, it turned out awesome...however, when i made it today (two seperate times) it turned into a sticky mess and would not come together...any idea why that would happen? Otherwise...awesome recile =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 100% Whole Grain Wheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.3
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    20%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites