Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 10 Minute Tomato Sauce from America's Test Kitchen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    10 Minute Tomato Sauce from America's Test Kitchen

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2013

      I make this every time I make something that calls for tomato sauce and it is phenomenal. Just tart enough, just salty and flavorful enough. Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      This is definitely a good recipe. Very easy too.

      Try adding a splash of Burgundy wine after adding the tomatoes or white wine just before you add the tomatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Great, simple, EASY sauce. I've been looking for a good simple, quick sauce for what feels like years and this is it! America's Test Kitchen never disappoints.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Excellent taste from a really simple recipe! I wasn't sure how the dried oregano would taste (we usually use fresh), but it turned out to be great. I think using butter to brown the onion, and adding the olive oil and basil only at the end makes a surprisingly good difference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      I'm experimenting with different sauce recipes to find "the one" that works best. This definitely registered as more of a sweet sauce for me. Maybe I was tempted to try this out since I was breaking a cardinal rule I've heard from my significant other's Neapolitan mother: never, ever cook onions and garlic together!<br/><br/>After breaking said rule and risking my life, I have to say I agree. The carmelized onions add a sweetness to the sauce that seems to register well with American palates. I wouldn't say this felt as sweet as, say, Papa John's pizza sauce, but nevertheless makes me want to try a nice red sauce with just a lot of delicious crushed garlic instead. <br/><br/>Otherwise, I think the suggested portions of spices worked out fine. I only added a pinch of brown sugar. Oh, and I felt this recipe was missing black pepper and added about a teaspoon or so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      Love love love this sauce. My daughter recently went vegetarian and is always wanting spaghetti. I don't care for the jarred sauce myself but still needed something quick and easy to throw together for her. This is it. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      Quick and easy recipe I came across after discovering I was out of jarred pasta sauce. No more pasta sauce for our kitchen. This is my new "go-to" recipe for pasta sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Made this in a pinch when I was out of store bought sauce. Truly just 10 mins to make, easy and absolutely delicious!!! I did few variations, I added a handful of peppers I had on hand, used Muir Glen whole plum tomatoes (used immersion blender) and I like a really seasoned sauce so added a little extra seasoning. I will for sure be making this again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      So easy & delicious! I used 1 tsp dried basil instead of fresh because I had none. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I served it over homemade pasta

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This is my new go-to recipe for pasta or pizza sauce. For decades I've been using a recipe that relies on tomato paste, which meant that as long as I had a can in my pantry I could make a red sauce, but today all I had was crushed tomatoes. Boy, was that a good thing! My whole family agrees that this is a GREAT recipe, especially with the 2 T of fresh basil (which grow in a pot on my window sill year-round). I appreciated the note about the science behind the instructions and ingredients; it sure makes a difference. Make this! You'll be glad you did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 10 Minute Tomato Sauce from America's Test Kitchen

    Serving Size: 1 (222 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.9
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    57%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 604.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites