167 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out really well, even though I forgot to add the vanilla, and midway through dumping eveything in the pan I discovered I didn't have baking soda. I substituted 1T baking powder and replaced the vinegar with applesauce to lower the acid. Topped it with Easy Chocolate Fudge Frosting and it turned out great!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
day8602 June 01, 2011

Really good recipe and great for when the kids want "help"
Easy and delicious, disappeared very quickly, thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evil_Emma April 26, 2011

This is very much like Mix in the Pan Chocolate Cake, except that this recipe makes a larger cake and this cake is also a bit more moist and delicate. Fantastic! I needed a quick dessert for a few last minute guests but didn't have time or ingredients for a typical chocolate cake so I chose to make this instead. It was fast and easy to make, the flavor and texture are fabulous and everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feisty Redhead March 16, 2011

This is the first cake I learned to make at the age of 10 for my Mom's birthday. My grandmother came the recipe over the phone long distance from Illinois to Denver, CO where we used to live. Lots of fond memories. We called this a Wacky Cake! Years ago we used to frost it with Jiffy white frosting mix. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesavaughn_4665924 February 11, 2011

This cake is so easy, so good and very economical! I've made it 3 or 4 times already and will be making it over and over! Its even good without icing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanV November 23, 2010

Love this cake! My mom called it Crazy cake too! Now that I am a vegan, this cake can help ease that chocolate fix I need sometimes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ardyne October 06, 2010

I think this is a good recipe to have around the house for making a quick dessert for the kids; however, it is very crumbly (in a moist way, not a dry way) and only average in taste, so I wouldn't use this recipe for company or if I were taking a cake to someone. I do see why this recipe garners so many high reviews, though. It is nice to be able to mix and bake everything all in one pan. I also see the advantage of this recipe for those who can't/won't eat eggs or milk. And I didn't note any odd taste, as some other reviewers have noted. I didn't taste the vinegar or baking soda at all in this. The cake is good for a quick and easy dessert at home, but if I need something to serve to guests or to take to friends, I will use one of my other recipes that yields a better result (with slightly more work and clean-up).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen August 05, 2010

This cake is okay. I made exactly as stated and it was really, really chewy and stuck to the roof of my mouth. Sorry, won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athenalove46 June 14, 2010

My boyfriend actually looked in the garbage can for the box, because he didn't BELIEVE me when I said this was from scratch! I glazed it with Brownie Frosting and it was fantastic. Oh, I also subbed Splenda SugarBlend for the sugar and it worked great (and my normally anti-Splenda bf still loved it).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissChiChi May 16, 2010
1 Pan Fudge Cake