10 Reviews

I had a cup of diced tomatoes and 8 oz of baby Bella mushrooms in the fridge is this fit the bill. Mine was very watery and a bit bland so I added a little white wine, a pinch of sugar, some Italian seasoning and simmered it for almost 40 minutes to dry it up a bit. Since it was watery I chose to serve it atop some truffled polenta. The combo of the two was four stars (the truffle flavor boosted the dish) but the sauce alone would be 3 in my book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 02, 2013

I was in the need for a quick sauce tonight, and this one fit the bill since I had all of the ingredients. I was so pleased with it. I added some fresh oregano and thyme which I had growing in the garden. I also added a pinch of sugar to counterbalance my not-so-fresh tomatoes. I think I will add white wine next time as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for the perfect recipe. I'll definitely do this one again!

Revised 8/23/10 -- Just cooked this sauce again. This time I used fresh garden tomatoes and a white wine I had in my fridge. I again added fresh oregano and also a little fresh basil. Boy was this good! I'm not much of a cook, but this would be a good recipe for guests. Can I add a sixth star?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cndavis500 December 24, 2011

This is the first time I tried to make spaghetti and I am very sure that it will become one of the usual suspects during a time and taste crisis. My parents and sister liked it so much that they actually told me that I had become taller even though I stopped growing a couple of years ago. I am usually very critical about my cooking but I have to admit that your recipe made me feel like a decent cook. Thanks a ton.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepanjli June 09, 2011

Wow ... this is seriously good. I added about 1/8C white wine and 1/2t of Italian seasoning during the simmer, but the recipe probably didn't need them. By the second or third bite, you're hooked!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Ramsey Donkey May 21, 2010

Very tasty sauce with the mushrooms, parsley, garlic and onion, the combination adds lots of depth to the tomatoes. Love the touch of Worcestershire sauce and I used lots of pepper. I cut the oil down to just one tablespoon, a quarter cup seemed like a lot. Worked out just fine. Served over spaghetti with turkey meatballs. Loved how quick it was to put together and will be making it again, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 27, 2010

Love this recipe. Quick, easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marciafied December 28, 2009

I loved the sound of this mushroom sauce and was certainly not disappointed. I made it as the sauce to use in Linda's Busy Kitchen's Linda's Spaghetti Pie, which I was making a large quantity of to put in the freezer. So I made four times the recipe. Proportionally, I used less Worcestershire sauce: I appreciate the subtle flavour it adds but I am always wary of its heat. I used Aldi's canned, chopped Italian tomatoes (the best around) and I added three leeks as I love the blend of leeks, onions and garlic. I also added some rosemary, sage and thyme as we love that blend. This was a really delicious sauce and one I'll be making again. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Claire.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder January 22, 2009

Very delicious and easy in a pinch. I would recommend adding some oregano and basil to the sauce just to make it a little more interesting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew Van Howe October 13, 2008

it is different and i think my family should like it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda howley March 04, 2002
10 Minute Mushroom Spaghetti Sauce