167 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, great cake - rich and moist and so much better than a mix! It was so easy, even for a baking challanged person like me. It didn't need frosting which saves a ton of calories. This will be my standard cake from now on.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue March 28, 2003

Well, MG, you can add me to the list of big fans of your cake recipe! What a neat and easy chocolaty delight this turned out to be! I topped it with my old stand-by Fudge icing, and YUM! Tis a winner, for sure! LC

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee December 17, 2002

this was so good,better than good super easy and so moist thankyou

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern chef in louisiana October 25, 2002

I made this the other night and it is wondeful. So easy all in one pan with little clean up my kind of cooking. I sprinkled powdered sugar on it instead of icing. Everyone loved it, I will be making this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leanne~ October 22, 2002

Mysterygirl, this is "da bomb"...no eggs, whowoodathunkit? I needed a quick recipe and this fit the bill, I did not frost it and it was still semi warm when I served it, truly a great hit, thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rise` October 15, 2002

Just as good as the old fashioned coffee/egg/milk moist chocolate cake recipes. The changes I made were to cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups and add about a tablespoon of instant coffee to the liquids. I also sprayed the entire pan lightly with pam, lined the bottom with fitted parchment paper, and then gave another quick spray of pam. I let the cake sit about 10 minutes after coming out of the oven, inverted it onto a plastic flexible cutting board, and then easily peeled off the parchment. I frost with a buttercream frosting consisting of 1 stick of butter, 2 cups of powdered sugar, and a few tablespoons of milk (I usually double the frosting recipe). Nothing but rave reviews. This is a keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mishel October 06, 2007

so easy! I used 1 cup of milk 1/2 cup water. It's like hot chocolate made with water and hot chocolate made with milk -- you can't compare!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u March 09, 2011

This was so easy it was great! I had a large amount of hot chocolate mix that I needed to use up, so I substituted the 1 1/2 c sugar and 1/2 c cocoa for 2 c hot chocolate mix. Worked great. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa Ruck December 13, 2009

Tried this cake 3 times, once with olive oil as that was all I had, which was a little odd but nice, once with vegetable oil but that tasted a little fatty for my tastes, and once with apple sauce instead of oil, which was rather nice. I'll be using apple sauce from now on, and this will be a regular dessert in my house :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kthdsn May 16, 2009

What I did was to line my pan with foil so I could remove the cake without damaging it because having read the previous reviews, I anticipated that the cake would turn out very moist, and it really was. Moist and delicious. Again, taking a cue from a past review, I added 1 tsp of coffee to the water for a deeper chocolate taste. When the cake was done, I sprinkled chocolate rice on top of one half, and white chocolate chips on the other. Thank you for posting. Loved the cake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids December 05, 2007
1 Pan Fudge Cake