167 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe. I have lost track of how many times I have made. It is so quick and easy. So moist, I don't bother with frosting. Everyone raves about it. The best chocolate cake I have ever tasted. You will love it too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gailec March 19, 2005

Not that good. Tastes too much of baking soda and was kind of soggy on the bottom next day. Don't know why...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisy M November 16, 2003

Cake has a great flavor! I've never had a light and fluffy chocolate cake like this before. I prefer a dense and moist chocolate cake. But this was very light and nice for a change. What I liked most about it was how easy it was and I didn't totally mess up my kitchen like usual when I bake. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele in NJ October 05, 2003

This is EXCELLENT, moist,light, fluffy and delicious. I would have been afraid to try it with such odd directions if there handn't been so many 5 star reviews. I't almost to good to be true,no bowls and beatters to clean up. Thank you Mysterygirl.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary in OR July 30, 2003

I made this last night and by the time the evening was over it was gone! The family's only compliant was that there was no bowl to lick! I, of course, loved not having any dishes to wash. Topped with powder sugar or cocoa powder this is a nice little cake. A definate keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex June 10, 2003

What a super and easy cake! I wanted to whip something up to treat the girls at work, and being short of time, this cake really fit the bill. I put in a generous 1/2 c. cocoa, but that was the only change. Very dark and moist. I left it un-iced, and really felt it stood well on it's own. Stirring the ingredients in the pan definitely decreased clean up, but because of the shape of the pan, it took a teeny bit longer to get all the ingredients incorporated well than it may have in a bowl -- definitely not a concern, just an observation. A terrific snack cake, a great budget stretcher and super speedy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing May 19, 2003

This works great with GF blend flour and 1 tsp xantham gum, oil or applesauce. Excellent! Kids declared a definite birthday cake cake! Served with peanut butter drizzle 1/4 c. peanut butter, 3/4 confectioners sugar and add milk until desired consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheFarlands January 20, 2015

This cake was amazing!! It has just become my new "go to" cake when I need to bake something in a hurry. It takes more than five minutes to measure the ingredients and stir them together, but I would estimate a total of 45 minutes from start to clean up. You don't even need a bowl for mixing ingredients! Cake doesn't stick to the pan. I cannot say enough how much I enjoyed this recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maureenie October 27, 2014

This was delicious! I can't believe there is no milk or eggs in it! I wanted something sweet and homemade for dessert last night but didn't want to go to a lot of trouble or make a big mess, and this was perfect! I did not frost mine, just sprinkled some powdered sugar on top when it came out of the oven. It is very moist and yummy. I will make this again for sure, thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea May 14, 2014

This was soooo good! Quick and not fussy. The taste was exactly what I was craving. Had to cut back on the sugar though since I planned to serve it with vanilla ice cream and hot fudge topping. The cake came out amazingly moist and oh-so-good! This goes to my permanent recipe folder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rassvenom1991 August 17, 2013
1 Pan Fudge Cake