Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 1 Spicy Sweet Honey Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1 Spicy Sweet Honey Chili

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2010

      this is a great recipe , but I tweaked it a bit ,needed more beef flavor , I added about 6 beef bouillon cubes , and fresh cropped tomatoes . Also for great color - and flavor I added about a cup of corn , more or less to your taste . When I tell people there is cinnamon and honey in this chili they are intrigued

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This is excellent chili if you are looking for a different recipe. My family gets tired of the same old dinners so I wanted to find a different recipe to an old favorite. I made this for my teenage son and his friend and they both ate 2 big bowls and loved it. It is not as spicy as you would think so if you like a kick to your chili you may want to increase the jalepenos. The sweet taste offsets some of the spice. I was reluctant to make this because I thought the combination of cinnamon and honey would be bad but it was outstanding. My family has asked me to make this again but to turn up the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      Excellent chili recipe. Here are a few variations that I enjoy - I use a yellow pepper (sweet), add a some cooked tofu (you won't even know it's there, and it's good for you!) and I throw in about 1/2 cup of sweet basil tomato sauce. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      I made this chili on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon in October, and it was exactly what we were looking for. I made a few modifications - only used one can of beans, and added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce for a richer base flavor. I agree with the other posters who say the heat gets lost - I added an extra jalapeno as well as extra chili powder, but next time will probably use 3 jalapenos, 3 tsp. chili powder and throw in a tsp cayenne for good measure. This worked great with some cheddar sprinkled on top and some cornbread on the side. Thanks for a great recipe - have definitely put into regular rotation!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I was looking for a recipe to use peppadew peppers (piquant sweet pepper) and this seemed worth an experiment. I used the peppadews instead of the jalpenos and took out the cinnamon, other that that recipe as written, this is on our favorites list now and will be quite the regular. Can't wait to have it again, thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      My husband and I love chili and we like trying different chili recipes. This one is very different. It tasted sweeter than I thought it would, even though the title does say "sweet". It sort of exceeded my expectation in that regard. All-in-all, very flavorful and something I would make again, when I was in the mood for something different. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Very tasty! Thanks:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Loved it! Palate explosion! 1/2 ed Cinnamon and added a few sprinkles of ginger. Next time we will also add Hunts Tomato sauce. Will add this to our mix of regular meals. Great recipe find!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      very nice recipe, i added alittle extra chilipowder, ommited the beans and jalapeno peppers (for my personal tastes) and added a little bit of tomatoe sauce, next time will only use about a 1/4 of a cup of honey because of the missing beans and we only use 1 lb of meat to feed three, it was alittle too sweet for the boys, but fine for me :) , df and my boyfriend added some jalapeno sauce to it afterwards and said it was very good, does go very well with cornbread

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I am not usually a chili fan, but my friend wanted to do a chili cook off so I tried this one... First it won the contest, and now I am a big fan of chili!! I substituted 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of italian sausage, and did one yellow and one orange bell pepper, and instead of 2 cans of chili beans I did one and one can of maple cured bacon baked beens. So good!!!! I am going to make another batch this weekend.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      I'm not one to make or even eat chili. But our office decided to have a Chili Cook-Off to raise money charity. I started searching for a chili with chocolate because on foodnetwork I saw one of their chefs make it and it sounded good. I came across this one and thought, let me try it and see. Well guess what, I won 2nd place. Everyone loved it. I even loved it, so much, I've printed this recipe and placed it in my recipe box. Everyone wanted to know the recipe, so Congrats Tracie Altland, your recipe is circulating our office here in central Florida.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      Quite a tasty bowl of chili! I added twice as much chili powder, garlic and jalapeno and a bit less honey. I also omitted the beans. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      I love it, I have been looking for this forever! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      This is a really great recipe. I LOVED the sweetness of the honey and cinnamon, but it may have masked the spiciness of the hotter ingredients. I would suggest adding more heat (more jalapenos and chili powder) if you like spicy chili. I'll definitely make this one again. Thanks, Tracie!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      At first I was a little skeptical about cinnamon and honey in chili but I thought, overall it sounds pretty good and something new to try. I did make a few variations solely for not liking an ingredient or that it wasn't spicy enough. 1. I traded mild green chilies for the jalapenos (mot big on jalapenos). And after tasting the chili I needed about double the amount of chili powder and cumin to the spiciness I like (since I didn't use jalapenos). and 2. I didn't add the garlic or bell pepper (personal preferences). That all said and done - my family scraped the cooking pot clean! Honestly I think it was the hint of sweetness in there. The cinnamon and honey really give it a wonderful little taste like nothing else. An excellent recipe that will be a family favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      This was an excellent recipe! I threw in a small can of sliced jalapeños, and added about two more tbls of chili powder as well as addl red pepper powder, it needed a bit more spice to counter the honey. I also used diced tomatoes with jalapeños! Spicy, sweet and delicious, my new go to chili recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      defiantly 5 star worthy i loved how first you would get the sweet flavor and then the spice would hit you i have been making chili for years ya know the old recipe but this is sooooo much better only thing i did different was used 2 jalapenos and Cayenne instead of cumin couldn't find it even though i know in my pantry but ether way it was delicious thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Wonderful Chili. First time I ever made Chili! I made it for a Chili cook off and won "Most Popular". Some of the people there went back for several bowls. I have a rep for being a horrible cook at potlucks and it was great to be the only one leave with an empty crock pot! (I made it on the stove and transfered it to a crock pot to stay warm.) I forgot to buy chili powder and substituted Red Pepper Powder and it was fine, I also used Cajun salt seasoning, instead of salt, as well as 3 different peppers; the yellow peppers added color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1 Spicy Sweet Honey Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 624.5
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    34%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 102.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 648.4 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 42.2 g
    84%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Accent seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes