100 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe! I searched the internet looking for a 100% whole wheat recipe with great reviews to use in my bread machine, but didn't have much luck. I decided to just give this one a try in my bread machine and it turned out great! I did make a few minor adjustments. I cut the recipe in half since I just needed 1 loaf. I put the water, yeast, and 1 TBS of Brown Sugar (not in the recipe but added it in) into the machine and let it sit for 10 minutes. I added the wheat flour and other ingredients except for molasses because I didn't have any. I set my machine to the wheat cycle and let it go. It turned out perfect. This was my first attempt at wheat in my machine and I am very pleased! The bread came out perfect and is very moist and fluffy. Thanks for the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherriezzontop July 06, 2012

I would give this 10 stars if I could. I have never made a 100% whole wheat bread without it being heavy or crumbly until this recipe. I have been searching recipes for a long time and this is the recipe I have been searching for...light, fluffy, not crumbly, stores well, great sandwich bread, and easy to make. It prepares so quickly it is amazing. Tastes great the way it is or you can subsitute different types of sugar for the molasses and honey, different grains of flour, etc. I changed the setting to one loaf, prepared it as directed but mixed it with the dough cycle on my bread maker...let it rise once, pushed it down, and rose again in the baking dish - it came out perfect. I have an older oven and does not keep the temperature good so I tent mine with foil while baking and use a thermometer to ensure 190 degrees before taking out of oven. Makes great buns too...just divide dough into 12 pieces and reduce the baking time a bit. Thanks for this recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BKfit March 04, 2011

Fantastic!! I wish I could give it 10 stars! I'm fairly new to making bread and all of the other 100% whole grain recipes I've tried turned out dense and the texture was less than desirable. Not so with this recipe. I was amazed that loaves this good came out of my oven!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojo9144 November 25, 2012

This is a great recipe, but I had to change it a bit because of where I live. Instead of 2tbs of yeast I had to use 4tbs.
When I made the first loaves, they deflated once placed in the oven, after going to some different sites, "Red Star Yeast" I was told that this problem just needed more yeast,
The second loave's came out just right, nice and lite, with great favor

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert98947, Bread Maker February 21, 2012

thank goodness I found it again!! I made this bread on monday, it's now wednesday and I was looking for this recipe again. some how I forgot to save it originally. I loved this bread. it's so delicious and made a nice large loaf (I reduced to the 1 loaf recipe). I have been making a lot of sandwich bread lately for husbands lunches and this recipe I want to stick with from now on. I did add 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar (you don't taste it), to make the loaf rise higher, as I've had a problem with tiny loaves lately. it was gorgeous. almost too pretty to eat, but we did do that. I added 1 cup rolled oats and 3 tablespoons wheat gluten to this recipe also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viviansmomma February 01, 2012

Easiest bestest bread recipe. This does NOT produce a sawdust dry heavy loaf. It is soft, tasty beautiful bread. I make it every week!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katgirlisme January 24, 2012

Wonderful recipe! My favorite bread. Easy, moist, delicious, freezes well. Love to throw in a handful of sunflower seeds for flavor. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenreligion December 29, 2011

This really is good. I halved the recipe & used 1/2 cup oat bran, 1/2 cup ground flax, and the rest a 6 grain flour. Ended up just a bit on the crumby/dry side, but I think I left it in the oven a little longer than I should have. Still delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacya100 October 05, 2011

I just made this for the second time and I have to say it is just great! I don't have a lot of bread making experience, but this was so very easy to make!! My family loves it--hubby just finished off about 1/2 of the first loaf tonight at dinner!! I love that this freezes well too--I won't be buying store bread anymore now that I have found this recipe. The first time I made the recipe as written and it was great. This time I swapped out 1 cup of the flour for 1/2 c ground flax and 1/2 cup ground oatmeal. I also swapped out another cup of the wheat flour for 1 cup of bread flour. Definitely a recipe I will be making again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisanne73 May 25, 2011

I just got a KitchenAid mixer and I wanted to try making bread. My first loaves turned out perfect and I didn't even know what I was doing. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andyrain March 11, 2011
100% Whole Grain Wheat Bread