11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made the dough in the bread machine and baked 4 round loaves on a pizza stone for some nice artisan bread. The secret to a great crust is using a water spray bottle to create steam during the first 10 min. of baking.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peikko January 31, 2012

Wow! With a diabetic in the family, this opens all kinds of possibilities - bread pudding, french toast, etc. I don't have a bread machine so I just mixed it the way I do regular bread, let it rise, put it in a greased loaf pan, let it rise again and baked it at 350 for 38 minutes. It's got a nice texture and mild taste and was super easy to make. This will become a staple in our household.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinca March 13, 2007

Oh YUM! I tried this because we have cut white flour from our diet and are eating low GI (and have lost lots of weight). This bread is delicious. I make it again and again and share it with co-workers. They love it too. It's a beautiful colour too! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sticks and Twigs March 29, 2007

This has a wonderful flavour and crumb!! I plan on using this bread as our "white" bread, as we are trying not to use alot of white flour. Thank you for posting this excellent recipe. It deserves 10 stars!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n March 21, 2007

I used my bread machine on the French Bread setting, crispy crust, for this simple, easy recipe. The resulting loaf has a beautiful golden crust and light, airy texture. This is a great sandwich loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
njalba September 23, 2013

Great bread....I did use my bread machine but then I baked it in the oven on 375 for about 30-35 min. with sesame seeds all over the top...its a very filling bread. My friends and family are always wondering when Im going to bake another large batch lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
circe2113 November 03, 2008

I made this at high altitude with no changes, and it yielded a dense yet moist loaf. This will make a wonderful "everyday" bread, with its mild taste and tender crust. Thanks so much for sharing this! I follow a low-GI diet, and this bread will fit in perfectly. One note: my bread machine requires that you put in the liquid ingredients first, then the flour/sugar/salt/yeast. I used the "whole wheat" setting, and it worked just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth November 11, 2007

What a great surprise. This was SO good!! I used the quick bread setting and it made a big, beautiful loaf! I didn't know you could make a bread with semolina. This is now my new favorite! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lortiq November 30, 2006

I don't have a bread machine but just kneaded the dough by hand twice and baked in a regular oven. This was a very tasty bread that was easy to make! It is my new favourite. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
austinfoodie June 10, 2006

I had no idea how this would turn out--worked great and made a big, beautiful loaf in the bread machine. Dense bread with a beautiful color and taste. Really nice, a surprise!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha March 28, 2006
100% Semolina Bread