82 Reviews

Thanks for the recipe. I did this in the slow cooker as I was going to be away for the afternoon. I sauteed the veggies slightly, although I probably would not have had to. I used homemade turkey stock, and threw a ripe tomato in the processor with the beans instead of tomato sauce. Don't know what great northern beans are, so I followed another cooks suggestion of canned pork and beans. My canned beans were maple flavoured, so I rinsed them before using. The soup was a great way to use a ham bone and left over ham. I'll make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sing4mysupper January 22, 2011

I thought this soup was very good and very comforting on a cold snowy day. My son and I have been eating it for two days and just love it. Will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesswren January 10, 2011

Fantastic! Really the best bean soup I have ever made! I used water as I was out of chicken broth, and added 1 small can tomato sauce plus the tomato paste called for. Next time I'm adding more beans, but this will be my go to recipe from now on!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeannaw January 07, 2011

Great recipe - the whole family loved it. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny E. December 16, 2010

What a TASTY soup and so EASY!!! I used what I had on hand which meant substituting Canadian bacon for ham and water for broth. Still turned out to be very flavorful and hearty. (I did omit the tomato sauce in favor of a more standard white bean soup. Will try that addition next time). We did not think it was salty as another reviewer had warned. In fact I added some Mrs. Dash table seasoning at the end. Our family ate it up and asked for more !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaysFour December 05, 2010

WOW ! If I could give this recipe 20 stars I would. Amazing, really tastes almost dead on to Habitant soup

I doubled the veggies, cause I love veggies, & added 1 extra can of beans, but otherwise made it per instructions.

I would highlyd recommend this recipe and soup to everyone.
I seriously love the Habitant bean & bacon, and have been very disappointed to discover I usually have a hard time finding it in the stores around here..... Now I don't have too ! Thanks a Million.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie V. November 06, 2010

I thought this would be a little thicker, but it was tasty all the same!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC November 01, 2010

Closest recipe I've found to Campbell's Bean and Bacon! Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZetteT June 17, 2010

This is very good! I did not have ham so I used link smoked sausage. This gave it a good smoky taste! I didn't puree as much as the recipe called - but I will definitely do this next time. Will make this again - thank you for a quick and yummy meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
funthymecookin' May 20, 2010

WOW!! this was awesome! my husband actually said that this soup was maybe better than his dads famous ham and bean soup!!! WOW!! i used water as the stock, and instead of the tomato sauce i used campbells healthy request tomato soup (2 cans because i doubled the recipe!)...it was awesome! will def. make this agian!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlast1109 May 12, 2010
1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup